We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in the basement!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Serena
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't stay in the basement!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We checked in very late at night, its a good location and had our reservation, but they put us in a dark damp basement room, with bugs and mold on the bathroom walls. I saw a huge cockroach when I was in the shower and that was the last straw. After only an hour we left and the desk guys moved us to another hotel in their chain at midnight. He was understanding and apologized. We didn't get a refund, but also didn't have to pay at the much better hotel we were moved to. By that time we were to tired to do much but be glad to be out of Hotel Serena.

Room Tip: A short conversation with other patrons on higher floors indicated that the upper floors were in muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    56
    26
    18
    24
See reviews for
31
54
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Very cute little place. I enjoyed our stay and so did the girls in my group. They loved how the place feel. I found that it was hilarious that we had to use a giant key to unlock the room door. The bathroom was a bit weird because as it turns out, bathroom itself was the shower. There was a curtain and a drain on the floor and that was basically it. The staff was nice. The place it seems was run by two little old ladies who both spoke English.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The good - this hotel is in a good location, only a short bus drive away from Venice (make sure you buy a ticket in advance) and the staff is very polite (even provided us a map of Venice).

All of the above did little to help as the hotel lacks several basic features that made our stay unenjoyable.

The bath did not have a shower curtain and each time we washed the floor flooded.
The towels had holes in them (and were replaced the next day with towels that had holes too).

When I talked with the receptionist she apologised and said she cannot change our room as they were fully booked and offered some towels to put on the floor.

There was no holder for the toilet paper and the remote control for the TV did not work properly (they were not able to replace it)

There was no WI-FI in the room, only in the reception area (although it was advertised with WiFi) and we had to guess what was served to breakfast as there is no buffet (but when we asked for some cheese it was gladly served to us).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dave_kent_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and gave us a free room upgrade upon arrival. The room was clean and a good size, and the bed was relatively comfortable. The hotel was conveniently located, and just a short bus ride away from Venice. We did find the hotel a bit noisy (not very sound proof) - but that was not unexpected for a 3 star European hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slbd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a very bad experience with this hotel.
The rooms are not only old fashioned, but also very old, breakfast is poor, we found ants in our room too! Wi-Fi does not work, there is no room service. And if you manage to get some service - it is with an attitude leaving you with a feeling that you need to thank them by letting you stay there!

Unfortunately our daugther got sick in Venice, so we had to stay a couple of nights extra. The manager of the hotel made a big show explaining that the hotel is almost fully booked (even though later we found out that there were only three rooms occupied at all!!)

The only positive things are:
-The young staff in the hotel (a young guy and a girl) who are trying to make their best covering for the rude management who do not give a thing for their customers.
- The area. If you are comming in a car - this area is very good to stay in and take a bus to Venice, which ends you up saving some money for parking too. Busses are very efficient from there to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraA8985IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I would have given this hotel zero stars if possible. When we arrived, the staff told us that our room is unavailable and they sent us to a different hotel. The room at the new hotel was just awful, so we had to leave and find another hotel room on our own. The staff at Villa Serena hotel did not suggest a different hotel and later said the room they found was 'just fine'. They even pretended not to speak English when we later called to cancel our reservation altogether. Overall the staff here has zero customer service skills.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is clean and well kept. One of the workers looks like an ITALIAN SHREK. We call him Shreko. He is huge. The owner looks like he has alzheimers and has a wig on and walks around all day lol. The bus stop is just a 3 minute walk away and comes about every 10 minutes. There are many pick pockets on the bus just like everywhere else. Just don't be stupid, use a neck wallet... etc. We got a room that had our own separate bathroom down the hall with our own key.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the separate bathroom, that bathroom is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanShidyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
3.0 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martello
Hotel Martello
#6 of 14 in Marghera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#37 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#24 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Serena

Property: Hotel Villa Serena
Address: Via Carlo Mezzacapo 2/b, 30175, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of the most characteristic Venetian villa, this elegant hotel is found in the centre of one of the most enchanting areas of Venice, City Garden. Occupying a privileged position, the villa is away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet close to the bridge connecting the mainland to the historic centre of Venice (7 km). The location of the hotel also allows easy access around the city and to the surrounding areas; nearby there is the motorway, underground, train station and a frequent bus service. BY TRAIN: From the Mestre-Venezia station: HotelVilla Serena is 300 meters away. Enter the underpass of the station and continue on the exit for Marghera. You will be on a street called via g.Ulloa, walk straight. Turn left at the second street you see, Follow this street, you will cross a street called via g. Rizzardi, and continue one more block Turn left when you hit via g.Durando. Just past the bus stop, cross the street, in front of you is unmarked street. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station.20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of Hotel Villa Serena. BY PLANE: From Venice Airport Marco Polo Take bus number 15 and get off at the station Venezia mestre. Do the underground, go straight on, at the roundabout the second to te left, Via Durando. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station. 20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of Hotel Villa Serena. BY PLANE: From Treviso airport S. Angelo - Ca' Nova: By bus until Mestre railway station in about 30 minutes than follow by feet enter the underpass of the station and continue on the exit for Marghera. You will be on a street called via g.Ulloa, walk straight. Turn left at the second street you see, Follow this street, you will cross a street called via g. Rizzardi, and continue one more block Turn left when you hit via g.Durando. Just past the bus stop, cross the street, in front of you is unmarked street. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station.20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of/and Hotel Villa Serena. From Piazzale Roma Venezia take Bus number 6 or Bus number 6/L and get off at the first stop in Marghera-street Durando, cross the street, and follow the unmarked street 20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of/and Hotel Villa Serena. BY CAR: From A4 Milano-Venezia.: After the highway toll booth, continue on the ring road keeping on the right until you take the exit for Marghera - Mestre. At the first traffic circle keep on the right and then take the second exit for Marghera Centro; at the second traffic circle take the second exit and continue for the center. When you reach Piazza Municipio go staight to the traffic circle turn left and after right in Via Cosenz in the end you will find the Hotel Villa Serena. From A4 Trieste-Venezia and from A27 Belluno-Venezia: Once you leave the toll booth continue along the ring road until the last exit for SS Romea / Chioggia / Marghera. At the first traffic circle take the second exit for Marghera Centro; at the second traffic circle take the second exit and continue for the centre. When you get to Piazza Municipio go staight to the traffic circle turn left and after right in Via Cosenz in the end you will find the Hotel Villa Serena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Mestre
Serena Hotel Mestre
Hotel Villa Serena Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing