We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but about 20 KM from Island of Venice- cheap and easy bus ride to the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
winnipeg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but about 20 KM from Island of Venice- cheap and easy bus ride to the island”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just a quick note when booking your hotel in Venice do not be confused by booking "Venice Mestre" as we were as this is not actually the island of Venice, Italy itself but a suburb of sorts. We actually arrived via train in Venice and were surprised to have learned that we booked the hotel which was about 20 KM away from the island. We took a cab from the train station which cost $25 however the hotel front desk staff who were very friendly and accommodating informed us that for $1.30 you could take the metro bus service right to the island and it was common to see people with luggage on the bus doing just that.
Keeping in mind that this hotel is not on the island would explain the very reasonable nightly costs. We stayed in early May for approx. $165 per night, as opposed to the $300-400 plus nightly costs staying on the actual island.
As mention front desk was friendly, rooms were larger in comparison to any others we had stayed in either Rome or Florence, this was a pleasant surprise and an upgrade in decor and remodel from our experience in other European cities. Continental breakfast however was NOT included and the restuarant although very pretty and charming was a little pricey but worth a look. We also used the outdoor pool which was very cold even for Canadians and the grass surrounding pool was not manicured but this could simply be as it was early in the spring season.
Over all hotel was a pleasant experience would likely stay again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    858
    164
    34
    36
See reviews for
480
1,266
77
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miramont-de-Guyenne, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on arrival and departure from Venice airport. On the return, we booked a room with a balcony which was a bonus as I am a smoker.
The quality of the rooms was good, beds comfortable, water pressure ok, but the usual problem with a "wet room" shower of a flooded bathroom.
Reception staff were attentive and organised the airport shuttle for us very efficiently.
Restaurant and bar staff were very thin on the ground and did not get a tip, as welcome, enthusiam and speed of service were non-existent. Prices were astronomical.
When asked for tap water in the restaurant, the waiter told us it was impossible as the water in Venice was not good. And €4 for a small bottle could be why!
The best thing was the ice machine on each floor (I wonder if they use filtered/bottled water?), and the water was perfectly drinkable in the rooms - at least there was nothing to indicate it wasn't - and we had no adverse effects.

It seems to be one of those hotels where people stop over and don't return - thus the general lack of interest in the customers.

We didn't take breakfast - there is an excellent cafe at Marco Polo airport - where you can get coffee, fresh orange juice and a pastry for €5.

Room Tip: If you smoke, go for a balcony room. There is a covered walkway at the entrance with ashtrays, so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is near to the Mestre station. We took a cab to the hotel. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel. While going to Venice, it is fine but while coming back you'll have to climb a flight of stairs which might be difficult if there are children or luggage.
The rooms are good and clean. We got a room overlooking the pool and highway but didn't face any disturbances. There is free wi-fi. The breakfast spread was good too. However the service of the staff isn't swift.
Also tickets for bus, water bus etc are available at the reception desk. There are 12 hours. 24 hours, 36 hours unlimited travel tickets which work both on bus and water bus.
Over all our stay was satisfying and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankaK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Overall excellent hotel, the staff were very friendly which can make or break a hotel in my view.

Hilton is brand you can trust, you know it will be at least a certain standard. Would be surprised is anyone could be negative about the hotel, other than the check out queue was large when we arrived (11:30am), however when we checked out at 11:50am the next day there was no queue at all so for us wasn't an issue.

The little snack shop is a great touch - selling both drinks and snacks, ideal if you need a quick top up as the food/drink in Venice is certainly not cheap.

It's a sub 10min bus ride from Venice itself, every 20mins they run so it's really not a problem and you're getting a room that's twice as nice for almost half the price of central Venice (from what I saw it was £200++ a night for anything remotely half ok). The bus is quick and reliable, but late at night the service is not so frequent - we got a taxi back from the bus station and it cost €34 euros (for an 8km trip) on the meter so be aware that is expensive option if required.

The pool looked lovely, so bring swimwear if weather is going to be nice. Hotel is perfectly quiet, nice and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of Venice (which was still very busy even at 11:30pm). Overall very happy and glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamuning, Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, the minute we check in the staff offered us map and gave us directions how to go about Venice! Room is spacious, clean and contemporary. You can even buy the water bus ticket at front desk which is very convenient.The bus stop is right in front of hotel and takes us directly to Venice. I will definitely stay in this hotel if I come back to visit and will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends! We got off the train station in Mestre, which is only 5 min away from the hotel. We stayed in many hotels throughout Italy, and this is the best one of all! Totally love it!

Room Tip: There's 3 of us, we stayed in a room with extra bed, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We loved our stay. A very safe and nice hotel. Appreciate the service of the staff. I would recomment others as well. It is at a great location and 10 mins away from airport. I went with family and found it very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Abhikalp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn to be close to the airport for an early morning flight home. The staff was super helpful and the bed was very comfortable. Its easy to get into Venice on the bus right in front of the hotel. If we return to Venice to see all the things we missed, we very well might stay here just for the great bed, nice staff and fast internet. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
724 reviews
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
415 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Address: Via Orlanda 1, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#2 Family Hotel in Mestre
#3 Green Hotel in Mestre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#6 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre is midway between Venice's historic centre and Venice Marco Polo Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi, parking and an outdoor pool.Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre has air-conditioned double rooms with free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea maker, free access to the 24-hour business centre and to the fitness centre.The restaurant serves classic Italian and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Snacks and beverages can be purchased at the bar or in the Pavillion Pantry, Hilton's on-site market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre Hotel Mestre
Capitol Palace Mestre
Capitol Palace Hotel Mestre
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing