We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carlsberg did B & B, this would be it.”
Review of Tranquil Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautifully furnished / decorated room, in a small cottage right on the canal. Hosts Steve & Graham couldn't have been more accommodating - believe me they did try. We arrived wet & cold, two hours early, having cycled for three hours in the rain. Graham took us in showed us to our room gave us extra towels and arranged for our outer clothing and shoes to be dried in the boiler room. That evening for some reason, all the restaurants in the town were closed. So Graham drove us to the supermarket were we got a picnic for the evening, which we later consumed (together with a few glasses of wine) in the company of both Hosts and two other equally friendly guests.
Complimentary drinks and Steve's biscuits in the bedrooms. Breakfast consists of a more than ample selection of breads / pastries / cold meats cheese etc. However as my wife was Gluten free, Steve & Graham insisted upon preparing her scrambled egg.
Accommodation was so good, we took a day off from cycling and stayed another night, also looking forward to our next visit.
Thanks again to Steve & Graham.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Tranquil Waters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

A wonderful stop-over while cycling the Nantes-Brest Canal. The house is perfectly situated on the quay-side and next door to a lovely restaurant. The rooms are beautifully presented with everything you need for a lovely stay - we especially enjoyed the home made biscuits and the Molton-Brown products. Thanks to our lovely hosts our 240 mile cycle ride started off really well. We hope to return and the sooner the better!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JamesBirdPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very well furnished and clean house with character. Very friendly hosts. Comfortable room. Free mini bar. Good breakfast . Ideal location for walking the Nantes Brest canal. The town itself is not well provided with restaurants and on the Monday we were particularly limited in choice. Pleyben,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fabulous breakfasts. Lovely large room overlooking the canal. Supplies of coffee and fresh cooked muffins together with wine and beer in the fridge. There's even a restaurant next door that does great pizzas and moules frites. Thank you Steve and Graham for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbiandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful time at this gorgeous B&B. Sitting directly on the banks of a meandering river/canal it is in the most gorgeous setting ... country-ish, but with a great cafe/bistro right next door for beers, wine and food. Steven and Graham were perfect hosts, chatty, informative, friendly without being over-bearing. The place is spotlessly clean and attention to detail really makes for a memorable stay: fresh milk for coffee in rooms and homemade biscuits.
Plenty to do in the area: we hired a boat and pootled on the river; Chateau Trevarez is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_C262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

In addition to the glowing comments of other reviews,may we add that Graham is an expert bee-keeper.We found his information about bee-keeping and his enthusiasm quite remarkable.We stayed 3 nights at Tranquil Waters while attending the Jazz-Fest at Chateauneuf du Faou(a fantastic 3-day music festival,featuring jazz,blues and world music and dance,on 4 stages by the banks of the river)Tranquil Waters was an ideal location..a 5-minute walk from the festival site.Steve and Graham couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had the ensuite Eleanor room.The guests in the adjoining room(with separate bathroom)seemed just...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank TauntonJazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having stayed in many B&B's in our time, Tranquil Waters is by far the best we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was spotless, beautifully decorated with great quality furniture and a 'magic fridge', filled with water, beer, wine, orange juice, refilled every morning free of charge! Steve's complimentary home-made biscuits (every day) were to die for. The bathroom was spacious, of a very high standard, with an excellent shower and luxury Molton Brown toiletries provided. Graham and Steve are excellent hosts, who became firm friends during our stay and with whom we will definitely keep in touch. The location is outstanding! We cannot wait to visit again and will definitely be recommending Tranquil Waters to everyone. Thank you for making our first visit to Brittany so magical. Stella and Mike xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf du Faou
12.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 1 in Huelgoat
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Bakery
The Old Bakery
#5 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Logis le Relais de Cornouaille
#6 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stang Korvenn B & B
Stang Korvenn B & B
#1 of 1 in Saint-Thois
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Domaine De Meros
Domaine De Meros
#1 of 1 in Plonevez-du-Faou
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Saint-Goazec
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Waters

Address: 4 quai Jean Guivarch, 29520, Chateauneuf du Faou, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Chateauneuf du Faou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chateauneuf du Faou
Price Range: $78 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquil Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast located on the Nantes Brest Canal, all the en suite bedrooms have views over the river / canal. The town centre of Chateauneuf du Faou is a 5 minute walk away from the property.All bathrooms have molton brown products for guests to use, the bedrooms also has a complimentary fridge with beer, wine, water for guest use. The hospitality tray in the bedroom has a selection of free trade teas, coffees, hot chocolate and fruit infusion teas.The bedrooms have flat screen TV's (English & French) TV, a selection of DVD's are available for guest use, we have free wifi throughout the property.Bedroom 1: Eleanor (double) en-suite.Bedroom 2: Eugenie (king-size) private bathroom next to the bedroom.Bedroom 3: Napoleon (super king) en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tranquil Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing