We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service Problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cascina

La Cascina
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Pizza, Seafood, Mediterranean, Sushi, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service Problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent a week in Tuscany week before last based in Montecatini Terme and visited Cascina every evening. It is a beautiful location and we used it for lunch and evening drinks. My only complaint is that it is impossible to get a drink and if you are lucky enough to get a drink it is equally impossible to pay for it. we were not in any hurry but there is a limit!

Fix this and you are 5 star.

Donagh Morgan

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaghMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    317
    140
    68
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great indoor/outdoor sheik atmosphere with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We make this our first stop ever year we come to Montecatini. The staff is always spot on and the food is great. Wine list is nice as is the staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cocktails.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went for a drink in the American bar.First off the good stuff.The location is excellent and the atmosphere is laid back and elegant.We sat out under the stars and really felt chilled out and relaxed.The cocktails we ordered were top class and the staff were very polite.But if a review is to be worth anything it has to be written honestly and here is the bad stuff.On Tuesday night the 6/8/2013 we arrived and were seated at a table that had not been cleared from the previous occupants.However that was dealt with reasonably quickly and our drinks arrived.The problem started when I decided that I would order a second drink.I tried to get the attention of a member of staff and after about 40 minutes of waiting I finally gave up.I had to go to the Till myself to the pay the bill as we had just got so fed up of waiting.It was a real shame as we would have loved to have stayed for a while.We called in again on Wednesday night and the service was excellent and I had no problem getting a second drink.This is a great Resturaunt and a great Bar,just get the service right first time every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael1390171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went to this restaurant for lunch & dinner several times, food was fresh & delicious. Great service. Beautiful setting with nice music. Recommend the sushi & octopus salad. Also the creme brulee was delicious. Excellent restaurant & a good place for a drink in a lovely atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was OK but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well located accross from the Modern Art Museum and easy to get find. As mentioned in the title Everything was OK but the famous Beefsteak Florentina (a "T" Bone cut local favorite in and aroun Florence) was missing the Filet side of the T-bone. For savvy carnivors, the absence of the best side of the T bone sort-of put me "off" the whole rest of the meal. I did not complain on the spot; but then one day they may read this review and mend their ways by serving the whole T-Bone with meat on both sides.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cascina also viewed

Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
Montecatini Terme, Province of Pistoia
 

Been to La Cascina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing