We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way under expectations”
Review of Villa Crispi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Crispi
Ranked #33 of 75 Mestre B&B and Inns
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Way under expectations”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The villa is quite easy to find, about 5 minutes walk from Colombo square. The room we got was very small and it was cold. They didn't want to turn on the heat even if we asked them to. They don't have quilts, only thin blankets. There was a cigarettes smell in the room. The bathroom was not very clean either. Breakfast is very light. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    61
    24
    26
    15
See reviews for
33
87
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Villa Crispi is a nice place to stay in Mestre, which is about 15/20 minutes outside of Venice. It is a quite little bed and breakfast with 9 rooms on two floors. Nicely but simply attired. Very clean. Comfortable beds, but flat pillows althought better pillows are in the closet, which we utilized. We share that with the owner and she did put the better pillows on the beds the next day. The owern is very helpful in planning out our day and gave us a map and a walking tour in Venice, which we did follow. She showed us where the bus stop was, and it is very close to building, one block up. Would we stay there again, possibly. If any negative I would have to say the breakfast. Although it was arranged very nicely, which I liked, the selection was very poor. Bread/sweet rolls, Yogart, Tea toast and Tea/Coffee and one kind of Juice. But you better get down on time, the owner has set the breakfast for for 8:30-9:30. She locks up the room exactly at 9:30. But the nice thing is the first day she did call into our room to let us know it was time for breakfast so we would not miss it. The owner is not on properity, you let yourself in and lock the door on your way out. Overall, it is a pleasant place to stay. The owners name is Suzanne. If you decide to stay here, make sure you call once you arrive at the Airport/Train Station so someone will be their to let you in and check you in. They do not live on premise. Also make sure you get a confirmation of your reservation, they are pretty lax.

Room Tip: Ask to see a couple of rooms before choosing, what you see on the website is not what you get. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The bed/breakfast was closed at 10pm. when we came with our reservation, a nightmare, we had to drive around knocking everywhere and pay double just to sleep in another hotel. We called on arrival unaware they closed reception at 21 but owner didnt' offer to let us in. The next night we returned, the room was ice cold; no heater in the freezing tiled bath either. Parking is a problem. Gate doesn't lock, not sure it's safe, no security, you get in and see nobody, no guests or staff, in a dark depressing garden. I wouldn't stay there alone; the street is empty and the neighborhood has no stores, no restaurants, awfully quiet, sad. We drove around to find a pizzeria Friday night but saw only prostitutes nearby, not a soul. The breakfast was not good, served in a covered small and narrow veranda, very cold! Bread/coffee cold. Drive a few more km to Marghera or Stra and pay less for more. I wouldn't come back, since this was a "pay at hotel", the front desk lady charged us more and was rude to me when I tried to explain that we had booked 2 nights for basically what she was asking for the one night but she insisted it was impossible and patronized me by saying they did us a favor not charging for the night when they never open the door to us!!! Better pay in advance. We had to leave to the airport and were out of time to call the owner and argue. We won't be back or recommend the cold, mediocre "bed and breakfast". Sure, it's near Venice but not a good deal for the hassle.

Room Tip: "Make sure you know the price you'll pay beforehand since I booked online and was charged m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarinorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Villa Crispi is bed and breakfast located in Mestre on the mainland about a 20 minute bus ride from Pizzale Roma in Venice. The rates were excellent (75 Euro/couple/room/night) and it includes a continental breakfast. The owner (Suzanne) was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were basic but comfortable and each had a private bath and a safe in the room. It is a short walk to the bus stop that takes you into Venice and it is close to grocery stores and an open air market. Less expensive and less hectic than staying on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lys-Lez-Lannoy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

When we arrived at Villa Crispi, we had to wait on average 20 minutes until a young lady arrived and welcomed us very badly, without a smile. The room seemed clean but when we tought twice about it, there was humidity in the corner of the room (see the attached picture) and the shower was broken. I must admit that the area was very quiet and safe, we were near the bus stop to go to Venicia (perhaps 3 min by foot) and the lady who made the check out was very smart and helpfull fortunately. However, we would never go back to this hotel. Finally, I think that it is very expensive to pay 80 euros even if it is in Venicia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massonmelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice rooms, excellent service and very good location (it's closed to the bus station, center and to the shops). We would like to thanks Susan (the owner of the Villa Crispi) and her family for the best service that we ever had. We will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Villa Crispi To start with the staff were friendly and helpful but that was to change. Our bathroom had bath towel racks hanging off the hingers.towel the bath room door ws broken. The shower door was missing replaced by a shower curtain which caused water to go everywhere, the shower rose was broken so you could notadjust, it was the height of an 8 year old child. TV remote did not work, there was a huge green mould patch with paint blistering off 2 foot by 1 foot corner of the room near your head by the bed. The bed was very uncomfortable sunk into the middle and the pillows were paper thin very uncomfortable. When the room was serviced maid took card out of outlet for electricity which in turned turned off the fridge, came back to warm drink n food gone off, when room service windows left open until you came home some cases very late at night, breakfast rusk r left out without cover for day in the air. The breakfast mediocre croissants stale, falso suspect we have bed bugs can't stop scratching or fleas. Not pleasant

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#34 of 58 in Mestre
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#16 of 58 in Mestre
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#30 of 58 in Mestre
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Delle Rose
Hotel Delle Rose
#10 of 58 in Mestre
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#26 of 58 in Mestre
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Crispi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Crispi

Property: Villa Crispi
Address: Via Francesco Crispi 20, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Crispi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Crispi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Crispi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing