We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking ticket....not our fault!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ercolini & Savi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Parking ticket....not our fault!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

OK, here is the scoop. If you have to do public parking in Montecatini you have to have a parking ticket provided by the hotel. We were not told this. We were told you had to aquire one, but we assumed it was from the local parking machine...not the hotel itself.So we bought a ticket at that location. We wound up with a 36 euro ticket and when we told the hotel we were told....not even sorry. The woman who checked us in told us she would talk to the staff and make sure it wouldn't happen again. SHE was the one who check us in! I felt that the hotel should absorb the cost...but it was obvious that that wouldn't even be a consideration.
Pretty much soured me on Montecatini in general. There were some nice aspects of the town, but I would never return when so many other beautiful places are near there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noprideMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio C, Proprietario at Hotel Ercolini & Savi, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry for the ticket, but we have to say to all the Tripadvisor readers that how the parking system work is explained on our website, in all the feedback here on Tripadvisor, in the information we send when you make a reservation, at check in, in the information book in the room, at least, when you purchase a ticket for 3 euros at the automatic machine is written that is only for 90 minutes, not for 1 day....admitted that we forgot to told you (I don't believe) you didn't read anywhere about it?...so, we are sure that in this case we made our best, we can not answer for error not committed from us...
Regards
Fabio Cenni
Hotel Ercolini e Savi
PS except this I assume that the room, the breksfast and comfort were ok! good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    411
    124
    36
    15
See reviews for
284
635
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
964 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,461 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a difficult hotel to review because the Hotel Ercolini & Savi has a lot to offer a tourist visiting Tuscany. Yet this hotel is typical of Old World European hotels in that the public rooms on the street floor tend to be nicely, evenly lavishly decorated, but the rooms upstairs can be Spartan at best.

I was assigned to room 114 on the first floor. The upstairs hallway is poorly furnished with threadbare carpet and poor lighting. My room was tiny - as were more than half of the rooms on this floor. Thankfully, I got a king bed - through moving two smaller beds together. Some in my group got single beds and even tinier rooms than I did. Some on the upper floors were happy with their rooms. I have no idea whether they were larger or not.

My room was not what I'd call decorated. Two beds pushed together, a single window, and a print of two angels bolted to the wall in an askew position. There was an armoire that left barely enough room to walk around the bed, and a desk jammed tight to the doorway. Lighting was mostly from a large overhead fixture - please! The tiny bath was a step up...dangerous at best. The bath had a toilet, bidet, marble sink, and a very small shower with no shelf for shampoo or soap...ridiculous. Towels were plain and only three were provided for this room. Water pressure was poor, barely a trickle, though water was hot enough.

Downstairs, on the street level was a fine bar which was rarely attended. On several occasions, I wanted a drink and ended up finding one at a nearby cafe because no bartender was on duty. The lounge itself was nicely decorated with burgundy leather sofas and chairs, good Oriental carpets, Venetian chandeliers, and a huge floral arrangement on a center table.

The dining room where breakfast was served was also lovely with floor to ceiling faux marble columns and more Venetian chandeliers. Breakfast itself was dull with the same menu served every morning. Only the type of fresh fruit changed. Scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses, rolls, croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit, and cereal were served every morning. Plenty to eat, but no variety.

Though my room was uncomfortable, the bright side is that the location of the hotel is quite good with the main shopping street nearby. A movie theater was next door as were several good restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the rooms; room size varies quite a lot in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during a tour of Tuscany with Collette Vacations. Found the hotel to be very clean, but dated which did add to the charm of our stay in Tuscany. The food available at the hotel was excellent and the dining room was very clean and well staffed. Enjoyed walking through the town and window shopping, but never really bought anything there. I would recomend it to anyone that is going to stay in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only stayed one night in Montecatini as part of a choir tour. Really i's not fair to comment on the town which I felt was like a 1970 shopping town, not much life and second rate. The hotel was better than the town and fitted the description perfectly. Everything is perfectly clean but slightly dated and slightly shabbby. Brakfast was great. Service was average, the girl on reception who appeared to be the manageress refused to allow drinks to be served until 6pm, even though we arrived at 4.30pm and there was not tea/coffee in the room. When the bar manager arrived at 6.05pm drinks could be served but were only allowed to be put on the room bill - a situation I have never come across. We were booked in individually, but were part of a tour in different hotels. When it came to paying, we had to accept eeverybody's bill - most annoying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Albatross Tour in September 2012.
While I understand that most accommodation in Italy is in older buildings compared to what we are accustomed to this building is in urgent need of a renovation. I had heard that there are renovated rooms on the higher floors but they seem to put the tour groups on the first and second floors that are still shabby.
I appreciate antique style furniture but the decor and furniture in our room had dings, scratches and paint chipped off and was generally run down. The beds are awful - you lie on the mattress and you sink into the middle and I only weigh 60 kilos. If you didn't have a back problem when you checked in, you'll have it by the time you check-out! This along with the terrible street noise at 2am in the morning makes for a very restless night and hardly any sleep.
To top it off, Luciana the manager was extremely rude one morning at breakfast to one of the other members of our tour group. She verbally abused them just for using the coffee machine!!
Make no mistake - if you stay here with a tour group you will be treated 2nd class compared to the other guests and they will limit the food served at breakfast and dinner. If I wanted roast meat and vegetables every night for dinner I could of stayed at home.
There are plenty of nicer hotels to stay in Tuscany while you are in Italy.
Make sure to take the funicular up to Montecatini Alto - beautiful views and food at the top!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lien1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here just one night.

The hotel is well located (although somewhat difficult to find) near shopping and restaurants but surprisingly quiet. Parking is on the street, but, at least when we were there, was plentiful and close by.

The room was nice sized and very clean. The bath was large. The breakfast room was beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on a Shearings coach holiday. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, and both set dinner & breakfast were excellent. The wine list was good and prices sensible. A lovely comfortable place to stay with a pleasant outdoor sitting area. Friendly staff. Recommended so long as you like age & character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#1 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#7 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#13 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#2 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ercolini & Savi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ercolini & Savi

Property: Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Address: Via San Martino, 18, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#11 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ercolini & Savi 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel located in the Heart of Montecatini Terme. Recently renovated, 81 rooms, ideal for visit all TuscanyYou Home far away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ercolini & Savi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ercolini And Savi
Hotel Ercolini Savi
Ercolini Savi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing