We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall a great vacation”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We live an hour from Venice but have never actually stayed there to enjoy the night life. So we checked into the Hilton for a few days on vacation and we enjoyed our stay. At first we were a little disappointed because the lady we talked to on the phone when we made our reservation told us we'd have a view of the pool from our room. However, upon arriving, we had a view of the main road which is nothing but construction right now. Not a huge deal, but a disappointment nonetheless.
Also, for being a Hilton "Garden" Inn, there wasn't as much greenery as I would've liked. The hotel sits right next to a busy road (which is currently under construction), and behind it sits a small field of weeds, then buildings in the back. Not very pretty to look at unless you get a room with a view of the pool.

After I read the previous reviews about how bad the restaurant is, we were worried about eating there upon arriving. But we decided to try it, and we honestly didn't know what all the fuss was about. We are American's who have been living in Italy for 3 years now, so we are used to eating out at Italian restaurants. Nothing seemed any different to us. The food was good and the service was good. The menu was a bit limited, and the portions were a tad bit small (which is normal in Italy), but over all, it wasn't nearly as bad as some made it out to be. At breakfast I overheard another American warning his friends about the coffee, suggesting it was way too strong. However, in Italy, their coffee is naturally stronger than American coffee. It's espresso coffee. This should not be used against the restaurant simply because Italians make their coffee differently than Americans. Same thing with the food. If you come to Italy with the expectation to have the food and service exactly the same as in America, then surely you will be disappointed. Come here with an open mind, and you will have a better experience.
The breakfast buffet was nice. It was well stocked and there were plenty of staff standing around ready to replenish things. The only thing that bothered me was there was only one waffle maker and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our turn. They should most definitely invest in a second one. How expensive could a second one be, really?

Housekeeping was very nice, and they did a great job keeping our room clean while we were there. The rooms were nice, but a bit smaller than what we expected from their website. Also, for being such a nice hotel, you'd think they'd give us nicer toilet paper. Their toilet paper was thin and papery... I know this is just a detail, but details are important when it comes to hotels. And if we are paying over $200 a night for a nice room, surely one would expect to have good toilet paper!!

We took a small dog with us, and there was plenty of places to walk her, including a near by walk path and river. The staff were very friendly toward our dog, and they didn't charge us a fee for keeping her with us. That was nice.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely come back. The bus stops right in front of the hotel, so it was easy to hop on and go to the Islands. Very simple. And if you have a car, you can drive to the mall and hit the open markets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikmarks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    858
    164
    34
    36
See reviews for
480
1,266
77
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and the room, surroundings and location was excellent. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The hotel as other reports have mentioned is 15 minutes from the Airport Marco Polo (€30) and 10 minutes from the Island, the regular bus left just outside the hotel at a cost of €1.20 each way. The restaurant staff were very courteous and again helpful. Beds and bathroom of a very high standard, with neutrogena products, the shower was amazing.....I would highly recommend this hotel. We used the airport shuttle on the way home and it was excellent value as the bus with luggage would have cost us €10 euro and the shuttle was only €12.00....

The pool was also an added bonus and was great because it was 27 degrees last week so after a hard days travelling it was lovely to have a dip and relax....but beware of the mossies I think I got all my bites around the pool area.....but beware in general.....

We ate the first night in the restaurant and the food was ok, however the next night we went to the restaurant in the next hotel, which didn't look up to much, but the food was to die for....my husband had the anti pasta and the sea bass, while I had prawn coctail and the steak.....the most delicious steak ever.....so well worth a vist and reasonable....

We hired a car and visited Verona which was only a 1.5 hour drive, this city is a must....very romantic and fabulous.....I enjoyed visiting Venice but it was as I expected Venice to be ie overrun with tourists. But enjoyable just the same.

Room Tip: I would have liked a balcony, so maybe next time I would request one as I do like to sit out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkybargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences in Europe we had so far. The hotel is new, beds are large and comfortable, great breakfast, free Wi-Fi, excellent water pressure, perfectly maintained and developed grounds. One thing that could be a bit concerning is the location. This hotel is not in Venice, not even in Mestre. It is, however, only 10 minutes away by bus from the city, 15 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the train station. This makes it an excellent base to explore Venice during the day (and properly recuperate during the night).

Our room (307) was a bit larger than most due to an awkward corner (but still tiny by North American standards) overlooking the pool. Comfortable king size bed (we did not feel the difference between softest and firmest settings on this “number-mattress”) with pleasant linens and plenty of pillows. All appointments are modern and look new and clean. There was a tea/coffee set in the room with a mini-fridge (which they invite you to fill from the pantry in the lobby, for a fee). Every day we were provided with small bottles of carbonated and flat water for free. The safe had a built-in multi-plug electric outlet, which made charging cell-phones a breeze, while keeping them locked-in.

There was also a small desk with a Herman Miller chair and a large flat screen TV. (Yes, there were very few English channels, but did you really come to Venice to watch TV?)

The shower and water pressure were excellent. Full range of toiletries by Neutrogena was completely replenished every day.

Crowd consists of mostly pre- and post-cruisers, bus groups and airline staff. So, at certain times (like, when a tour bus arrives) the front desk could be swamped.

Breakfast was nice. Yes, you need to ask for your espresso or cappuccino, otherwise you are stuck drinking that drivel from thermos. You also need to show up early, because they stop replenishing food about an hour before closing and start taking everything back half-hour before close.

Dinner was of good quality and priced on par, if not cheaper, than similar fare in the city. True, service was a bit slow, despite us being one of the only three tables in the room.

If you are arriving by train, you should get off at Venice Mestre station. Do not follow signs that read “Bus” (that’s an expensive shuttle to either airport or port), but go to the travel agency next to the information desk in the station building. There you can ask for directions and buy bus tickets (they accept credit cards) that are good both in Venice and Mestre. Pricing structure for tickets could be overwhelming: it starts at €1.20 for 90 minutes on the bus and €6.50 for one trip on vaporetto (in Venice). You can buy passes for 12, 24, 36, etc. hours that cover both buses and water-buses. You can also add an airport extension as well. (That being said, once you get to Venice, one trip on vaporetto is usually enough for the experience, after that it is easier and faster to get everywhere on foot.) Once you bought your tickets, come out from the station, cross the street and catch bus 15 to Orlanda stop, which takes 20 minutes. Getting to Venice - grab either bus 5 or 19 to P.la Roma, which takes 10 minutes. Going to the airport - take either bus 5 or 15, which takes 15 minutes. Buses are rarely full and there is plenty of space for luggage. Front desk will provide you with a bus schedule and a city map. One difficulty, is that to get to the hotel from the bus stop on the other side you’d need to cross a small but still a highway. There is a pedestrian bridge, but the elevators are still to be installed, so if you have heavy luggage, or otherwise accessibility-challenged, you’d need to go further down the street and look for a gap between speeding cars (no kidding!).

Hotel provides shuttle to both airport and port for a fee, but they are expensive and usually tightly packed. Much easier, more frequent and cheaper public buses are right in front of the hotel.

On a side note, if you are travelling with Air Transat, keep in mind that you can’t check in on line, so be prepared for what could easily be the longest line in the air travel history. We got to the airport three hours in advance, and the line already snaked across the entire check-in area.

Room Tip: We were happy to see real king-size bed as an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise from Venice, the hotel is in a great place if you want to stay outside the city as the bus stops just outside the hotel. The number 5 bus from the airport takes about 10 mins
We were checked in by a very helpful man who spoke perfect english, he gave us a map of Venice and timetable for the bus and water bus services he explained about the travel pass and sold us 2 for the duration of our stay - it was well worth it.
Breakfast was good as normal for a Hilton.
The bedroom was modern, clean and spacious. The bed was so comfortable you did not want to get out of it.
The hotel also offered a transfer to the pier which was 12 euros per room - you could do it cheaper by bus but you would have all your luggage so worth the money
The swimming pool looked lovely but it was not heated!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located in front of a public bus stop to Venice. The bus is close to Venice and runs about every 10 minutes. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The issues we encountered were with the service desk. There was always a long line up – any time of day. Upon check in, when we asked for details on how to get to Venice they failed to mention that we needed to buy a ticket before getting on the bus, which in our mind is a basic & integral part of answering the question. In addition, when we asked the front desk if we had breakfast included and they told us we didn’t. At home, I checked my itinerary booked through Expedia and breakfast WAS included. The service at this hotel was shockingly below standards which is why I rated this hotel low. This was my first stay at a Hilton, as a result it spoke poorly for the chain as a whole for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocoChippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We traveled to Venice for the first time last week. We are Hilton/Marriott loyalty members and focused on those hotels when available. The Hilton in Venice is on La Giudecca, which is connected to the main islands by water ferry or water taxi.

Hotel:
The Hilton Garden Inn is on the mainland (Mestre) which is connected to the main islands by a bus (over a causeway). Our room (112) had an excellent balcony overlooking the pool area. I think there are four rooms on the first floor with balconies. The accomodations were very HGI complete with the adjustable matteress system, MP3 connectable alarm, dorm sized refrigerator, good wall safe, and a flat screen TV (not much to watch, unless you speak italian!).

Food
Breakfast was included in our rate and had elements for Europeans and Americans. (scrambled eggs, ham, bacon, assorted sweet and savory breads, fruits, yogurts and cereals) and of course excellent strong coffee and frothy hot milk. Our last night we ate dinner in the Hotel and it was actually quite good. Mind you we had been eating in Venice for the past few days (which was great).
starters included a polenta, dried tomato and sausage dish that was kind of like shrimp and grits, it was very good. Prima was a fresh linguine with a nice basil, tomato sauce and I piled on the fresh parmesean. The vino rossa della casa (house red wine) was affordable and tasty.

Location

The bus stop for two different lines is right outside the HGI and the return bus stop is on the opposite side of the motorway connected to the Hotel by an overhead walkway. We got a 3 day water and land bus pass for 33euros and were covered for every where we wanted to go. 7 days is only 50euro. You can get them at the information desk in the airport. You can catch the #5 bus at the airport and tell the driver you want stop at the hilton garden inn / Via Orlando. It is hard to see from the bus. If you don't want to carry luggage on the bus, you can take a taxi to the hotel and then you will know the stop for future use.

Venice
You can take Line 5 or 19 to the Piazza Roma. The bus, train and water bus lines all coverge near there.
Then take the the #1 (grand canal) and 41/42 (circle routes around outside of the main islands in different directions) water buses are great primers for first time visitors. Water Taxis cost a fortune and we would have spent 400 or 500 euros to visit everywhere that we went on the water bus. sometimes they are crowed. We would let the no 1 bus leave from the piazza roma (where the bus stops coming from the hotel) and be the first in line for the next water bus. on the number 1, seats at the rear provide good photo ops. If you aren't patient enough to wait and don't mind standing, take up a place in the SRO section where you board and you will get some nice pictures on one side. Just ride the same bus back for the other side. Murano is the glass island and Burano is where they make lace. Two italian ladies on the LN water bus from Murano to Burano told me to eat at the Gato Nero. See review elsewhere.

Room Tip: rooms 112-114 have balconies overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mondetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was the fifth out of six hotels (plus a cruise ship) on our current European vacation. I happily anticipated our stay here, based on earlier reviews of this hotel. Maybe it's because most of our stay was on a weekend, but the nice staff appeared overwhelmed as they dealt with a very full house.

It's location has it's pluses and minuses - it's away from Venice, but easily accessible by bus (about a 10 minute ride to the bus station). On the other hand, it's close to the airport, if you have an early morning flight.

Yes - it has big beds, etc., as earlier reported. However, while it looks nice and modern, not all is as it seems. E.g., the adjustable comfort level mattress was always the same, no matter what the cool little dial read. The air conditioning was not adjustable, no matter what the thermostat read. The biggest surprise was when it was time for bed, and we couldn't, for the life of us, get all the lights off in the room (we might not be electrical engineers, but we've never had that problem before). A nice young man came up and tried to help, but decided to pull the breaker. The electrical problems continued from there, including that the "tea and coffee service in the room" (Hi, ladyKrystal) didn't work.

The breakfast buffet was one of the worst I've had in a long time. The quality of the food was just plain bad (including ice-cold coffee), and, again, the staff appeared earnest but very short-handed.

I've had some very nice experiences at HG Inns - particularly the one in New Delhi, India. At this one, I was left feeling bad for the staff (who really tried), and very disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same. You might want to check the light switches to see if all the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
724 reviews
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
415 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Address: Via Orlanda 1, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mestre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#3 Green Hotel in Mestre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#6 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre is midway between Venice's historic centre and Venice Marco Polo Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi, parking and an outdoor pool.Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre has air-conditioned double rooms with free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea maker, free access to the 24-hour business centre and to the fitness centre.The restaurant serves classic Italian and international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Snacks and beverages can be purchased at the bar or in the Pavillion Pantry, Hilton's on-site market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre Hotel Mestre
Capitol Palace Mestre
Capitol Palace Hotel Mestre
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing