We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ariston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Club Hotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airmotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kappa Hotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Hotel(Mestre)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
31
73
155
129
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
73
155
129
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stop right outside the hotelbudget hotelthe hotel is cleanmarco polo airportvisiting venicetellyunderpassvenezia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 514 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel looks nice from the outside, but inside it looks like it came from the 70's, the breakfasts were modest and consistent, in my room was an unpleasant odor, the hotel need some more for fewer customers, while we lived there, tour the school which is pretty loud behaved, all you did was heard in the room, generally the hotel for short stays

Room Tip: virtually all the rooms facing the street
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDRZEJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

well, just got back from venice. stayed at ariston hotel. firstly do not let the pictures of the hotel fool you. nothing like it. very poor experince all round.no air con. had to argue with staff to keep climate control on at night. one staff told me to open the window and muttered something in italian as he walked off.rooms are small.the shower and the toilet was an after thought.breakfast was ok, and it was the same everyday. this hotel claims to have 3 stars. i have stayed in better b&b.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vip645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We travelled from Florence to Venice and we were quite anxious about our hotel stay as we had a terrible experience in Florence. The hotel is located in Mestre, as we could not afford any hotel in Venice, they were exorbitantly expensive. It was about 7-10 minutes cab ride from Mestre station.
The hotel looked a shade better than a our Florence hotel & following what we observed, We were staying for 2 nights & paid about 70 euros/night.

1.No refrigerator.
2.The whole room looked old & really small. Please check out the pics with this review.
3.In effective air conditioner. Centralized with no thermostat in the room (It didn’t matter actually as it was not cooling much!! )
4. Non working TV.

The room, bedding etc was quite clean & no problem on that front.

I don’t know what is it about air-conditioners in Italian hotel rooms, they never seems to cool the room below 25 deg!! I was really searching for that answer through my whole journey. Aircon is looks like a "con" job in Italy!!

We had one peculiar experience when we returned to our room in the evening. We noticed that our AC was not working at all. When I & my friend checked with the reception, we were told that one of the guests is sick & so they could not operate the AC, as it being a centralized. Now, we didn’t know whether to laugh or cry on this situation. He stubbornly refused to do anything about this & suggested to shift in other room which has individual air conditioners at extra cost. We decided that, we will talk to hotel manager in the morning. We somehow spent the sweaty, humid night in the room.

In the morning when we complained to Manager, she accepted it was mistake on their part & the guest who was having a problem should have been shifted to another room instead of causing in-convenience to all other guests.
Our second night was much better as AC was working!!

We didn’t sample the breakfast as it was not included in our tariff, so can’t comment on that.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you are on tight budget. Try to find better hotels in Mestre & I think that should not be a problem. One more thing that you would be interested to know, that it normally takes about 15 minutes to reach form Mestre to Piazza Venezia. So it is good option to stay in Mestre rather than very expensive Venice hotels.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you want a bigger, cooler rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madmax1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. The hotel rooms are basic but very clean, and staff were lovely. The breakfast was good too. The centre of Venice can be reached by bus which takes around 20 mins.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DickieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I booked this hotel over the phone with Thomas cook thinking I would be staying on Venice. The Internet & the repay Thomas cook both told me it was "in the heart of the Venice region" altogether with flights & transfers I paid £620 for 2 for 3 nights, not that bad I thought for Venice. I was wrong.

The first thing we noticed on check in was that the hotel did not seem to be near any water / tourist amenities. There was a drain ditch with green pond scum
In it & lots of litter but that was it. The hotel seemed to be on a main road in a non remarkable area.

It was extremely hot when we checked in so enquired where the hotel bar was. The lady at reception indicated a very small fridge behind the reception desk. That was the bar.

Choosing to overlook this we then checked into our room which was a triple room so we had adequate room. The bathrOom on the other hand was tiny, decorated in brown tiles with a minuscule shower that was far too close to the toilet. Literally IN the toilet.

Upon pulling the shower curtain open I spotted several sentient mosquitoes all perched waiting for lights off. Needless to say the hotel has a major fly / mosquitoe problem reminiscent of Africa rather than Italy. This problem was only made worse by the fact the air conditioning is almost non existent at night to the point it is difficult to breath.

If you don't know Mestre it is very easy to get lost, the buses don't run as frequently by the hotel or as late as they could have done. The directions & bus info we received was vague & unhelpful so ended up spending a fortune in taxis in & out of Venice.

Venice Itself was a stunning & romantic as ever. Took a water bus to lido beach on our last day as it was so extremely hot. It was lovely the only down point was seeing all the lovely hotels on lido & knowing we had to return to the Bates Motel for more incessant sweating & bloodsucking from the mosquitoe army

Breakfast was lacklustre; if you like bread & cakes to start your day (we don't) you'll be fine. Fruit juice was ok. As on other reviews I will mention the wifi not working in the rooms only in reception but This wasnt too bad as at least it was cool there.

Mestre is a poor choice for anyone wanting to experience true Venice. Ariston is certainly not worthy of a 3 star with no bar or restaurant on site.

My advice: stay on Venice not at this hot sweaty mosquitoe palace with no amenities & is a good 20 minutes hot busy bus journey.

Good luck

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunseekers2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariston3, Direttore at Hotel Ariston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Sir,

If you look our website you can see clearly which is our location and which connections you have to and from Venice Centre.
Our hotel has got a different price from a Venice Centre hotel, maybe 3 or 4 times less, so you should be angry with the telephone operator, not with us, this is our location since we opened!
Also we have only a small bar with some cold drinks, beers, wine and coffes and we don't have an internal restaurant, as you wrote.
About the problem of mosquitos....this is a problem of all Venice Region in summer, not only for our small area! Maybe you have noticed more mosquitos near our hotel because the mosquitos came out in the night, and in the night you were at the hotel.
About bus information, we give for free to all our guest a customized Venice Map and a Mestre Map with all the bus stops you need and the timetable for buses, trains and boats. Our staff is always helpful to give you more information if any guest ask.
I'm sorry if you have a bad experience at our hotel but I think you should have took more information about what you was reserving before making the reservation.
We are an informal 3 stars hotel in Mestre, we offer to our guest a clean, easy and cheap location to visit Venice.
Best regards
Leo
Hotel Ariston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews