We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“post cruise stay”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It took about 20 mins. by taxi to get to the hotel from the port of Venice. The hotel looks dated but when we got to our room it was pleasantly spacious and clean. Unfortunately it has a lingering smell of tobacco which was my only disappointment. We did not bother to ask for a different room as we were there for only 2 nights.
The reception has been very helpful during our stay there, especially Liana. We learn to use the local buses to get to Venice using bus no. 4 or 4L. The bus stop is only a few hundred metres from the hotel. We got our drinks and fruits from the local supermarket Billa which is just next to the bus stop for Venice.
The included continental breakfast has a good spread. I particularly enjoy their Italian cakes. We help ourselves to decent cups of coffee from the machine.
Overall it's a good hotel to stay for short visits.

Room Tip: Non-smokers: make sure you request for non-smokers room. The lingering smell of tobacco is unpleasan...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S0uC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Hotel President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Turned up at hotel 9.00am in morning and the room was ready for 10.00 Very friendly receptionist that spoke at least 4 languages. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Only abed and continental breakfast.
We also, thought that there was not much there But there are restaurants and lively bars. You need to walk down back to the traffic lights and turn right then then left then walk straight for about 5 mins and there are all the bars or walk straight pass traffic lights without turning and you have shopping centre and other shops and restaurants.
You can get a bus to Plaza Roma where you can walk into Marks square if you go over the big bridge it is about an hour walk or you can get a day pass from Tabacco shops for 12 hours and that cost 18 euros . If you dont want to walk you can jump on the water bus number 1 to Marks square and you can travel for 12 hours on buses and water buses anywhere. You can also get the bus to the airport at the opposite side of the hotel.
For a cheap holiday in Venice I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

although i must say Mestre is not Venice, which was a disappointment, but still the area is not too bad either. I had gone on with my wife in June'12. The place was deserted as if everybody had left the place. It was a bit creepy as we could not see any shop opened and not much of the people around. We stepped into the hotel and we were greeted by the reception staff. they were quick and gave us our room key. One thing we liked was that everything was self service....no paying tips to bell boys.
The room was neat and clean and the bed was king size with a comfortable mattress. motion sensor lights near the door. There was a refrigerator, TV and the bed sheets were clean and tidy. One disappointment was that there was no electric kettle provided but to that the reception staff told there is a lounge on ground floor and we could get tea/ coffee through the dispensing machine for 1 euro. The Bathroom was very neat with clean towels nicely placed. There was a Bathtub which was a plus.
the reception staff was very good in providing us Maps of Venice and guided us to the nearest bus stand from where we were to take bus for the Venice. We were given complimentary breakfast during our stay. the breakfast had a good spread of freah fruits, breads, eggs and cold cuts. Overall i can say that our stay was comfortable and recommend this hotel for everyone who opts to stay in Mestre rather than Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaps31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Hotel President Mestre **** Via Forte Marghera is a 15 minute bus ride (no.15 Actv at 6 Euros) from Marco Polo airport. The closest bus stop is outside the Hotel Elite, you can see the President about 2 minutes walk away. The staff are friendly and the hotel is very clean, the rooms are not too big but are well organised, with TV, mini bar, hairdryer and trouser press. The only thing that lets it down is NO coffee or tea facilities - anywhere in the hotel after breakfast, ALSO if the Manager is on holiday the downstairs bar is closed! Breakfast is included in the price and even though it is cold continental style, it is adequate.
The bus for Venice is about a 5 minute walk (turn right out of the hotel) buy your Actv bus ticket at the tobacco shop then take the 1st right, cross the road and catch the 4 or 4L, this goes all the way to the Venice bus station (about 1/2 hour) were you can then catch the water buses. You can buy a 24 or 48hr ticket which covers all buses and water buses, just get on and off as often as you like, but remember to scan your ticket every time. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel, most found in the Plazza Ferretto which is behind the shopping centre. A traditional Pizzeria I can recommend is the Mc Onor Int Pub Pizzeria (see my other review on this). I would recommend the Hotel President it is ideally situated for a short break to Venice, the room was cleaned everyday, beds made and towels changed - what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: If you have a travel kettle would recommend taking it as No tea or coffee is available after breakfa...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Coeandcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPresidentVe, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you spend a good time with us.
Hoping to have you here again the whole staff send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at President's triple room with our 2 small kids for 1 night and it was a pleasant stay. First of all Hotel has it's own parking lot so you don't have to pay 20€/hour for parking at Venice. Room was not big but it was so well organized that with our 2 small kids staying wasn't a problem. It is 5 minutes of walk from bus stop from where you can esasily reach Piazza Roma from where you take vaporetto for Piazza San Marco. It is a good choice for a short vacation.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Ali Haydar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ideal location if you get a good price.Mestre is an ideal for being near enough to Venice and the airport 15 minutes bus ride to either. From the airport take the ATVO (Blue Bus) at Bust stop 2 outside Venice airport arrivals. 6eur or 11eur return ensure that you validate ticket at machine either on bus or outside. Mestre station is a long walk and the bus stops upon request should you want to disembak earlier. The bus travels along Via Forte Marghera and the nearest stop is when the bus turns left ino Corso Del Popolo get off outside the cinema, the Billa supermarket is just after. Walk back to Via Forte and turn right the hotel is on the left side 300m walk.
The Cinema is also where you can get the bus to Venice 15 minutes buses 4 and 4L (ACTV-Orange Bus) 20 eur 48 hours your time starts when you scan your ticket.and can be used on the canal boats in Venice as well as all buses.

The hotel is OK, Reception staff friendly and helpful breakfast is adequate rooms clean. Two downsides is houskeeping not consistent, we had the same plastic cups for 3 days and very basic clean by the houskeeper e.g. our ash tray with litter was not emptied for 2 days. No tea or Coffee to be had anywhere in the hotel after breakfast...very bizarre.

Places to eat Indian restaurant left as you leave the hotel and if you turn right The Marco Polo restaurant a few doors down has a great reputation and is slightly dearer than most but an ideal treat. Further up is a Japanese Bamboo/sushi restaurant and on Del Popolo opposite Billa supermarket a really nice italian and reasonable prices worth a visit is " Pizzeria al Corso"

Room Tip: Clean and functionable rooms. Housekeeping a bit erratic and not always thourough. Our Ash tray whic...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julieton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night before boarding a cruise ship. The hotel is very clean with extremely pleasant reception staff. The breakfast is basic but more that adequate and again the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bus stop to Venice is a short walk to the right when exiting the hotel. Make sure you buy your ticket before boarding the bus as we were charged more than twice the fare as we did not do so. Tickets must be validated at one of the machines on the bus. Watch out for the locals who will literally walk over the top of you to secure a seat. When the bus is full they will then push their way to a machine to validate their ticket ,again knocking into anyone who is in their way. The don't believe in queues so be warned or be left at the bus stop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cath038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mestre
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#21 of 58 in Mestre
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#39 of 58 in Mestre
1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#11 of 58 in Mestre
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#209 of 384 in Venice
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via Forte Marghera 99a, 30173, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $106 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Mestre
Hotel President Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing