We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Simply the Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Simply the Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been several time at Grand Plaza Hotel in Montecatini and I always found an excellent and warm hospitality due to the high professional standard of the owners.
The room where I've stayed last time was excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Italian hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Telu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    290
    96
    35
    10
See reviews for
150
382
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel was very nice and very clean BUT was very noisy! There was a band with a singer outside our room all 3 nights( a Friday,Sat and Sunday)that we stayed. The band was done by 11 or so but the revelry on Sat night went on until after 2am so be sure you take earplugs along. Food was not too great(eggs for breakfast runny and bacon undercooked). Internet was free which was very nice. It worked in our room on 1st floor but not in my sisters room on 2nd floor (had to go to lobby). Location is good-you can walk from train station to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fivestar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here in October , hotel is in a central location just under 10 minuteswalk from train station if you want to go to Florence and surrounding area. Typical Italian hotel has an old world charm. The staff were excellent from reception to house keeping who kept our room spotless , restaurant food was ok but we would have preferred more of italian cuisine , good waiters.
Only minus was that our room faced a nightclub of sorts and the music seemed to go on into the early hours, sleep quality was affected.

Room Tip: we were in room 204 which faced the nightclub and was therefor noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rory5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for a week recently, half board, as part of an Irish/Scottish tour group. Nice old hotel with lots of character but totally unlike any of the modern chain type hotels many people are now accustomed to. Breakfast & dinner were both fine, the choice was limited but there were a number of local restaurants nearby, at a reasonable price, if you wanted a change. Our bedroom was spacious & comfortable with a decent sized bathroom but there were a few "grumbles" from some of the other guests as it seems the standard of the bedrooms is variable. We were at the front of the hotel which could be noisy at night but usually got quiet around 11.30pm, Its a beautiful town & the staff in the hotel, the nearby bars & restaurants were all very nice. The bar area is badly in need of an upgrade & some of the corridors are a bit tired but this has to be offset by the overall feel of the hotel which we found most relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front , while possibly noisier, seem to be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KilteelUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an old hotel that appears quite elegant when you step into the lobby. My single room was clean but spartan; I kept thinking of a nun's cell, with my narrow, single bed that kind of sagged in the middle. There was a TV, vintage late '80s, with a remote just as old and only one station available, and it with a lot of snow. There didn't seem to be any serious a/c, but if I opened the shutters on my window, they tended to slam shut in the breeze. The bathroom was crowded because of the requisite bidet. (Do people really need these things anymore to wash parts instead of taking a whole shower?) My shower functioned fine but was terribly tiny. Wi-fi was available for free, but it only worked in the lobby--and only sometimes. I was on a Cosmos tour, and our group had a group dinner at the hotel that was pretty decent. But they wouldn't even give us water without us paying for it by the bottle. The breakfasts were fine--the usual ham and cheese and bread, yogurt, cornflakes. No machines dispensing Italy's fabulous cappuccinos, just a pitcher of coffee and another of warm milk, so you could make your own lattes.

I will say, speaking to others staying there, that I got off fine with my early 1940s-style accommodations. Others complained that their beds sagged nearly to the floor, or that springs stabbed them in their backs. Because the hotel is on the main drag, it could be very noisy at night. And there were birds that swarmed like bats at twilight--I think they may have been swallows--interesting to watch, but also noisy. Anyway, a lot of my traveling companions complained a lot about how bad this hotel was. But if you've ever had your car break down in the middle of nowhere and ended up at a Bates-type motel where you slept in your clothes on top of the bed spread and wondered what the stains on the wall actually were as you listened to cockroaches skittering across the floor...well, that sort of accommodation is really bad. This Tuscan hotel was clean and elegant, just minus the contemporary perks many (Americans, anyway) are used to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week in June. Hotel is old, but very comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a view over the fountain in the main street, although unlucky enough to still be there when England where beaten by Italy. Locals kept us awake all night beeping there car horns. Nice hotel, we have stayed in better, and we have stayed in worse. We used this hotel as a base whilst touring the Tuscany region, Montecatini Terme is a fantastic spa town. You must try the patisserie over the road from the main entrance ............ very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Plaza as part of a coach tour of Tuscany in September 2012. The hotel is beautiful, located on the main piaza in Montecatini Terme.

Those used to modern hotels belonging to major chains which are the same the world over need a little time to get adjusted to the charms of this grand old Dowager of a hotel. The location is perfect, but the piaza is now pedestrianised and a short walk is required from either a coach or car. The railway station Montecatini Centro is only 5 minutes walk away and gives direct and regular access to Florence, so this may be a good way to arrive for the independent traveller.

The rooms can be cramped, particularly for the single traveller who gets a single bed in a half size room. The staff are charming, helpful and generous with their time. The food is good and the main restaurant provides splendid surroundings. Rodolfo is the star in the Bar and becomes everyones friend during their stay.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is a little tired around the edges in places. Wifi is free, but is only reliably accessible in the reception area of the hotel. I felt a little conspicous using an iPad while guests passed through on their way to breakfast or out for the day.

These are minor quibbles. I would happily stay at the Grand Plaza again, and would recommend the hotel to anyone holidaying in the Montecatini Terme area. A beautiful hotel in a beautiful place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Dudley_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
Hotel Francia e Quirinale
#4 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 110 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore

Property: Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore
Address: Piazza del Popolo 7, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza & Locanda Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza/Locanda Maggiore Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing