We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location and staff.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the ideal location in an area restricted of auto traffic and near a lovely fountain and square with benches, upscale stores and the best Pasticcheri we've found across the street. Reasonably priced parking passes are available at the helpful desk. Our room had a terrace overlooking the square with tables. The baths are large by European standards and breakfast buffets include the usual meats, croissants and tortes.The town has a nightly stroll and the benches are filled with people and dogs enjoying gelato. The funicular to Monticatini Alto nearby and a much better choice than driving the hairpin, narrow streets to this beautiful hilltop town of exclusive restaurants and breathtaking sites.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adicwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    293
    97
    35
    10
See reviews for
151
391
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Friendly helpful staff that went out of their way to care for the needs of all the residents in the hotel. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent and served with courtesy. The hotel is very centrally located and within easy walking distance of most amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in Grand Plaza for one week during August, Staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful, we requested a change of room and were immediately seen to and request was granted even though the hotel was very busy. Our room was kept spotless every day by a lovely lady. The hotel itself was really lovely, beautiful terrace on either 2nd or 3rd floor if you are lucky enough to have a room that opens out onto the terrace you will be thrilled worth asking for in advance as there are not many. Location was excellent for traveling into Florence and a beach a short train journey away. The town is wonderfully relaxing and if you like spa treatments then you are in the right place so many to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for terrace room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank updaydownday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

just back after one week in this hotel and had a lovely time.we were half board ,location great staff wonderful food lovely the dining staff were excellent very courteous and helpful. The hotel itself is very nice close to train station where you can travel easily to Florence pisa lucca etc and beach 45 mins by train.The pool is small and everything spotless

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annetteboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were based here for a week on a Package Tour. Both Hotel and location proved a well considered base choice. We emailed the Hotel in advance requesting the biggest room, we rated as 3 people and were allocated one of the few Big rooms at no extra cost.s We received an email response to do there best and it was done, #222 allows you "swing many cats" which so many "tour group rooms could not. It also had a good Piazza view and the Bells added to the "being in Italy" as did the late night fireworks on Ascension Thursdays.
While the food was "package Tour" it was plentiful and palatable and served with care and attention. Everybody treated as an individual and looked after as such. This lifted eveyr Meal time to somewhere you wanted to be and that says it all. Of the 30 odd on our tour all attended Dinner every night and that can not often be said when so many options are outside the Door.
The Pool was never that busy that there was no space or loungers.
Overall a good base and a great feeling of your our Guest not just another person in a passing tour group. The Hotel has a separate Dining Room for their A la carte Diners and non tour group Guests.. We would be happy to return in a group or a direct booking

Room Tip: The Square view Rooms might be noisy for light sleepers The Area outside has No Motor traffic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoBigOneGrowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed two nights as part of a coach tour. The hotel is located in a traffic free area in the centre of town. Members of staff were very friendly and efficient. Food at breakfast and dinner was good and the service prompt. The dining room retains a period feel, as does the whole hotel. The bedroom was air conditioned and its window was shuttered to keep out sounds of late night cafes etc. Bathroom facilities very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Not long returned from this beautiful hotel.This was our second stay here as we were part of a
coach tour two years ago.This year we travelled down by car which was great fun in itself.The only thing we were a bit apprehensive about was the parking but we needn't have worried as we managed to get a spot about a minutes walk from the hotel and they gave us a pass for everyday we were there.The food was really good both at breakfast and dinner, and we really loved the buzz in our dining room, I honestly can't understand why some other reviews have moaned about this.Anyway we had an amazing time all the staff were really lovely and very helpful.Hopefully we will be booking over the next few days to return next year as we had such a wonderful relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jk142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#16 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore

Property: Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Address: Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing