We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel is very close to the bus station from where you you can reach center of Venice in 15 minutes. It is very affordable, clean and quiet with free parking place. We had a free Wi-fi internet in the room. The price includes continental breakfast, nothing special except fine Italian espresso. Receptionists do not speak English.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tihana_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    207
    55
    10
    0
See reviews for
92
234
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We chose this hotel because we wanted to save as uch as possible. This was a great choice` Although the hotel is not in the centre of Mestre, it is very close to a bus stop. The bus to Venice takes approximately 12-15minutes and one-way ticket is over 1euro but we didn't mind at all. Te prices for hotels in Venice are twice as higher as in Mestre so that was the main reason we chose San Carlo hotel. You can get the bus tickets at the front desk which is really helpful.
We were really surprised when we first got to the hotel. Everything was clean, they agreed that we could have a breakfast that day instead of the last one. There is a wifi in the lobby but also in the rooms. Apparently they have a new system so sometimes it takes a while before it starts working. But the receptionists were very pleasant and always happy to help.
The only problem we had was the last day. We were in a hurry to catch the plane and needed to sort out some stuff before departure but the receptionist would only talk to us in Italian.
Besides that, everything was great and i would come back again. Its a great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frogglikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This very simple mid-range hotel is situated pretty far from Mestre center but quite close to bus station to Venice. Our room was small but had a balcony with fine view. Wi-fi internet was available only in hotel lobby. The breakfast was standard but croissants were quite good. One of receptionists persistently tried to sell us a collective trip to islands and was very annoying. The other one was actually very cordial and helpful. Private parking is avalable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirilldu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a simple but clean hotel, some of the staff are really nice but others are not very patient whith people who don´t speak Italian. The breakfast is good. The hotel is very well conected to the airport and it's only 20 minutes away from it. From Venice it is about 15 minutes away by public transportation, the problem is when the weather is not very good and you have to wait at the bus stop for 20 minutes for the bus to come and then lots of people pack the bus and the drivers are not very hepfull since they are not suposed to talk while driving. A friend got a similar room within Venice for only 15 Euros more. So if there's going to be a special event, like the Marathon, it's better to stay within Venice, if you are leaving very early to the airport stay in Mestre, it's very convinient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This two-star hotel offers much better value than a typical two star-hotel. The hotel is quiet, the room, bathroom and dining room were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. A free parking is available. The bus, a 5-minute walk away, takes you to Piazza Roma in Venice. The buses run frequently and late at night. The trip, including the walk and wait time, takes about 20 to 30 minutes.

Free internet access is available in the hotel lobby but t's not the fastest connection.

Breakfast is included and was okay.

There are quite some restaurants in Mestre, but the distance to Mestre centre is about 1km. A good alternative is having dinner in Venice, since the buses run till late at night.

Very good value for the price we paid!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanynicetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed here the week before Easter with my family. We chose the hotel because it was inexpensive, had a car park and was within easy reach of Venice. We were not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a small, modern bathroom with shower. We had three beds and a cot in the room and it was a bit cramped, but it would be a decent size for a double room. Anyway, if you're visiting Venice you aren't going to spend much time at the hotel! A word of warning about the car park though - it is too small for the size of the hotel, and you may have to park on the street overnight and move into the car park when guests leave the following day.

The breakfast was pretty standard - fruit juice, tea, coffee, croissants, bread rolls, ham, cheese, salami, cereal, eggs, biscuits - and sufficient, with enough choice for fussy eaters. The reception staff deserve a special mention - the four we met were all very helpful and friendly, and very knowledgeable about Mestre, Venice, and the surrounding area. They can book tours, visits and they also sell the tickets that you will need to travel around Venice. Adriano in particular helped to make our holiday run smoothly. All of the day reception staff speak good English.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the bus stop where buses run every 10 minutes to Venice. The bus journey takes about 15 minutes and the bus station is right by a boat stop on the Grand Canal where you can catch the water buses that run around Venice. The ticket system in Venice has recently been simplified, and now you can get a ticket which allows you to travel on the buses, the water buses, and the boats to Murano, and is available as a 24, 48 or 72 hour ticket. You can get these at the hotel at the regular price. Children from age 6 also need a ticket too, and there is no discount :-(

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a shopping mall in Mestre, and there is a supermarket (Pam) in the basement of the mall. Just past the mall you reach a pleasant piazza, which is reasonably lively with shops and restaurants. If you don't fancy staying out in Venice all day, or paying Venice prices, then there are plenty of restaurants in Mestre which are much better value.

It isn't a luxury hotel at all - if you're looking for something special or romantic then stay in a smart hotel in Venice itself - but the San Carlo is a good option for visitors who want a clean, comfortable place to stay when visiting Venice on a budget. In particular, if you are arriving by car consider staying in Mestre - the car park in Venice is VERY expensive and you still have to get yourself and your luggage across Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The rooms are clean but not modern, the staff is veeeeeery friendly and helpful, breakfast is great but the hotel is too far from the bus stop (for me).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bored_stiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
722 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.8 mi away
Antico Moro Hotel
Antico Moro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zelarino
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Property: Hotel San Carlo
Address: Via Forte Marghera 131, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#13 Family Hotel in Mestre
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in centre of Mestre, just 600 meters away from the main old square "Piazza Ferretto" with its very nice shops. This strategic location makes it easy to reach by car, by bus either from the railway station or from the airports of Venice ("Marco Polo Airport") and Treviso ("Sant Angelo Aiport"). Venice "Roma Square" can be reached by bus every 10 minutes during the day and every 20 minutes during the night and the bus stop only 300 meters away from the hotel. All rooms, which have been refurnished this winter , are with private bathroom, Tv-Lcd with channels in different languages, telephone with direct line, free wi-fi internet, safe and air conditioning. The hotel provides free parking for the guests as well. A very professional staff will help the guests with all information regarding itineraries, guided tours and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Mestre
San Carlo Hotel Mestre
Hotel San Carlo Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing