We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hard to find but a good bargain for the price”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“hard to find but a good bargain for the price”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked an overnight stay at this hotel prior to catching a cruise ship from Venice. The reviews sounded ok and the price was right for us - a middle aged couple. We took the ACTV bus from Venice Marco Polo airport and (according to the map) the bus dropped us off just a block away. Well, the drivers instructions and the map were both a little incorrect. We spent 1 hour dragging 2 large suitcases around trying to find the hotel, we asked several locals and no one seemed to know exactly where this hotel was, we finally asked someone who happened to have a cell-phone on which he was able to get directions and took us directly to the front door. I will warn you that it is a little hard to find but well worth it when you do. The hotel is not overly fancy, but it is clean, the staff welcoming and the continental breakfast was just superb. We arrived before the check-in time but were told that we could store our cases behind the desk and shown a toilet where we could freshen up. The desk staff gave us directions to Mestre square - just around the corner -which was totally pedestrianised and had shops and restaurants etc.Nice area to stroll around after a supper - very safe with lots of families strolling around as well.The staff also directed us to a really nice restaurant with excellent food for our evening meal. They were very accommodating and so pleasant. Our room was lovely and clean, good beds, clean bathroom and very quiet. In the morning rather than take a bus to the cruise ship dock in Venice we opted for a taxi - not very bright as it cost us almost as much as the hotel room - but it did get us there quickly and we didn't have to pull luggage behind us. Next time to Venice area we will stay again

Room Tip: They do have an elevator - not big but still an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoebe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    45
    7
    13
See reviews for
28
56
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here four nights, booked two double rooms. We were given rooms with the air conditioning not working and in temperatures of 35 C could not get any sleep. The owner -manager was patronising and told us to lie down and all would be fine. On further complaining a fan was produced. We could have moved out but for the fact a day would be waisted. Breakfast was lacking and poor quality, hygiene very poor. On the plus side there were good eating places near by.

Room Tip: To be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

The first night in this hotel was already a distaster. Just about everything in the bathroom was broken: the shower head, the shower itself, the dust bin. In addition, the sink didn't flow, the shower area was awfully ditry and the breakfast was low quality. The hotel personell made repeated hints towards a compensation for the bad experience, but eventually there was no compensation. Don't recommend anyone to go here.

  • Disliked — The quality of the rooms, the breakfast and the lack of service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikusNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Aurora Hotel is a great base to stay when visiting Venice.The staff where very helpfull and nothing was a problem to them.Breakfast was ok.Nothing Fancy but enough choice for all.hotel is close to the main square where you can find a very good wine bar but beware it closes early and a couple of good places to eat.Bus stop was around the corner and the hotel sold the bus passes.The rooms where clean and large enough but the shower was a bit on the small side.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no bar/restuarant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJ city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I had to stay in this hotel accidentally late at night because of reservation problem at another hotel in Mestre. I did not expect much. But this hotel was quite nice - clean and comfortable without much hassle. I was able to park my rental car in front of hotel. The public bus stop is less than a minutes walk where you can go to Venice within 20 minutes. Overall. this utilitarian hotel is not so unacceptable to my standards.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JinsCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed here as a cheaper alternative to staying in Venice. This was our worst stay of a month long trip around europe, by miles and miles. I'll just list what was wrong:
- The room smelt bad, we had to keep a window open the whole time, as
a consequence we had street noise, cold at night and mosquitos in the
room
- The room was not in good condition, rusty fittings, some broken
- One morning there was no hot water, and we had to take cold showers, staff were not particularly apologetic, and no further action was taken
- There were no additional bedclothes in the room, and my girlfriend was cold during the night
- The showers (there were 2 heads in the room) were both broken and showering was unpleasant
- Reception was often unattended, even though the room keys are hanging there in easy reach
- The staff insisted on taking my car keys (even though there was no reason to move my car as it was on the inside) and left them sitting with the room key unattended and obvious
- The internet setup involved changing detailed network settings on my laptop, and the staff member who made the changes was not available on checkout to repair my settings
- There were also minor issues, for example the staff were unable to recommend a place for dinner in Mestre, but these were no significant
compared to the major issues listed

  • Liked — very little, breakfast was above average for Italy
  • Disliked — Smell, cold shower, security
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank workingineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#26 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#41 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#20 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al Vivit
Hotel Al Vivit
#11 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airmotel
Airmotel
#39 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: Piazzetta Giordano Bruno 15, 30174, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Venice
Aurora Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing