We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hi i took my girlfriend on a trip to Venice and stayed in the Centrale Hotel for 3 nights. We arrived at around 10 in the evening on fri just gone (25/4/14) the man on night shift didnt speak a word of English which wasnt very helpful after being given our room key. The room we were given was tiny, the room door opened past the bed and caught it every time it opened, then the gap between the end of the bed and dresser was so small you had to side step past it. There was no information in the room regarding cleaners/breakfast/checking in/out etc. There was no kettle, no iron, no key to the safe in the wardrobe. wifi was a ridiculous price to use. All the furniture was in poor condition There were about 4 coat hangers which other residents must have supplied as they were different colours and sizes. First thing in the morning i went downstairs to ask about a room change, on the way i noticed other rooms were being cleaned and noticed we had been given the worst room on the floor, the room next to us was the same size but used as a single. The rooms opposite were also doubles but proper sized as in the hotel photos. After a long argument with the new hotel receptionist he decided to let me change rooms but at 10.30am the next day. I argued the toss as did he trying to convince me the room i had was a double and all the other double rooms were booked. Eventually after not budging he let me switch rooms but was very arrogant for the next 2 days. My experience of the Centrale wasnt a very good one, the location is quite good as there is a supermarket across the road and also a bus stop on the route to Venice island, which is beautiful by the way. There are also shops bars and takeaways scattered around a mile radious of the hotel. My advice would be to read reviews and dont be worried to pay an extra £100 it will probably be worth while!!! Have a nice holiday.
p.s Any more than 3-4 days in Venice would be too much 3 days was plenty for me and the girlfriend its also quite expensive in certain areas.

Room Tip: dont accept room 461
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    236
    314
    139
    105
See reviews for
175
351
53
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed with my family for 2 nights (17-19.04.2014).

The only advantage of this hotel it’s close to city bus station for destination Venice, a small supermarket just around the corner and close to the main square. However to Mestre Railway Station you have to walk abt. 25 min. In my case it happened to have a flight early morning from Treviso airport so instead of walking with luggage I preferred to take a taxi to bring me there to catch the shuttle bus at 05:45 hrs. to the airport. Taxi driver charged me with EUR 13,- for such a short distance (1.4 km) and shuttle bus to Treviso airport costs EUR 10,-

Hotel is not domestic at all. You are not allowed to iron and use the hair dryer (which is not available anyway ) or any other devices such as kettle (there is a sticker in the bathroom). In this respect you have 2 sockets, one in the room and one in the bathroom, both located 2 m height ! Even to charge your mobile phone or iPad is a problem! Small room, no parking, no fridge in the room, internet quite expensive and of bad quality. And it’s calling 3 *** hotel ?? :((

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slava_B_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

10 minutes walking from the mestre fs is a good deal for avoiding staying in venice it self and getting to know where most people lives.

No plugs in the room, 4 m2 room, average breakfast, cable tv with just infomercials. Just as "i don't have another option hotel".

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ulu_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Decent hotel, clean room, close to the bus station, supermarket and restaurants.
Good quality/price ratio. I would recommend it for people who don't want to stay in Venice, especially during the high season .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Booked this hotel for a few nights as part of a British Airways break. At the price we paid, I was expecting very little and had concerns about the locale. I shouldn't have.

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the shower pressure great. Hotel wifi is expensive and offers poor value as it is dearer than VeniceConnected which can be connected to throughout the city. I would have liked to have seen fruit and the option to add cold meats to the breakfast, but it was fine all the same. The staff throughout were wonderful.

The location is fine. It is very safe and there are a number of places to eat close by, far cheaper than in Venice proper. Actually, by not staying in Central Venice, you get to see two sides of the city. It takes around twenty minutes to get to Venice Island!

Hope to stay again...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is located in Venice mainland. Frequent buses operated during the day can get you to the island. The bus stops to the island and airport are conveniently located near the hotel. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Clean and tidy budget hotel with small room and no frills. (ancient wall hair dryer had been "repaired" with masking tape which gave up) Reception staff attitude varied, some fun, some rather curt. Breakfast was all cake and uninspiring bread, no fruit, meat, cheese or yogurt so don't expect to fill up and miss lunch! Our room faced the square and all day sun so was exceptionally warm, too hot to sleep well even though the aircon (was it working?) was on all the time. Traffic noise made leaving the window open not a happy choice. Mestre market on the Friday was huge and interesting, well worth a browse. Very handy for the bus into Venice and close to a handy supermarket. As to VENICE We bought travel passes and the Venice museum card which was good value and enjoyed getting in and around the sites. Unfortunately very many of the people employed to help the public and tourists were bad mannered and aggressive, especially at the vapouretti ticket offices, don't expect to get much help, it is easy to get the impression that the locals like your money but don't want you there. All in all though a great place to explore and swoon over the amazing buildings and views. Our break was on a Groupon and was good value and much enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#52 of 58 in Mestre
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 58 in Mestre
234 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#26 of 58 in Mestre
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing