We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for one night close to Venice”
Review of Hotel Da Tito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Da Tito
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed June 25, 2014

At first glance, Hotel Tito looked a bit shabby, and the stair carpet needed cleaning: BUT - it was very cheap and our bedroom was clean with sparklingly fresh linen. No frills - but a good shower and plentiful thirsty towels. Breakfast better than expected, provided by a friendly, helpful night porter. 10 minute buses for the short drive to the port for a vaparetto down the Grand Canal. We only had one evening in Venice, but staying at Hotel da Tito was ideal to give us a first taste of the famous city - far more expensive... So recommend if like us, you can only pay a flying visit en route home.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get a good deal, like us - about 39 euros B&B p room, p night. 7 euros for t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Da Tito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 182 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Outside looks good until we open room to bedroom. The smell of Mildew was strong. The Black
Mold on the bathroom ceiling was a large section of the bathroom ceiling. Also mold in the
shower was present. The tile from looks like it might have mold under it.

Room Tip: Go else where
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyfree17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this motel. The hall way and entrance are clean but the room had mold growing on the walls. It was small and cramped and in the morning we were not even offered a cup of coffee in spite of the fact that there was an obviously expensive espresso machine on the counter. We aren't extremely picky but in a month of touring 11 countries in Europe this one was by my estimation the worst.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

First of all I want to say that the only thing I would rate about this Hotel (hence the 2/5 instead of 1/5 rating) were the staff on shift. They went out of their way to try and make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately the hotel is very dated, fairly dirty and well below 3-star standards [there was a 3-star certificate behind the counter...]

We stayed here because we were worried about how expensive our trip to Venice was going to be and we wanted to spend as little as we could on accommodation. We learned our lesson!!

When we arrived, after a 5-hour drive, the hotel car park was almost full - the man working had to move several cars Tetris-style in order to fit ours in.
Then we went up to our room, there was no lift and our bag handle broke (I had just hurt my back that morning while jogging so couldn't carry it) - luckily our host picked it up and took it to our room.
The room SIZE was OK, however both in the shower and underneath the bed there was a lot of dirt/mould. The furniture looked dated (e.g. mats were so worn out you couldn't make out the patterns on them) and not so sturdy.
For the first time into our (almost) 4 months trip I felt scared of catching something just by sleeping in the hotel.

Breakfast was yuck. A pale, sickly-looking 'cornetto' (croissant) and a piece of bread with jam. Needless to say I only drank a cup of tea.

The location was OK - about 6 minutes walk to the Mestre train station (train from there costs 1.20 euro to Venice S. Lucia which and takes only about 10 min). However, the neighbourhood felt rather seedy, especially at night.


I fail to understand how such a poor hotel can be considered 3-star. I've stayed in much better 1-star hotels (see my reviews).

I wish the owner would pour some money into some maintenance for the hotel so that the great staff working there would not have to put up with such bad reviews (which aren't their responsibility).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Only a 10 minute walk to the train station (which I recommend over the bus) that takes you into the heart of Venice.

The staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was above average.

This is not a luxury hotel but it is a good genuine budget hotel with good bars and cafes around the area.

My wife and I will recommend this hotel to others that go to Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We selected Hotel da Tito because of its proximity to the train station which would allow us easy transport to and from Marco Polo Airport and Venice. The front desk staff was helpful and even made us coffee and called a taxi for us for an early flight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheninrome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Befor I go Venice, I'm not expecting an luxury trip experience. So I booked this hotel
Two staffs there are very friendly and helpful and willing to communicate with guests

Breakfast is better than other Italian budget hotel.

Even though the room is relatively old
But is full equipped with all kinds of neccessities

And the room is big!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidZzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#33 of 58 in Mestre
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Serena
Hotel Villa Serena
#48 of 58 in Mestre
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montepiana
Hotel Montepiana
#30 of 58 in Mestre
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cris Hotel
Cris Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mestre
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#51 of 58 in Mestre
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Da Tito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Da Tito

Address: Via Cappuccina 67, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: $54 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Da Tito 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Da Tito since 3 generations has been the best solution in Mestre to be close to Venice. Located in the real heart of the city, the hotel is 5 minutes walking from the central railway station and at only 4 kms from the hystorical centre of Venice. Every 10 minutes a bus that stops in front of the hotel connects our guests to the wonderful lagoon city. The hotel has a private parking, 16 wide and comfortable rooms furnished with taste, private services in rooms, telephone, safe, tv and hairdryer. Open 24 hours on 24 all year long, guarantees to its guests the highest service combined with the usual Venetian warmness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Da Tito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Tito Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing