We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just excellent for a quiet and relaxing weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
The new heated pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The new heated pool.
Gite - ground floor light airy bedroom, extra-large double bed, south facing window gets all the sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The new heated pool.
Gite - ground floor light airy bedroom, extra-large double bed, south facing window gets all the sun
Gite - twin-bedded room, full of character, but watch out for the beams!
The gite, La Petite Maison, the back door and patio.(Automatic lighting over door and pathways.)
Sitting room area with outlook onto orchard
Gite - kitchen. Halogen hob, low-level oven, dishwasher, coffee machine, microwave, washing machine.
Relax in comfort while the kids play electronic darts or mini football etc
Under- cover table-tennis, table football, electronic darts and seating.
A bit of everything!
The fenced play area, trampoline, 2 sets of swings, sandpit, etc
Bottle feeding the baby goats, please help us in the spring, then training them to walk on a lead!
This is 'Silvery', a bantam Peking Frizzle hen, one of our favourites, always ready for a
The 'English' entry in the  Carelles village fete 2013 (always first Sunday in July, a fun
October Pumpkin festival- about 10 mins away in Les Jardins de Renaudie.
Looking from La Grande Salle Verte (on Left) towards Carelles village church.
Fougeres Chateau- about 25 mins away. (and a Land train, market and Aquatis pool.)
The giant elephant at Nantes - a great day out! See our blog at lagrandesalleverte.com
Gorron park- treetop walks and canoeing and low-level rope-walks.
Gorron park- about 15 mins away, treetop walks and canoeing and low-level rope-walks.
Pretty Ambrieres les Vallees- about 30 mins away.
Mediaeval town of Domfront- about 45 mins away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carelles, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philippe...
Paris, France
1 review
“Just excellent for a quiet and relaxing weekend”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just wanted to relax for a weekend in an English atmosphere. Our kids (11 and 16) loved it. Playing with the goats, playing games, and practising their English. It was very enjoyable to be guest with Angela and John. The gite is very nice, clean, all new, but we did not use it very much appart for sleeping since we spent most of the time with our hosts. We also had a nice taste of the English way of eating. I strongly recommend it for a nice and relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company of our hosts
Liked least: Nothing. even the rain enabled us to learn some new games in front of the stove.
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us, (most of our guests are English, not French), so it was great to hear that you had such a good time, and enjoyed your 'English experience'!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Orton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming rural gite with furry friends!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Carrelles and stayed for 5 nights in this lovely well-eqipped gite. Our hosts Angela, John and Selina were very friendly and helpful we only wish we could have sampled more of Angela's wonderful cooking! The gite had all necessary amenities and was nicely furnished with a bottle of wine, freshly baked bread, biscuits and eggs waiting for us on arrival. There was also a good selection of DVD's and books for a rainy day and British television via freesat.
A highlight of our stay was feeding the goats, chickens, rabbits and ducks housed at the end of the garden- although nice for a couple such as us, this would also be ideal for families with children. The gite itself is also very spacious and could easily sleep 4 with a private play area. We would recommend this holiday get-away to others and will certainly consider returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite's goats
Liked least: That we didn't try Angela's banoffee pie
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you and hope you will come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Odd driving rules in Garron
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! It was great getting to know you and we are so pleased you really enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian W
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at La Grande Salle Verte in August 2013 as a party of three including our 14 year old daughter. We had a lovely relaxing holiday and Angela, John and Selina were wonderful hosts. The gite is excellently equipped and our daughter was delighted by her bedroom. She also loved feeding the goats and playing with the chickens, ducks and rabbits.

We had a lovely night at a local ferme auberge - there are plenty of eating places in the region. Our favourite town was Fougeres but there are lots to explore.

Lastly Angela’s cooking is really really good - at least as good as dining out - and as John will confirm her Tiramisu is to die for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Angela's cooking!
Liked least: All the local shops were closed on 15th August
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2013
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments! We are delighted you had such a good time, we really enjoyed your company and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonCP
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy family holiday!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in late July with our 5 year old and 10 month old daughters and had a great time. I am a wheelchair user and found the gite and gardens very accessible which made for a relaxed week. The children loved the pool and play area and loved feeding the animals! Angela's baking and puddings were a hit with all the family and such a lovely touch to make our holiday even more chilled.

Hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The variety of things for the children to enjoy.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found everywhere accessible for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended for young families”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 2013 with our 11 month old daughter and had a great holiday. The gite has all of the amentities a youg family/babies require and it really comes in to its own with the facilities outsides - the swimming pool, sand pit, children's play area and animals (ducks, hens and goats) were hugely entertaining for our baby girl as well as ourselves. The location is a pretty little village in the countryside and the owners are very friendly. Special mention for Angela's excellent baking/cooking - lovely fresh bread and the best banoffee pie we have tasted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
Thankyou fpr your lovely comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for young families or people requiring level access.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This gite was excellent for our young family of two boys aged 5 and 7, with a large, securely fenced grassy paddock, containing play area with trampoline, zip slide etc, Separate enclosure with chickens, rabbits and goats to feed and pet. Very friendly and helpful English owners supply fresh eggs, home made bread and other delights on request. Well-equipped, modern gite with all mod cons, large luxury bathroom and (most important) comfortable beds! Very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very good for children
Liked least: Not being able to eat more of Angela's superb puddings!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing