We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz and bee-keeping too!”
Review of Tranquil Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Waters
Certificate of Excellence
taunton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jazz and bee-keeping too!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

In addition to the glowing comments of other reviews,may we add that Graham is an expert bee-keeper.We found his information about bee-keeping and his enthusiasm quite remarkable.We stayed 3 nights at Tranquil Waters while attending the Jazz-Fest at Chateauneuf du Faou(a fantastic 3-day music festival,featuring jazz,blues and world music and dance,on 4 stages by the banks of the river)Tranquil Waters was an ideal location..a 5-minute walk from the festival site.Steve and Graham couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had the ensuite Eleanor room.The guests in the adjoining room(with separate bathroom)seemed just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank TauntonJazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having stayed in many B&B's in our time, Tranquil Waters is by far the best we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was spotless, beautifully decorated with great quality furniture and a 'magic fridge', filled with water, beer, wine, orange juice, refilled every morning free of charge! Steve's complimentary home-made biscuits (every day) were to die for. The bathroom was spacious, of a very high standard, with an excellent shower and luxury Molton Brown toiletries provided. Graham and Steve are excellent hosts, who became firm friends during our stay and with whom we will definitely keep in touch. The location is outstanding! We cannot wait to visit again and will definitely be recommending Tranquil Waters to everyone. Thank you for making our first visit to Brittany so magical. Stella and Mike xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

On our first visit to Brittany and somewhat unfamiliar with B&B accommodation, we found Tranquil Waters to be one of the best we stayed in during our 2 month European holiday. Graeme and Steve are excellent hosts who go out of their way to ensure your visit a success. We are still talking about Steve's homemade biscuits. The appointment and cleanliness of our room and facilities could not be faulted. Well done Graeme and Steve from Dave and Jean, Tasmania

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandJean255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having stayed in numerous B&B's in our time, Tranquil Waters is far and away the best we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and stylish with complimentary refreshments ranging from water, milk, wine and beer to delicious home-made biscuits. The bathroom was spacious and luxury toiletries provided. Chatting to Graham and Steve whilst having breakfast gave us a sense of staying with friends. Unfortunately for us we were on a flying visit and could only stay overnight but the memory of waking up and looking out at the beautiful waterside view will stay with us forever. We cannot recommend Tranquill Waters more highly. Thank you. Cathy & Kevin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kerzalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a fabulous b & b, in a lovely location. Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Free mini bar and lovely breakfast. The owners Steve and Graham made us feel very welcome and kept us amused. The bar a few doors away is also great. We felt as if we had been staying with friends. Probably the best b & b we have ever stayed at. We will be back when we visit the area again. (Mike & Barbara Williams, South Wales)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 3-day stay at this excellent B&B. It is in a beautiful quiet position, overlooking the canal, and the owners made us feel very welcome. The double ensuite room was spotlessly clean, and furnished to a very high standard - and with some nice touches, like complimentary wine and beer in the fridge, bathrobes and slippers, this places Tranquil Waters above many other establishments costing far more. Highly recommended.
Mo and Andy, Somerset, UK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 as we were house hunting in the area and i was astounded by the location and surroundings of the area not forgetting the property.
The owners were magnificent and sooooo funny and made us feel like long lost friends and i know we have formed something special with them.
They looked after us so well and the house just supasses anthing else we have stayed in ,in France and we were thrilled to be a part of their expansion plans.
They have another Guest House in Port Launay about 20 mins away which is just as classy and smart as this one and to be honest i was spoilt for choice....think my husband needs to stayin one and ill stay in the other so we get the best of both!!
This house is what it says on the tin "Peace and Quiet" and "Eau Tranquil" certainly fits...
I could not recommend this place enough and thanks so much for looking after us and i know we will be back once we finalize our moving plans
Well done to all

Room Tip: Both rooms front river facing ..very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touristtrekkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham J, Owner at Tranquil Waters, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review, our aim is to offer the best service and make your stay enjoyable at Tranquil Waters while you're on holiday in Brittany. Thanks Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateauneuf du Faou
0.2 mi away
The Old Bakery
The Old Bakery
#4 of 6 in Chateauneuf du Faou
9 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Saint-Goazec
4 reviews
19.2 mi away
Webb's of Glomel
Webb's of Glomel
#1 of 5 in Glomel
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
#2 of 11 in Huelgoat
149 reviews
10.5 mi away
Les Roulottes des Korrigans
12.7 mi away
Double Locks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Waters

Property: Tranquil Waters
Address: 4 quai Jean Guivarch, 29520, Chateauneuf du Faou, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Chateauneuf du Faou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chateauneuf du Faou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquil Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast located on the Nantes Brest Canal, all the en suite bedrooms have views over the river / canal. The town centre of Chateauneuf du Faou is a 5 minute walk away from the property.All bathrooms have molton brown products for guests to use, the bedrooms also has a complimentary fridge with beer, wine, water for guest use. The hospitality tray in the bedroom has a selection of free trade teas, coffees, hot chocolate and fruit infusion teas.The bedrooms have flat screen TV's (English & French) TV, a selection of DVD's are available for guest use, we have free wifi throughout the property.Bedroom 1: Eleanor (double) en-suite.Bedroom 2: Eugenie (king-size) private bathroom next to the bedroom.Bedroom 3: Napoleon (super king) en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tranquil Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing