We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you have paid for”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is in Mestre, a town close to Venice. It nos expensive, but not cheap either.
If you are looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights while visiting Venice, then it's ok. But it has not really much to offer. You pay the for a room, and that is what you get. A small room, with a toilet. It looked old, was small, but at least everything seemed to work.

Now, if you want to use internet, you will have to pay extra, and the price for that was really expensive. Better look for other places to use internet if you really need to.
Breakfast was not included, and the employees that I meet where not rude, but not nice either.

So, if you are going to stay for not more than two nights, and you are not looking for something fancy, then it is fine. But don't expect anything what you haven't paid for, not even a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Centrale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 891 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

If you are on a tight budget and want a hotel somewhat near a bus route into the city central then look no further. It's pretty much a 2.5star hotel. The room doesn't have any amenities and don't ask the front desk for iron....they will advice you that it's against local coding and a fire hazard(unheard off) but if you go outside of the hotel and across the street there is a small supermarket and some half way decent restaurant for a bite. But please don't have high expectations regarding the hotel. A place where you can get rest and yes a very basic breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2fly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in total- a night either end of a week long cruise.
The first night was shocking- the room faced out on to the square outside which was full of drunks that were still out there when I woke the next day! I also got bitten pretty Badly at the hotel by something - so bad that I had to go to the infirmary on the ship later on in the day.
A couple of the reception staff were extremely rude.
The location is no where near Venice- the hotel is right near a bus stop though and for €1 the bus will drop you at The Piazza Roma. You do have to buy bus tickets from the shop next to the bus stop. I didn't realise this until after but I have spoken to people who were asked to get off the bus without a pre-purchased ticket.
There is a big Piazza behind the hotel but I didn't feel comfortable walking around in the evening because it felt more of a place for locals than tourists.
The rooms are extremely dated and need complete refurbishment.
The hotel also offer day tours in to / around Venice.
Don't bother with breakfast either unless stale bread / pastries seem appealing.
We only stayed for a night and took our bags with us to Venice- there is a bag drop shop next to the entrance to the people mover in the Piazza Roma- well worth €7 to drop your case for the day and its open from 6am until late.
All in all I was pretty disappointed with the hotel. I will return to Venice but not to Hotel Centrale.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first room had a powercut for a day the electricity waSnt working so at 6pm we asked the guy at reception to come a check it he said he would e there in 5mins - we waited 20 an were going to be late for a show so we showered in the dark and left. We can back at 00:30am and still no electricity - the clerk had done nothing so we went back downstairs to a new man who was more helpful and came up straight away but couldn't fix it so at 1am we had to swap rooms which is obviously a huge inconvenience. In the new room the Sheets were dirty had brown smears on them we now had two single beds instead of a double and it was significantly smaller than the first. Dirty shower and wet floors/ toilet seat. In the morning a new clerk was there so we complained to him and he said well I can't do anything there's nothing I will do. Nothing for our inconvenience wasted time, just head shaking and an uncomfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

this was a lovely central place to stay enough though the hotel is abit dated please don't be put off I would certainly stay here again no problem, staff always friendly and very helpful with any information that we required could not do enough for us. very easy to find also handy for the bus into venice it self which was just across the road and ran very regular into venice which made our stay wonderful, also handy for the train station was wasent that far away which meant we could go exploring further afield to vernona and treste which where both beautiful and worth the visit if you get the chance go the train trip is quick and easy. I would love to go again and would go in a heart beat . just what to say a huge thankyou to the staff there at the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Hotel Centrale. In an expensive city like Venice, this hotel offers good value for money without many compromises. The staff were helpful, our room was well equipped and the ensuite facilities were relatively basic but clean. The public transport linking the hotel to the island is great; the buses are frequent and tickets are cheap. There are plenty of good restaurants just around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaAndMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for two night on the second floor. Our room was for 4 people so we got a room at the end of the hall in the corner. We had a balcony but looking out was not the best. Bathroom is ok shower very small without stall so the water is splashing everywhere. Beds are hard but ok. Area is not very safe looking but we did not go out at night. Elevator is very tiny hard to fit in it. Lots of traffic at night so a bit noisy. Parking is not available hotel will offer two options, best to take euro parking for 14 eu per night. A bit of a walk but there is nothing cheaper. To go to Venice you have to get on a jam packed bus in he morning but buy tickets ahead of time at the tobacco shop next to the hotel 1.20 eu each way. Ride is about 10 min. Breakfast disappointing just sweet buns watered down orange juice and jam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piave
Hotel Piave
#51 of 58 in Mestre
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#26 of 58 in Mestre
248 reviews
4.1 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
711 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Piazzale Donatori di Sangue 14, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: $50 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mestre's old town, just a stone's throw from Venice, Hotel Centrale is proposed as a modern structure, it is comfortable and practical and capable of meeting the needs of the numerous tourists headed for Venice as well as an incentive type clientele. Hotel Centrale, which has 99 rooms distributed over 5 floors, is a young, modern structure, it has all the necessary facilities, it is located in Mestre's old town, from which you can easily reach Venice thanks to public buses which pass by every 10 minutes and stop right opposite the Hotel. The well presented, cosmopolitan setting, the family-managed services and the impeccable courtesy that singles out our group, will contribute to making your stay in Venice an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Mestre
Hotel Centrale Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing