We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spa -what a discovery!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Manzoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Manzoni
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spa -what a discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My fiancè and I spent just one night at this hotel in Montecatini, mostly in order to try the Spa. Overall we had an amazing experience!

Of course my judgement can be biased by the fact it was my first time in a Spa, nevertheless I can say the receptionists were really kind and professional when we booked by phone and also when we arrived at the hotel, the hotel looks generally nice as with decorations and furnitures, the rooms are beautiful and with all possible accessories and the breakfast was good.

But certainly the added value of the hotel is the WONDERFUL Spa: an emotional shower, a special "salt-treatment" vaporised room (Rasul bath), a spatious jacuzzi, Kneipp basins for feet treatment, a relax area with drinks and fruits, a Turkish bath, a wonderful sauna (my favourite!) and much more. All wrapped in a sensual and relaxing atmosphere with music and steam everywhere. A dream!

Can't say much about the price since we went there with one of those "box offers" gave to us by a friend as a present. We will never thank him enough for the wonderful experience we had thanks to his gift!

Highly recommended for the Spa.

LIKED: the Spa above all but also the elegant feeling coming from the hotel.
DISLIKED: there was no shower gel nor shampoo in the room -probably it was just an oversight since there were other beauty bottles (such as cream, oil, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra_dpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    264
    105
    61
    30
See reviews for
71
369
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It is a family-run place and it is beautiful. The staff is super accommodating. The food and wine is delicious and they also have a beautiful pool. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasocb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My first trip to the Manzoni was a tour in October, 2012 (my 3rd trip to Italy) and my first to the hotel. The tour was hectic, the hotel was my "home" after a long day! I had the opportunity to go to Rome in April, 2013 & was excited to be able to go "home" to Montecatini where we were treated as family. The owners (a beautiful young couple) & the entire staff made it possible to be rid of the real world stress....especially the amazing spa treatment. When travelling so far away from home especially in trying times, the family atmosphere is what is needed. In fact, the day after my return home, the unfortunate Boston Marathon bombing happened. That evening, I received an e-mail from Cristina, the owner of the Hotel Manzoni, having heard about the incident, was inquiring about my safety and offering her thoughts and prayers to everyone in the US. When in Rome, we stayed at a fine hotel but highly recommend the Manzoni. for all these amenities; friendly atmosphere, amazing food & I reached my goal to "soak up local color" that was missed the first due to the fast paced tours. 8 days was not long enough. I give the Manzoni my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I've stayed at the Manzoni twice, a double room in the main section and a single in the south se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIAPHINNBOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I agree with other reviews that it was probably a nice hotel at some point in time but no longer. The shower is a small stall, with no place to put soap, shampoo, etc. The shower is in need of repair and very dark. The ceiling in shower is peeling and the water didn't drain. When we first got there I had to stand on a chair in the shower to adjust the hand held shower head as it was crooked and water was directed towards the wall. The rest of the room was okay although it had peeling paint on at least one wall and the rug needed a cleaning. The bedspread had a large stain on it (underneath.) Oh, there were stains on the bath towels - kind of gross. The lobby wasn't particularly "Italian" and looked like it was designed by George Jetson. It would have been more appropriate in a second rate Las Vegas hotel. I thought the food was a bit ordinary and since we were with a tour group, we weren't offered choices. I have done a bit of travel in Europe and know not to expect U.S. standards, but I have to say that I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: I think that there is probably a difference in rooms. If I weren't with a tour, I might have as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diner0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

You really cannot beat the location; walk out the door and turn in any direction for loads of dinner choices, shopping possibilities, and the walk must include a trip to the park where you can catch the "fonicular" (red cable style car) and ride to the top of the really huge hill. Any shortcomings in the not-so-modern decor or furnishings should not deter you from experiencing this hotel.

During our stay (4 nights), a ring was left on the night stand and it wasn't there when we returned. The desk staff were right on it, called the cleaning person at home, and found out the ring was put in the nightstand drawer. After much searching, we did find it there in the very back of the drawer in a dark corner. A reward was worth the recovery of the ring and the Manager at the desk was just exceptional in her willingness to try to help us out.

Our tour included breakfasts and dinners (breakfasts were good) and the waiters were exceptional in their sense of humor and serving skills. Dinner would have been better if maybe ravioli or lasagna were offered. After all, don't travelers look forward to a taste of Italy?

Rooms were generously sized, the room key is on a ring with a big, heavy doorknob type of a thing (you're supposed to leave it at the desk when you go out), and the AC does not respond to any settings or adjustments you make, but that all is just part of the character and personality of the hotel.

It's a popular property for tours coming and going; the lobby seems to have a regular stream of folks waiting to check in. I would go back here again; I really liked the location and the community. Such a pretty setting!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Every time we walked through the lobby we were greeted with a warm "hello". Food was great. Had a good pool and spa. Besides the service and food, the location was outstanding, walking distance from the train, shopping and Montecatini alto. Not only do you get the calm surroundings of a true spa location, walk outside of the hotel and you get true Italian culture, small streets with tucked in restaurants, cafes and small shops.
Overall the hotel and staff showed us true Italian hospitality/culture!!! Def going back on our next trip!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel with 3 couples and it was not our first choice - we have booked hotel Michelangelo in June but a week before our departure our reservation was cancelled (!).

All in all the hotel appeared just fine. Although at the first sight the standard seemed disappointing for a 4 star hotel (we have booked the superior rooms which would assure better standard to basic) - the service was excellent. Cristina - the manager- made sure our stay was very pleasant.

The rooms were basic but clean. The pool in a centre of the town was a relief on some really hot days in August.

The breakfasts were OK- a bit limited choice for those who don't eat sweet in the morning. Excellent fresh made coffee though. The dinners were delicious and the staff were very flexible offering some vegetarian meals outside the menu.

The parking is small but there is a possibility to park jut outside the hotel for 3 euro per day.

Big thumbs up for the staff who made up for a bit disappointing standard of the rooms. Price was surely very attractive and hotel was located just in a centre of the town - excellent for going out/ shopping.

Fittness center was very small and not very clean. As for spa- I have ordered pedicure and manicure but was disappointed and made further no use of these services.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adua & Regina di Saba
Hotel Adua & Regina di Saba
#10 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
Hotel Ercolini & Savi
#5 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#16 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Nizza et Suisse
Grand Hotel Nizza et Suisse
#36 of 109 in Montecatini Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manzoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manzoni

Property: Hotel Manzoni
Address: Viale Alessandro Manzoni 28, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#9 Spa Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montecatini Terme
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manzoni 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manzoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manzoni Hotel Montecatini Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing