We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value base for Venice”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good value base for Venice”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is a basic, no frills affair. We got an excellent deal, so cost us barely anything, so if you're looking for a good cost-effective base for exploring Venice, then this is ideal. Breakfast is available at a very reasonable rate, but it is largely bread and cake, so perhaps splash out and have a morning treat in Venice.

We spent all of our time over in Venice during the day, which is accessible via a twenty minute bus ride from a stop opposite the hotel. Couldn't have been simpler!

If you're looking for somewhere nearby for a bite to eat or a drink in the evening, then you should definitely try Corte Legrenzi, which is a five minute walk away. Terrific little courtyard to unwind with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    229
    303
    133
    100
See reviews for
171
334
52
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel from 13/5/14 - 16/5/14, had read some bad reviews so was a bit apprehensive before our arrival. Yes this is a cheap and cheerful place to stay outside of Venice, however I found the staff friendly and happy to help, they gave us tips on good places to eat in Mestre (fab pizza place just around the corner), They allowed me to use their computer to check in for my flight. The room despite reading bad reviews about cleaniness was clean, tidy, clean bedding, it was small & basic of which I already expected, the only downside was plug sockets to charge your phone, only one for the tv of which was above the wardrobe or one above the hairdryer in the bathroom, had to balance my phone! The breakfast was basic, pastries and tea/coffee machine and get there early if you want croissants but you get what you pay for, if you want luxury, you need to spend serious money and stay in central Venice. The bus stop is opposite the hotel and the buses run frequently into Venice (bus 7) it's about a 20 min bus journey into Venice. Although the buses don't run frequently at night. Also avoid expensive taxi fare to the airport, bus 15 takes you straight to the terminal. Venice is lovely, lots to see and do, although our map reading skills are not the best so we did spend the first day or so getting lost down the neverending back streets but as long as you find your way to the canal you can jump on the Vaporetto (would advise purchasing the 72 hour travel pass from the hotel at 35 euros, can be used on the vaporetto and buses). Everything is expensive in Venice, from a beer costing 6 euros to an evening meal around 25 euros each. Another great place to eat is at the foot of the Rialto bridge, they do a great club sandwich. Local drink Spritz are very nice as is the the classic praline with whipped cream gelato at Gelateria Nico in Zattere. The gondola rides are very expensive, around 80 euros for 40 mins but you can buy a ticket from the ticket offices around to "share" a gondola with others for 28 euros, much more affordable although the gondolier don't point out the sights and tell you the history, so if you want the real deal, you have to spend the money! Avoid Bar Sport in Mestre like the plague, we ate there one night and the food was not fresh, mouldy and although we only ate a mouthful of the food before realising we both had delicate stomachs the next day! Alberoni beach is nice and takes time to get there (Lido vaparetto then bus to Alberoni) however despite guide books advising beaches open in May we were the only ones on the beach! Definately recommend going up the Campanile, the views over Venice are amazing! St Marks Square always busy and large queues for Doge's Palace & St Mark's Basilica, also lots of pigeons! Def recommend visiting Rialto Bridge at night for the scenery and St Marks Sq for the atmosphere. We spent 3 days here, that was plenty of time to see and do everything we wanted, also very expensive otherwise would of loved to of stayed longer. Can't fault the hotel, basic but clean and friendly staff. Have a great trip :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you're going to Venice (what an amazing city!), be sure to invest in accommodation close to where the action is, pricey as it may be. This place is out in the middle of nowhere (a 20 minute bus ride from the central bus port - the station to get off at is Cappucina and the buses are not frequent after 7pm so plan your journey well). I was part of a group tour so had no say in where we could bed down. Was allocated a first floor room which could only be accessed through another staircase (not a problem for me but a consideration for those with ailing limbs and heavy luggage).The toilet was dirty upon arrival and the room was musty with the vintage Victorian furniture not adding to the charm. The lamp and power points on my side of the room weren't functional. My friends wanted a snack at about 10pm and were told that the kitchen was closed (so please make sure you're well fed before heading back).

Pros:
A little supermarket smack bang across from the hotel
Across the square were a few bars and restaurants that were top class (alleviated the pain of being in the hotel after a long day on the road and sightseeing)

Cons:
Far from the action
Dirty

If you have no electric gadgets that need charging, don't get hungry past 9pm, don't mind a musty, dirty old room, this may be the spot!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mambo_msafiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hi i took my girlfriend on a trip to Venice and stayed in the Centrale Hotel for 3 nights. We arrived at around 10 in the evening on fri just gone (25/4/14) the man on night shift didnt speak a word of English which wasnt very helpful after being given our room key. The room we were given was tiny, the room door opened past the bed and caught it every time it opened, then the gap between the end of the bed and dresser was so small you had to side step past it. There was no information in the room regarding cleaners/breakfast/checking in/out etc. There was no kettle, no iron, no key to the safe in the wardrobe. wifi was a ridiculous price to use. All the furniture was in poor condition There were about 4 coat hangers which other residents must have supplied as they were different colours and sizes. First thing in the morning i went downstairs to ask about a room change, on the way i noticed other rooms were being cleaned and noticed we had been given the worst room on the floor, the room next to us was the same size but used as a single. The rooms opposite were also doubles but proper sized as in the hotel photos. After a long argument with the new hotel receptionist he decided to let me change rooms but at 10.30am the next day. I argued the toss as did he trying to convince me the room i had was a double and all the other double rooms were booked. Eventually after not budging he let me switch rooms but was very arrogant for the next 2 days. My experience of the Centrale wasnt a very good one, the location is quite good as there is a supermarket across the road and also a bus stop on the route to Venice island, which is beautiful by the way. There are also shops bars and takeaways scattered around a mile radious of the hotel. My advice would be to read reviews and dont be worried to pay an extra £100 it will probably be worth while!!! Have a nice holiday.
p.s Any more than 3-4 days in Venice would be too much 3 days was plenty for me and the girlfriend its also quite expensive in certain areas.

Room Tip: dont accept room 461
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed with my family for 2 nights (17-19.04.2014).

The only advantage of this hotel it’s close to city bus station for destination Venice, a small supermarket just around the corner and close to the main square. However to Mestre Railway Station you have to walk abt. 25 min. In my case it happened to have a flight early morning from Treviso airport so instead of walking with luggage I preferred to take a taxi to bring me there to catch the shuttle bus at 05:45 hrs. to the airport. Taxi driver charged me with EUR 13,- for such a short distance (1.4 km) and shuttle bus to Treviso airport costs EUR 10,-

Hotel is not domestic at all. You are not allowed to iron and use the hair dryer (which is not available anyway ) or any other devices such as kettle (there is a sticker in the bathroom). In this respect you have 2 sockets, one in the room and one in the bathroom, both located 2 m height ! Even to charge your mobile phone or iPad is a problem! Small room, no parking, no fridge in the room, internet quite expensive and of bad quality. And it’s calling 3 *** hotel ?? :((

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slava_B_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

10 minutes walking from the mestre fs is a good deal for avoiding staying in venice it self and getting to know where most people lives.

No plugs in the room, 4 m2 room, average breakfast, cable tv with just infomercials. Just as "i don't have another option hotel".

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ulu_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Decent hotel, clean room, close to the bus station, supermarket and restaurants.
Good quality/price ratio. I would recommend it for people who don't want to stay in Venice, especially during the high season .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#52 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#24 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing