We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Shag!”
Review of Hotel Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Venezia
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Holy Shag!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Shag carpet baby! What a trip. PROS: free breakfast (we never had it), wifi, located very close to the mall, restaurants, and outdoor shopping, the staff speak English and are willing to help out with travel plans. CONS: €23 flat rate by taxi into Venice or 30+minute bus ride. The hotel is old, think pink, gold, and shag carpets. The hotel smells like heavy smoke on the whole floor we are on and the room is quite small. You are sharing your shower space with the bidet. The AC doesn't work that well and there's a peculiar smell in our hotel room. Overall, not bad...especially since my experience in Rome. It beats trying to navigate luggage within Venice itself on the water buses or €60 water taxis and on the narrow sidewalks and bridges among tonnes of people. Good for 2 nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    317
    200
    49
    19
See reviews for
166
267
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel is in Mestre, which is about 20 minutes by bus to the Piazzale Roma bus station in Venice. The bus stop is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Our hotel room was very small, although we did have a balcony. But the bathroom was the smallest I had ever seen, no room to move around at all - it did have everything you would need including the bidet. As we were only staying for one night then this did not matter but it could be a problem if you were staying more longer (or were a larger size).

Otherwise bedroom was fine, with a safe, TV, airconditioning, etc.

Reception staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was basic buffet, and can be quite busy. Restaurant decor was rather strange - particularly the plastic gnomes gathered around a blue paddling pool.

Bar was nothing special, but there were several nice bars and restaurants in and around the Mestre piazzas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Our room was very small and much in need of an upgrade. There was hardly enough room to get dressed in, while the shower was just an ineffective curtain to be drawn across one end of the very small bathroom.
The foyer area is very nice and gives a false impression of what to expect once you get to your room. There is a bar in the foyer but this is also false and if you want a drink it has to come from the restaurant. The breakfast was just about adequate.
Although the reception staff were friendly they were unable to find a package waiting for us that was in full view - we found out later when we complained it had not arrived.
The hotel is in a good location to get a bus into Venice and they provide you a very good map with all relevant details on it.

Room Tip: I would make sure you see the room first. Based on their pictures there must be biiger and better ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a great hotel for exploring Venice. It is close to transport links whilst being in a quiet location. The hotel gave us a free upgrade as we were on our honeymoon. I'd recommend this hotel, it's not the best 4* hotel I've stayed it but it's what you would expect from a destination like Venice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband had been traveling around Europe for 2 weeks and the Venezia was the biggest disappointment of our entire trip (and compared to previous European trips, it did not measure up for the money and the rating). My overall thoughts on the hotel are: The lobby is presentable but old. The staff was nice but wanted to keep our passports in exchange for room keys (for anyone that understands the importance of maintaining the security of passport understands that there is a risk leaving it with anyone). The room was VERY SMALL, hot (the AC did not work at all), the TV was old and didn't work, and bathroom was very small and outdated, the linens looked old, and the mattress was hard as a rock. The pictures on the internet are not how the rooms are today, I would say the hotel is very out of date and feels old and dirty. BUT, The biggest issue for us with this hotel was that the AC did not work. We didn't plan to spend time in the room except to sleep but sleeping in a hot room is not enjoyable. We talked to the hotel front desk regarding the AC issues and they said that the AC was struggling to keep up due to heat. They did their best to accommodate us but in the end, we counted it as a loss and went to a different hotel where the AC functioned without issue. Please do not waste your money here. There are many other options close to the train and bus stops for the same amount of money that are up to date in all aspects (and with free breakfast).

Room Tip: There are many other hotels to pick from, but don't be afraid to venture out of Mestre to find a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DA_Traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is in Venezian style and make you fell so nice! The saff is so helpful ,thay can give you any information and the most important is thay speak english! Breakfast is nice ,rooms are clean , it is close to bus station (4L is bus that drive to Venezia),shoping mall is on the right (2min) and on the left of hotel there is shops ,wi fi is free...and I don't know what to say furthermore I LOVE THIS HOTEL !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulholyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The rooms are very tiny, old and worn......Lousy hairdryer so bring your own.....The front desk staff is very helpful.....Very easy to get into Venice from the hotel.....The breakfast is decent.....The only way I would stay here again is if they lowered their rates.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank holter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Vivit
Hotel Al Vivit
#15 of 58 in Mestre
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#17 of 58 in Mestre
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venezia

Property: Hotel Venezia
Address: Piazza 27 Ottobre, 91 | angolo Via Teatro Vecchio, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Venezia, run by the Rossetto family since 1955, is situated in the heart of Venice Mestre, in the ideal location for business trips and tourist visits to "La Serenissima" (Venice). Guests are allocated two car-parking spaces free of charge. It is very easy to reach the historical centre of Venice using the buses that frequently shuttle back and forth both during the day and at night. Our en suite guest rooms feature satellite TV, a telephone, a safe, air conditioning and a free wi-fi internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venezia Hotel Venice
Hotel Venezia Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing