We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel all round..”
Review of Hotel Al Vivit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Vivit
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, UK
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel all round..”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

My best friend and I booked a self catering apartment at this hotel. When we arrived on Boxing Day we hadn't realised that it was located on a Piaza in Mestre and there were Christmas markets and church paritioners bustling around...it was a wonderful sight. The service was excellent from the reception staff. Our bags were still at Gatwick due to varying reasons and so they were very vidulent in keeping track of where they were for us.

The apartment itself was clean, cosey and had the added bonus of a DVD player. The only downside was that there was no kettle and no starter pack of tea and coffee, but that's just nit picking. Our apartment was cleaned twice during our week long stay; our sheets and towels were changed as well as them cleaning the floors. To be honest there wasn't a lot to clean up as we were out a lot and kept the place quite neat. The hotel itself was very quiet, as the apartments were in a linked adjacent buildling, but noise from outside was quite bad during the night. I travel with ear plugs everywhere I go otherwise I wouldn't sleep so I didn't hear anything once they were in.

Location wise the hotel was excellent. As I said before it was on a piaza so there was lots of shopping to be had in Mestre, and the local supermarkets were excellent too. Eating out wasn't so good anywhere really and the meals that I made in the apartment were actually better...how sad is that?!? Although lunches in Venice were great as you could buy panini's or slices of pizza and walk around eating them. The hotel was also in a good location for getting to Venice (2euros return on the bus for about 10 min journey) and for getting around the area. We went to Verona and Padua which were very cheap to get to by train. It was great not to be staying in Venice too as it was flooding season. On new years eve it was to flood to 1.4m in St. Marks square, which must have been miserable. We joined in the festivities that were layed on outside our hotel which were live bands, comedy routines and general merriment. Altogether it was an excellent stay at an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KungFuKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    165
    47
    6
    2
See reviews for
114
169
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Very pleased to have booked this hotel after having read some of the forums on Trip advisor. If you don't mind a daily 15 minute bus ride, this is the perfect base for Venice. It was very nice to leave the expense and crowds of Venice every evening anyway.

The Hotel is based in a lovely square, with a number of good restaurants and shops, which meant we did not have to pay exhorbitant prices in Venice itself. The staff were very very helpful, and we used their knowledge to find restaurants, bus stops, shops etc. A good breakfast, up until 10 a.m. every day, and no feeling of having to rush if you did happen to walk in at 09.50! Overall, a great choice, and one you won't regret.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Hotel al Vivit is a lovely hotel, situated in a marvellous pedestrian square, only ten minutes far from Venice.
I really enjoyed my stay in this friendly and well organized business, the staff was really pleased to help me in every need, they booked for me tickets for gig, museum and theatrical shows, they also gave me a lot of information about the city, the pubblic transport and restaurant.
My room was beautiful and clean, with every comfort that you need and very important thing, it was a non-smoking room, like i asked in my room request.
In addition the hotel is closed to the pubblic transport and there is a bus to the centre of Venice every five minutes.
If i came back to Venice, for sure i will stay to Hotel al Vivit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Exceptional location, very helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfasts...
Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip. We would not consider staying at any other hotels in the area. Close to everything and with staff that are so happy to help that if just feels like a home away from home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soozek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsten
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Your travel guide will probably shun Mestre as a dull industrial place. Most parts of it probably are. But so are many parts of London, Paris, New York.

The Al Vivit is located right in the centre of Mestre, and here we encounter a lively, clean, mid-sized Italian piazza with loads of stores and restaurants. Whereas Venice can be outright creepy after sunset, Mestre's piazza bristles with life.

Going to Mestre was a bit of a compromise for us as we didn't want to leave our car with most of the luggage at one of the (as to most guide books) problematic parkings. We didn't regret staying there.

It is easy to get into Old Venice by bus within less than 30 minutes. A difference which makes staying overnight a lot less expensive. In case of the Al Vivit you get a traditional, but well-kept hotel with a very friendly staff (speaking fluent English - which is not always the case in Italy).

The rooms are a bit small - but what more than a shower and a bed do you need when visiting Venice?

One advice: you are REALLY allowed to get into the pedestrian precinct by car if you have checked that with the hotel in advance. Don't forget to register your car directly. If you car is larger than average, be very careful with the parking space - I imagine that with a SUV you could get into real trouble.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoernla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The two people at the front desk were so extremely helpful and pleasant, it made the stay that much better. We needed directions and restaurant suggestions. The typical continental breakfast was fine, but the great service and beautiful table settings made it feel like a great meal. Eating on the covered terrace was also pleasant. We have family near Verona where we stayed last visit, but we liked it here so much we'll probably return soon. Mestre is a pretty town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Very helpfull and friendly staff in a clean comfortable hotel. Only 20 mins on the bus to Venice. 3-4 mins walk to the bus stop. The hotel is in Piazza Ferretto which itself is a nice place with plenty bars and places to eat. Good bar next door and plenty others to find near by. One staff member challenged us to find Scala Contarin in Venice, would never have seen it if he hadnt set the challenge. Definatley worth the search ! Great hotel !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#21 of 58 in Mestre
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#9 of 58 in Mestre
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Vivit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vivit

Property: Hotel Al Vivit
Address: Piazza Erminio Ferretto 73, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mestre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#9 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Vivit 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Venice Mestre, the 3 star Hotel al Vivit is pleased to welcome you to a prestigious palace from the early twentieth century, with 35 rooms and apartments complete with every amenity, facing Piazza Ferretto, close to the Toniolo Theater, the best shops and public transportation for the new Ospedale dell’Angelo and Venice. Passion and Cordiality Since 1909.Just a few minutes from Venice, Hotel al Vivit in Mestre receives its guests with passion and cordiality, a steady tradition since 1909 that has made the satisfaction of its dear clientele the main reason for hospitality. Hotel al Vivit is considered a historical establishment by the Region of Veneto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Vivit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vivit Hotel
Al Vivit Mestre
Hotel Al Vivit Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing