We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value and Staff”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Hotel is one train stop away from Venice. The location is perfect for pre and post cruise. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and warm. There are good restaurants closeby and American fast food brands.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    913
    160
    31
    22
See reviews for
453
1,074
71
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We selected the Best Western Bologna Hotel in Mestre after reading the Venice Travel Forum here on Trip Advisor. We are in our 50's and recognized that Venice in July would be hot and packed with tourists, and we did not relish the idea of dragging our luggage onto the vaporetto, up and over bridges, and through a maze of narrow side streets. Additionally, we were looking for a place that would be economical, close to the train station, clean, and with air conditioning. BW Bologna turned out to be all these things and more. We easily booked on-line for a 2 night stay in July (Saturday and Sunday), but what we did not realize was that the 2 nights we booked just happened to be during one of the largest festivals held in Venice: The Festa del Redentore, an annual 2 day religious festival with fireworks over the Giudecca canal.
In spite of the fact that this is one of the busiest weekends in the year for the area, the staff at BW were amazing. One of this hotel's best assets is the staff, who are all very service focused. Because of the festival, almost all public transportation schedules were disrupted, and many of the Venetian restaurants did not have seating available due to reservations that were pre-booked months before. Elena at the front desk patiently answered our one million questions, and we watched as she and her colleagues patiently repeated the answers for many others who had the same questions. Every question was met with a genuine desire to help out the customer. Tips and suggestions were offered on things we hadn't even thought of.
The hotel was very clean and modern, and quite large by European standards. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was fairly spacious with a large shower separate from a bath tub. Breakfast was included in our price and had a large variety of items including bacon, eggs, and made to order coffee/espresso drinks.
We bought a travel pass which covered the vaporetto and the bus back and forth between Mestre and Venice. BTW the bus ran very frequently and the stop to go into Venice was across the street from the hotel. When we departed Mestre, we took the airport express bus to Marco Polo airport; the stop for that bus was about a block down from the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Venice and the area, and you are looking for an excellent hotel for much less than what you'd pay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank len_leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was across from the railway station and bus stops to Venice, also because we were planning to take the train to Switzerland later
Very modern and clean with included (good) breakfast
Staff was a standout; friendly, helpful advice given with genuine wamth
Some reviewers found the area mediocre, but I fail to see why, found a great restaurant minutes away and shopping, just ask the staff what is where!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toowoomba4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here two nights before a cruise. Directly across a four lane street is the train station to venice in 10 minutes. From the airport we took the local bus, (which is a nice coach with plenty of room for luggage underneath) and were at the bus station right down from the hotel in 20 minutes. Buy the ticket inside the airport by the exit door. We walked with luggage about 100 yards straight down toward the hotel, no problem at all for us 3 with 7 bags!!! Hotel had free wifi which daughter loved, quiet room on third floor facing station, and breakfeast was descent considering the Euro just kills us when we travel!!!. Felt safe and ran the entire town of Mestre every morning including a laundry mat down the road that we used prior to the cruise. Do be aware that Train strike do happen, which we found out the morning of the cruise!! We walked across the street to the local bus bought three tickets and rode the bus right to the port. about 10 bucks compared to taxi rip off of $150 us from hotel...which were booked by serveral people that were still waiting as we got on the bus. Great hotel highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weberskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I can't praise this hotel enough. From walking through the doors everything was brilliant . We stayed here for one pre-cruise night. Left our bags with reception as we had arrived mid morning, when we got back in the evening our bags were already in our room. Never had that before. Reception staff, brilliant . Very knowledgeable & helpful . Train tickets purchased from them €5 each, station across the road, train takes 5 mins to Venice . They even reminded us to get our tickets validated once we were on the station or face a hefty fine
Our room was massive, free breakfast next morning, then they told us to catch the bus across the road to the port then we wouldn't have to carry our cases as far. Cost €1.30, and we could use the same ticket on the people mover as well.
Hotel very tidy & clean, we didn't have dinner in the hotel but looked at the menu & it seemed very good value.
Would I recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Venice, most certainly YES.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We decided to book in Mestre due to the expensive hotels in central Venice ... turned out we made the best choice as travelling to Venice from this hotel is super convenient and easy, and you get a much bigger room than a hotel in Venice. It was also easy to travel to other locations such as Verona and Garda, and the hotel is in a great location to travel to and from the airport. Staff extremely helpful, room clean and nicely decorated. Only downside is area at night can feel a bit dogdy ... other than this, place was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a one night visit to Venice. We heeded advice to stay at the entrance of Venice when staying for a short period. The Hotel is very modern and situated right outside Mestre train station (10 mins from Venice). I emailed ahead to let them know it was my wife's birthday . On arrival the reception staff were superb . Two wished my wife happy birthday without any prompt. They arranged for a gift in the room and the excellent service continued throughout our short stay. They provided maps and train tickets . Their bistro made an excellent starting point before heading into Venice. Brilliant hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVALANCHE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing