We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how it should be done”
Review of Tranquil Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“This is how it should be done”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The other reviews really say it all. Steve & Graham are excellent, welcoming hosts & we enjoyed every moment of our all too short stay at Tranquil Waters.
The room was quiet, clean & comfortable with plenty of storage, quality bedding & towels, Molton Brown toiletries, complementary mini bar, tea, ground coffee, hot chocolate, freshly baked treats plus satellite T.V. with a choice of English or French language channels.
A copious breakfast followed a refreshing night's sleep. We couldn't have wished for anything more & if we're in the region again, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
We also enjoyed a warm welcome & delicious meal in the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLeadbetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In contrast to most establishments, Tranquil Waters not only lives up to expectation but exceeds it. Blending a beautifully serene location with fantastic comfort and hospitality, our few days there will remain with my wife and I for a long time, and will doubtless see us return.

Steve and Graham are very friendly and welcoming, so much so that we had a few drinks with them at the lovely bar and restaurant next door on our last night, Steve's baking is great, and he stocks the rooms with cookies (and if you're lucky, cake) everyday. The generous minibar is refreshed daily too. Steve has an enthusiasm for Molton Brown products - not something I was familiar with prior to our visit, but which undoutedly add to the sense of luxury inherent in our beautifully appointed room and bathroom.

Chateuneuf du Faou is a stunning location, with a striking sense of peace and tranquility beside the canal. Its also a great location from which to explore Finistere. The roads are a joy to drive and we visited several lovely and fascinating towns, both inland and coastal, with ease. Particularly enjoyable was our afternoon at the beautiful and fascinating Chateau which nestles in the hills high above the canal and is visible from outside Tranquil Waters.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and left only with great reluctance. We'd like to thank Steve and Graham for such a lovely break. I'm certain we'll be back (and this time I'll be bringing my bike to enjoy those amazing roads!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautifully furnished / decorated room, in a small cottage right on the canal. Hosts Steve & Graham couldn't have been more accommodating - believe me they did try. We arrived wet & cold, two hours early, having cycled for three hours in the rain. Graham took us in showed us to our room gave us extra towels and arranged for our outer clothing and shoes to be dried in the boiler room. That evening for some reason, all the restaurants in the town were closed. So Graham drove us to the supermarket were we got a picnic for the evening, which we later consumed (together with a few glasses of wine) in the company of both Hosts and two other equally friendly guests.
Complimentary drinks and Steve's biscuits in the bedrooms. Breakfast consists of a more than ample selection of breads / pastries / cold meats cheese etc. However as my wife was Gluten free, Steve & Graham insisted upon preparing her scrambled egg.
Accommodation was so good, we took a day off from cycling and stayed another night, also looking forward to our next visit.
Thanks again to Steve & Graham.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful stop-over while cycling the Nantes-Brest Canal. The house is perfectly situated on the quay-side and next door to a lovely restaurant. The rooms are beautifully presented with everything you need for a lovely stay - we especially enjoyed the home made biscuits and the Molton-Brown products. Thanks to our lovely hosts our 240 mile cycle ride started off really well. We hope to return and the sooner the better!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBirdPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very well furnished and clean house with character. Very friendly hosts. Comfortable room. Free mini bar. Good breakfast . Ideal location for walking the Nantes Brest canal. The town itself is not well provided with restaurants and on the Monday we were particularly limited in choice. Pleyben,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wysall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fabulous breakfasts. Lovely large room overlooking the canal. Supplies of coffee and fresh cooked muffins together with wine and beer in the fridge. There's even a restaurant next door that does great pizzas and moules frites. Thank you Steve and Graham for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbiandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful time at this gorgeous B&B. Sitting directly on the banks of a meandering river/canal it is in the most gorgeous setting ... country-ish, but with a great cafe/bistro right next door for beers, wine and food. Steven and Graham were perfect hosts, chatty, informative, friendly without being over-bearing. The place is spotlessly clean and attention to detail really makes for a memorable stay: fresh milk for coffee in rooms and homemade biscuits.
Plenty to do in the area: we hired a boat and pootled on the river; Chateau Trevarez is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_C262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf du Faou
3.0 mi away
Stang Korvenn B & B
Stang Korvenn B & B
#1 of 1 in Saint-Thois
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Bakery
The Old Bakery
#4 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
6 reviews
12.7 mi away
Manoir de Kerledan
Manoir de Kerledan
#1 of 2 in Carhaix-Plouguer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Logis le Relais de Cornouaille
#6 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
11 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Saint-Goazec
3 reviews
19.2 mi away
Webb's of Glomel
Webb's of Glomel
#1 of 5 in Glomel
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Waters

Property: Tranquil Waters
Address: 4 quai Jean Guivarch, 29520, Chateauneuf du Faou, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Chateauneuf du Faou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chateauneuf du Faou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquil Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast located on the Nantes Brest Canal, all the en suite bedrooms have views over the river / canal. The town centre of Chateauneuf du Faou is a 5 minute walk away from the property.All bathrooms have molton brown products for guests to use, the bedrooms also has a complimentary fridge with beer, wine, water for guest use. The hospitality tray in the bedroom has a selection of free trade teas, coffees, hot chocolate and fruit infusion teas.The bedrooms have flat screen TV's (English & French) TV, a selection of DVD's are available for guest use, we have free wifi throughout the property.Bedroom 1: Eleanor (double) en-suite.Bedroom 2: Eugenie (king-size) private bathroom next to the bedroom.Bedroom 3: Napoleon (super king) en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tranquil Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing