We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'No frills' hotel with a couple of frills!”
Review of Hotel Cappelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cappelli
Ranked #40 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“'No frills' hotel with a couple of frills!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

...like the excellent free wi-fi inside rooms, public spaces and around the pool, the breakfast al fresco, the quiet but central location, the faultlessly friendly and helpful staff. It's a little bit quirky...the public spaces are quite old fashioned but the rooms are neat, clean and functional and mine - like many - had a sunny balcony with rocking recliner (another nice touch). I also paid a bargain price which included the city tax. Snacks, drinks etc were pretty cheap too, Montecatini CENTRO station is just down the road. Very big apperitivi culture in the town so buy a drink and fill ya boots. The town has a couple of hipper bars (a strip of them in fact one with a huge appertivo buffet) along Viale IV Novembre and a couple of DJ bars at Corso Roma/Leoncavallo) so it's not all ageing spa goers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    70
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
57
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

To complete a good holiday is to have good travel arrangements, a super location but above all a good hotel. We were so very lucky to have chosen the Hotel Cappelli from all the hotels that are in Montecatini. We had 9 wonderful nights, our room on the first floor with it's 2 windows and balcony overlooking the garden and pool. Like all the hotel it was very clean and always tidy.
The staff, we must say were so helpful and understanding, always a smile and nothing to much trouble. The numerous reception rooms with antique furniture was cosy and grand. The pool and garden a quiet oasis in the middle of town. A perfect location for the town, spa's and the park.
So, thank-you Hotel Cappelli for giving me and my wife a great base base for our holiday in Montecatini.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThosColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here as part of the Expat Tour Group. Hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to boutique shops and several restaurants. Good wifi, nice and clean rooms. I had the best dinner at this location. Owners are friendly and warm. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhaila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

You can sense the grandeur of days gone by at Cappelli, its looking a little jaded, with faded old rugs and mismatched furniture. Also there are cost cutting measures occuring...lights switched off, paper bath mats, plastic tablecloths etc. Despite this I really enjoyed my stay here..it was quiet, the staff helpful, and its a good location away from the busyness lower in the main town, but I still managed to walk everywhere. I would stay here again. Use centro station if arriving by train.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank magpiegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as we had our own hire car and wanted to stay outside Florence. It was little confusing to find the hotel because of lots of one way streets but no biggie. There is a paid parking right outside and unless you tell the hotel to specifically reserve garage parking you will have no chance as they only have 3 spaces. But 200 meter just next to the Tettuccio Terme, along the park is free parking which we used. The main street is easy to find from the hotel and train station too. It takes 45 minutes on the train to Florence.
The staff were all lovely and helpful every time we came up to ask a question. Breakfast, in the downstairs room, was adequate and plentiful even with just cornflakes and chocolate coco-pops as the only cereal selection. The girls refilling breakfast trays were very friendly and smiled all the time which makes a big difference first thing in the morning.
The room was spacious, clean and had a small balcony but only one reclining chair fitted on it. Bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower in it. Montecatini Terme has many hotels which explained the low price. There is a swimming pool outside which I used (May 14) but Jacuzzi was cold so not used. The traditional old fashion decor look of the hotel is very clean and fresh looking. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stayed here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyivca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Montecatini Terme is a small, attractive city built around the thermal spas. It is located between Lucca and Florence, so is very well positioned for day trips (by train or car) to these and to nearby cities like Pistoia and Prato.
The hotel is in a central location, well-placed for walking in the spa's thermal parks and to local restaurants and cafes, and is a few minutes from the funicular railway (connecting to Montecatini Alto).
We had a de luxe room on an upper floor, overlooking the garden.The room was large with two balconies, light and airy and well-equipped. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom, also large, had everything needed (but toiletries supplied were just OK) .
Although airconditioning was available, we did not need to use it. Soundproofing is adequate but not great (and the room doors slam shut!).
Everything is very clean. Public spaces are attractive and well-presented. The staff members were very welcoming and friendly, and the main reception people spoke good English.
Although we had not intended to use it much anyway, there was no advance warning that the restaurant would not be opening until nearly mid-April. Even so, the hotel was let down by its food, as the breakfasts - included in the room price - were poor, with little variety and only small amounts of fresh fruit. Try asking for (e.g.) tomatoes; we did, successfully - but not with fresh-boiled eggs. Coffee and juices were machine-dispensed, barely OK. This is Italy, home of good food, and we could have been breakfasting anywhere!
Even so, the hotel represents good value for money. Had the breakfasts been more than merely adequate, the rating would certainly have been higher. Sort this out, and the hotel should be 'Very Good' or even 'Excellent'!

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the rear (garden, pool) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwpaolo98016, Proprietario at Hotel Cappelli, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Google Translation
Gent.mo Sig. Wills, ci dispiace molto che la sua valutazione sia stata solo sufficiente. Anche se non abbiamo ben capito cosa non sia stato di suo gradimento visto che ci riempie di complimenti sia sulla struttura che sulla cortesia e professionalità. Se parla di colazione ci sembra di capire che la frutta fresca ( così come la sciroppata) c'era...forse non con molta scelta ma visto che ha soggiornato nei primi giorni di Aprile la terra della bella Italia in quel periodo fa maturare pere, mele, arance, kiwi e banane e dovrebbe ritenersi soddisfatto. Ha chiesto i pomodori e le sono stati serviti. Le uova sode sono sempre sul buffet, se desidera uova al tegamino le volevamo ricordare che siamo un semplice tre stelle e non abbiamo un cuoco già dalle otto del mattino a disposizione per tale servizio. Spesso nella valutazione e nelle aspettative si dovrebbe fare un bilancio fra la categoria scelta il prezzo pagato ed i servizi ricevuti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

While visiting Montecatini I stayed here with a friend and this hotel is beautiful and scenic. I would recommend it to any travelers in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful , which was nice because i do not speak any Italian. The pool was a refreshing get away from the seasonal heat. My only complaint was that is could not stay longer.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Crosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montecatini Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma e Oriente
Hotel Parma e Oriente
#14 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reale
Hotel Reale
#10 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#12 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#26 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Hotel Bartolini
Smart Hotel Bartolini
#1 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Panoramic
Grand Hotel Panoramic
#23 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cappelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cappelli

Property: Hotel Cappelli
Address: Viale Alessandro Bicchierai 139, 51016, Montecatini Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Montecatini Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 Hotels in Montecatini Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cappelli 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cappelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecatini Terme
Montecatini Terme Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing