We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Service, very rude & arrogant reception staff, no star hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel La Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Bussola
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Milazzo
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have made reservation directly with the hotel reception and arrive with confirmation. When we arrive on 14th Agust male receptionist refuse to accommodate us at confirmed room rate and we have been told that we have to pay extra 50 Euro per each night If we want to stay. When we complain he has been very rude to us, he showed us the door twice during our conversation with saying that "If we dont want to pay, we can go!" I could not believe that this is how they treat their customers here and that they call this "4* or actually any service". He also point out that we are not italian and when we want to speak with hotel manager, we have been told that "we are not home to want to speak with someone"!? Finally hotel owner or manager arrive, /not because the receptionist has called him/, but he told us he does not speak english. After few minutes he suddenly start to speak english and they have offered us lower category at higher rate then confirmed as the only possibility. We refused to stay and stayed in beautiful hotel Jack´s which is listed as 2* hotel, has great service, very friendly staff, was cleaner than this hotel and have better location! I have also mentioned to male receptionist at La Bussola, that I am working in 5* hotel in Prague and I can not believe that they treat their customers this way. I have been told " Good for you"... Well after all good for me as I did not spend money for this kind of hospitality and I know exactly what does service look like!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liska34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary_alonzo, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dearest Miss,
The misunderstanding began when you tried by deception and shamelessly to book a double room at the price of a single room, as if it were the most normal thing to do in the world, lying to us pretending that was the price you had seen on internet, and then, when we tried with extreme patience to explain to you that it was impossible, you started to bargain with great arrogance and proposed us to meet half way offering another amount in between, as if we were at the Grand Bazaar, which is not very professional for somebody who says is working in a 5 star hotel, we must say.
Not satisfied, when we accepted anyway to show you the only available room we had for the price you wanted to pay, you didn’t like it. And when we made several phone calls to other hotels in the city, as per your request, you didn’t accept any of the solutions we found for you. Finally you accepted the 2 star hotel we found and where you eventually went.
All this took more than one hour of time during which you and your friend stood in the middle of the hall with your luggage disturbing all the guests passing by and behaving as as child expecting the whole staff to be at your feet.
We honestly believe that in more than 30 years of activity we never found somebody so liar, childish and arrogant as you, dear Miss, and we ask ourselves how is it possible that you work in a 5 star hotel. We just hope you don’t lie to your guests as you are doing to other travellers here on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2010

The staff and the service in this hotel is awful. They are unpleasant and charge you without pre-notification - they wanted to charge us 2 Euro for 2 pieces of tomatoes !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank einavfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armando2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaPatrizia, Direttore at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cinzia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaPatrizia, Direttore at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaPatrizia, Direttore at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank michelecarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaPatrizia, Direttore at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milazzo
1.1 mi away
Eolian Milazzo Hotel
Eolian Milazzo Hotel
#1 of 17 in Milazzo
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milazzo
Hotel Milazzo
#11 of 17 in Milazzo
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cassisi Hotel
Cassisi Hotel
#10 of 17 in Milazzo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel il Principe
Hotel il Principe
#4 of 17 in Milazzo
292 reviews
136.2 mi away
Boa Vista
Boa Vista
#15 of 53 in San Vito lo Capo
37 reviews
136.2 mi away
Le Palme di Conturrana
Le Palme di Conturrana
#27 of 53 in San Vito lo Capo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bussola

Address: Via Bixio, 10/11/12, 98057 Milazzo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Milazzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milazzo
#4 Business Hotel in Milazzo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milazzo
Price Range: $104 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location on the route of anyone who is traveling to Milazzo – for leisure or work – to discover and visit both on summer and winter the Aeolian Islands and much more. After a full corporate restructuring, Hotel La Bussola offers to its Guests a warm hospitality in a very relaxing and comfortable location, either for businessmen and tourists. Its modern and refined style, the warranty of comfort and the wide range of offers and innovative services aim to give you a holiday of real wellness. The Hotel has 26 rooms with all comforts, free Wi-Fi connection, fitness room, a lounge bar where you can sip a cocktail or dedicate for reading, a roof garden with an amazing sight of the sea, and meeting spaces for business briefings, meetings and conventions, with starters, buffet and working breakfast or lunch. In a spacious loft inside the Hotel, there is the well-known Sofia’s Bistrot, with typical national and international dishes and all the passion and professionalism that set us apart from decades. Hotel La Bussola offers fully customized solutions for the organization of the most important events and can meet all Guest’s needs – both groups or individual – thanks to its high quality and efficient services. All the Guests are accomodated by our professional and multilingual staff, always in full disposal, in order to satisfy every kind of request, from the check-in until the departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola Milazzo, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing