We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mestre - a good get away!”
Review of Hotel Garibaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garibaldi
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Though we were a little concerned about staying in Mestre versus in Venice, based on some positive comments from reviewers that’s what we did. Though we don’t have anything to compare, we liked our choice. The bus trip right outside of the hotel really was ~20 minutes and very convenient
As for the hotel – this is a nice, small family run establishment. The owner was extremely helpful in a wide variety of ways. Though our triple was obviously a double with an added bed, it did the job. The breakfast was fresh but but the same every day, which got a bit old during our 6 day visit.
No problem in recommending the Hotel Garibaldi, good value for the money, good location, good staff – with just one caution on some very bad Internet service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSpNewcastle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

This place was a real find. Clean and quiet, it is ideally located. Management and staff are very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athina078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband, 12 yr old son, myself and 2 other couples stayed for 2 nights. We picked this hotel due to its proximity to transport to Venice and weren't disappointed as the bus to Venice stops just around the corner, and on the way home stops right outside until 10pm. Any later and you need to know how to find the hotel from a few blocks away. Tickets can be bought from reception which is handy.

We parked in the tiny parking area out the back and entered reception through the back door, past the bar area and dinging room. The reception and surrounds were nice, and the gentleman that checked us in was friendly, spoke good english and offered to help us carry our bags up 2 flights of stairs.

However we were quite disappointed with the accommodation. Our triple room was tiny with barely enough room to walk around the beds. We were overwhelmed by the smell of stale smoke, despite the no smoking sign on the desk and the air con did not help. The bathroom was smaller than an average ensuite and contained a vanity (which had a suprisingly good light) toilet, bidet (useless to us) and a shower head in a corner. There was no shower hob, and just a curtain on a track. The floor sloped ever so slightly towards the drain on the floor under the shower head, however the drain didn't work properly. There was no where to hang the towels, but we couldn't have re-used them anyway as we had to put them on the floor to make a dam around the "shower" to prevent the water flooding into the bedroom.

The bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were so hard it was like sleeping on a stone tablet - the worst I have ever encountered. The room was reasonably clean except for the carpet. We had to keep the window closed at night to block out street noise.

There was no information folder in the room. Apparently breakfast was included but this was not stated in our booking information, nor was it mentioned at check in, so we missed out the first morning. We juggled things around to find a large enough surface in the room to put a plastic bowl down to pour some cereal and milk. The second morning we ate in the dining room and the selection was fine, and typical of most places we stayed.

Wifi was available for a cost.

I definately think that the statement on the hotel website about the standard being higher than the average 3 star is incorrect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvaholiday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I have stayed at the hotel Garibaldi several times over the years as my grand-moter lives nearby and it therefore is the most practical hotel for me to stay. It is walking distance from Piazza Ferretto and the commercial mall "Le Barche". A hundred meters off the highway exit and right in front of the bus stop for Venice, it could be well located for people not willing to stay in Venice itself.

The hotel is however very disappointing. Despite the free parking for customers, the service is far from excellent. My father had booked a double room without specifying we were father and son and hence got a double bed instead of twin beds. As we arrived at 6 PM the lady at the reception said the beds could not be parted until the day after as the staff was already gone (I suppose she could not do it herself) and the only alternative was to take two singles instead, but by paying them of course instead as being given as an interim solution until the beds could get parted. The keys to the rooms are electronic badges and the doors do not always work properly. Our room had an awful smell, probably of cold cigarette, although the hotel has a non smoking policy. The room looked ancient and needed a serious makeover. There were moldings in the shower as well as a dried piece of soap stuck in the soap cup/handler. The bathroom is ridiculously small and looks like a wardrobe from the room as you enter it from a sliding hanging door. During one of my previous stays I even had a bathroom with no shower cabin and I had to shower over the toilet! Most of the TV Channels do not even have a good picture quality and have lots of interferences/static. The AC/heating unit has left black marks on the ceiling. For 90 EUR per night for a double room, this is very expensive for such a low quality of rooms, even if the breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabrizio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Easy to get to from the airport with a bus stop directly outside the hotel (taxi €37 bus €2!). Rooms were clean but carpets are well used, non-smoking rooms smelt of smoke but after changing rooms we found a still smoky but bearable room. Breakfast is basic, bread is rationed by the receptionist but the 1 cereal on offer, coffee (no decaf), yogurts & boil your own eggs were all unlimited. You must visit Mestre town plaza for food & shops, left out of the hotel & walk straight for about 10 minutes past the big wooden steps. Bus trip is about 30 minutes into Venice & costs €1.5/person/each way (buy & recharge your plastic travel tickets at reception), the bus to Venice leaves from the opposite side of the road that the hotel is on. If you stay outside Venice at least you don't have to wheel your bags through the Venice streets & 100's of tourists to your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed here on the first night of our trip to Italy and our last night of our trip to Italy. It was quite cheap at around ~$100 a night.

Pros: It was quite simple getting to the hotel from the airport. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that takes you to and from the airport. Also there are buses that come every 10 minutes to get you to Venice as well. The concierge was friendly and helped us figure out which buses to take. She also let us the use the internet for free for a couple of minutes to print out boarding passes when we left. There was a free breakfast. Nothing too special, but they had a GREAT juice machine.

Cons: Dont expect anything fancy. Shower was small, barely fits one person. The bed was quite uncomfortable. If you get a room by the staircase, you will hear people come up and down the stairs in the morning. If you get a room by the window that faces the street, you will get the noise at night from the partyers. The TV was very small in the top corner of the room. After a certain time around 10 PM, the bus drops you off 5-6 blocks away from the Hotel. We did not know that, and had to find our way back to the hotel, however, people were friendly and were able to easily direct us back to to the hotel.

All in all, we were in Mestre to go to Venice. We only used the hotel for sleeping and that is what this hotel should be used for.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antsmarchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This hotel is exactly what it promised to be: a nice place to stay in a wonderful part of the city. The transportation is excellent — both getting to the hostel from station, or getting to Venice from the hotel is very easy, and the location is right next to the old and lazy part of Mestre town, with nice little restaurants and all the evening activities.
While a really picky person could find things to complain about — like bad batteries on TV remote, minor problems with toilet (which were resolved after being told about 'em) and no bacon in the breakfast :) we were really content with our choice, and, would the chance turn for us to return to Mestre, we would definitely consider staying at Garibaldi again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicausis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#27 of 58 in Mestre
389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garibaldi

Address: Viale Giuseppe Garibaldi 24, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: $53 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garibaldi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of its history and its fresh renovation (2016) Hotel Garibaldi is your perfect choice to visit Venice and its beautiful sorroundings. You can reach Venice with a 20 minutes ride from the bus stop in front of us. We also have free bicycles to explore the parks, shops, and restaurants in the nice city center of Mestre. We are easily accessible from the airport Marco Polo, from the Venice-Mestre train station, and from the highway. Hotel Garibaldi has free parking for customers and individual garages. You will stay in quiet rooms, with modern and comfortable interior and Wi-Fi. We care about your breakfast, and you will have nice croissants, fresh eggs and fruit to start your wonderful day in Venice. The Zanchin family has managed Hotel Garibaldi for almost 50 years, working together with kind and competent personnel to make visitors feel at home. We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garibaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi Hotel Mestre
Hotel Garibaldi Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing