We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD ABROAD.”
Review of Hotel Villa Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Serena
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed October 30, 2012

NEVER stay here. It may be less expensive than other hostels in the area, but you are really taking a chance by staying here. The group I was traveling with, and myself, had a most horrible experience. When we awoke in the morning our room was covered in ants. They had gotten into EVERYTHING, all of our food was destroyed, and they were even in our beds. The manager tried to act as if NOTHING happened when we told her about this (and she was wel aware of the problem, because just last morning we heard a traveler complaining of the same problem) and when we took her up to our room and showed her this absolutely unacceptable amount of ants she once again pretended like nothing was wrong. Only after a while did she agree to refund our money. However, after a few weeks the hotel charged my account apparently thinking that I would not notice. Absolutely Dishonest and Untrustworthy and a despicable way to do business with foreigners. Horrible Horrible impression of Venice and its people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Serena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you're travelling by train, make sure you know how to find the hotel when you make your booking, especially if you're arriving at night. You need to get off at Mestre station, one stop *before* Venice, an easily made error that caused one young couple we spoke with quite a bit of trauma. Additionally, there is no Tourist Information Office or anyone at Mestre station willing to assist tourists with directions. Make sure you already have a good map with clear directions because the hotel is somewhat tricky to find, starting with having to find the station's underpass under the train tracks. It's not far (only a few minutes walk), but tricky. We did not use a taxi but the shortness of the trip might make the 'scenic' route tempting for a cabbie.

The hotel is a villa that's been converted into accommodation. The decor is Venetian and attractive. The hotel reception was welcoming but only a couple of the staff spoke communicable English. Our 'Superior' room (in name only) on the ground floor was clean, roomy, had all the usual amenities and the large double bed was of the hard-but-not-uncomfortable variety that seems to be the Italian standard.

The only noticeable drawback for us was the included breakfast which was spartan, even by continental standards. (Another reviewer has mentioned that all you have to do is ask for more.)

The Venice islands are ten minutes away by the frequent public buses. The hotel staff issue a map on request with details of the correct bus numbers to take and the closest stops are a couple of minutes walk away. Tickets cannot be bought on the bus so you will need to buy a swipe pass which can be purchased at the newsagent on the way to the bus stop (check with reception for its location). Ticket prices to Venice are very cheap but you can purchase passes which include the public water buses (vaporetto) on the canals. The pass periods are not designed for short term tourists so be careful you purchase one that suits your circumstance or it could prove expensive. [Personal Observation: Considering the millions of tourists each year (or perhaps because of them) Venice is surprisingly tourist UNfriendly.]

We stayed at Villa Serena because we had failed to book accommodation on Venice in advance in high season but the room price turned out to be considerably cheaper so we would happily stay there again.

BTW, we didn't discover until our third and final night that the corner was a favoured hangout for streetwalkers, and then only because we were told by another couple we were chatting to. We're not particularly naive, it's just that we normally got back around 9:00PM while it was still daylight and the activities weren't noticeable.

Room Tip: We had a positive experience but have read conflicting reports so it may be wise to check your room...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The room that we got is kinda old tv and aircon not working properly,it was so hot that day when you open the windows lots of mosquitos!not advisable for Families with small kids.it's just "ok" for an over night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superstar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is outside the city centre of Venice, but the busstop and trainstaion make it very easy to get into town. As the bus runs 24 hours it is not an inconvenience at all.
The staff was very friendly, provided us with a map of venice and recommended us a tour we could take on our own and see the most of the city in 1 day.
Free parking in the court-yard. The rooms are small but very clean and quiet.
Bathroom is very small. But the room has an airconditioning unit and the beds were good.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a cheap hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinneke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great location; bus is available in 5 minute walk. We chose this hotel for its parking, WiFi and air conditioning. Parking is very limited and the receptionist will give you a wake up call to come move your car "immediately". WiFi did not work in our room, but it did in the common area close to the entrance... for one day. They couldn't really bother to fix it, too. On our last day, the air conditioning did not provide cold air anymore and after sliding a few buttons back and forth, the (non-English speaking) receptionist just gave up. We asked for a solution (a fan maybe?) but the only thing we got out of that was "will work tomorrow" (we would be gone by then). We explained the latter and we git the advice to just open up our windows, although the area is infested with mosquitos.

All of this could come across as whining, but I consider myself quite understanding and flexible, but I just wanted to share this.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Authentic looking italian villa, with great atmosphere and warm people managing this hotel, although they don't speak English very well. The room is not really big, but is nicely decorated, with interesting feel to the furniture pieces, making it look like a real Venetian style room. Bathroom is modern and very clean, no worries here. Breakfast was included and pretty decent, with standard offerings for a 3 star hotel.

Location is good, as there are many bus stations nearby, from where you can get to Venice in about 10 minutes, and the neighborhood is very quiet and residential looking.

All in all, it's pretty expensive for what it offers, but this is (almost) Venice and prices here are very high everywhere you look.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at Villa Serena for 3 nights in June 2012. I had a single room on the 3rd floor of the main building. The room had a kingsize bed, cabin for clothes, TV, refrigerator (that was broken) and a bathroom. The only window in my room was a roofwindow, but there is a lot to see in Venice, so there is no need for a nice view in the room. The room was clean and cleaned daily, even when I told the cleaning staff, that my room needed no cleaning :) The staff was very friendly and helped me with all my questions about transport, shops and restaurants. This hotel is located in Mestre, which is a 10 minute busride away from Venice, but a bus runs in every 10 minutes and costs only 1,30e. The only problem I had was with the shower. It was really weak, basicly the same as standing under the lightest imaginable drizzle, which made washing my hair quite difficult and time consuming. There is also a bar in the hotel, which was suprisingly lively at times. The sleep quality was excellent, since there were no noise from the street or other rooms during the night. I would definitely go there again, if I ever re-visit Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
3.0 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martello
Hotel Martello
#6 of 14 in Marghera
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#27 of 58 in Mestre
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 58 in Mestre
384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nuova Mestre
Hotel Nuova Mestre
#26 of 58 in Mestre
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#31 of 58 in Mestre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Serena

Address: Via Carlo Mezzacapo 2/b, 30175, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: $62 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within one of the most characteristic Venetian villa, this elegant hotel is found in the centre of one of the most enchanting areas of Venice, City Garden. Occupying a privileged position, the villa is away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet close to the bridge connecting the mainland to the historic centre of Venice (7 km). The location of the hotel also allows easy access around the city and to the surrounding areas; nearby there is the motorway, underground, train station and a frequent bus service. BY TRAIN: From the Mestre-Venezia station: HotelVilla Serena is 300 meters away. Enter the underpass of the station and continue on the exit for Marghera. You will be on a street called via g.Ulloa, walk straight. Turn left at the second street you see, Follow this street, you will cross a street called via g. Rizzardi, and continue one more block Turn left when you hit via g.Durando. Just past the bus stop, cross the street, in front of you is unmarked street. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station.20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of Hotel Villa Serena. BY PLANE: From Venice Airport Marco Polo Take bus number 15 and get off at the station Venezia mestre. Do the underground, go straight on, at the roundabout the second to te left, Via Durando. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station. 20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of Hotel Villa Serena. BY PLANE: From Treviso airport S. Angelo - Ca' Nova: By bus until Mestre railway station in about 30 minutes than follow by feet enter the underpass of the station and continue on the exit for Marghera. You will be on a street called via g.Ulloa, walk straight. Turn left at the second street you see, Follow this street, you will cross a street called via g. Rizzardi, and continue one more block Turn left when you hit via g.Durando. Just past the bus stop, cross the street, in front of you is unmarked street. Follow the unmarked street which runs parallel to a gas station.20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of/and Hotel Villa Serena. From Piazzale Roma Venezia take Bus number 6 or Bus number 6/L and get off at the first stop in Marghera-street Durando, cross the street, and follow the unmarked street 20 meters on your right you will find the Bar Of/and Hotel Villa Serena. BY CAR: From A4 Milano-Venezia.: After the highway toll booth, continue on the ring road keeping on the right until you take the exit for Marghera - Mestre. At the first traffic circle keep on the right and then take the second exit for Marghera Centro; at the second traffic circle take the second exit and continue for the center. When you reach Piazza Municipio go staight to the traffic circle turn left and after right in Via Cosenz in the end you will find the Hotel Villa Serena. From A4 Trieste-Venezia and from A27 Belluno-Venezia: Once you leave the toll booth continue along the ring road until the last exit for SS Romea / Chioggia / Marghera. At the first traffic circle take the second exit for Marghera Centro; at the second traffic circle take the second exit and continue for the centre. When you get to Piazza Municipio go staight to the traffic circle turn left and after right in Via Cosenz in the end you will find the Hotel Villa Serena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Mestre
Serena Hotel Mestre
Hotel Villa Serena Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing