We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasing ..a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed here as a couple for a week in Sept 2012. Reasonably convenient for Venice by bus but better by train and a very good base for exploring the Veneto by train as the stattion is across the road. The decor is freshly done mostly in muted tones. Room and bathroom very good. The main restaurant is rather dull and expensive, Meals in the cafe and bar are much better.The reception staff are very helpful, most speak very good English. Bar staff are friendly.Happy to stay there again. Lots of good eating places and gelateria close by. Bus to and from the Marco Polo airport at the far end of the station approach ..good.

Room Tip: at the back of the hotel away from the station and bus routes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I rarely have negative things to say about my hotel stays but this turned out to be a bad choice. Yes, the location is prime. I was traveling by train throughout Europe so finding hotels in close proximity to train stations is ideal. This property is directly across from the station, which will also take you into Venice. So the location, complimentary breakfast (which was very good), and the free wifi were about the only positives.

Thin walls (there isn't anything that can't be overheard), ants in the restroom, hard mattresses and I hate to admit that I found a couple of bedbugs the morning of departure.... all made this a stay I'd like to forget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsgfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Mestre appears to be the feeder town for getting access to Venice and so with the train station right across the road, it is ideally situated. Rooms are well appointed and very clean, very professional staff albeit a bit stiff and in the restaurant the staff seem to pick their favourites and concentrate on them. Answer is to chat them up in your best Italian or English if you feel so inclined.

Room service menu was somewhat limited with paninos and a salad but managed to fill me up. Breakfast is typical wwith masses of tourists thronging for the buffet meal. I ate once in the restaurant and the fried fish was excellent.

Mestre itself doesnt have much to offer but if its Venice you are after then this is the vase for your adventure I would suggest.

Room Tip: All good but suspect any with a view to the main street might be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boab64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were so glad we decided to stay here, literally right across the street from the train station as many people have already said. We have a 1 year old so it was a much better option than trying to find a hotel through all the canals and bridges in the middle of Venice somewhere for 3 times the price and less stars. The train takes 10 minutes to get to Venice for about 1 euro and once you get a hang of finding the right train to get on it is a breeze. Our room was very clean and many one of the biggest hotel rooms we have ever had in Europe. Huge bathroom and great breakfast in the morning. The staff was always very friendly and helpful even thought we probably asked them questions that they get asked 100 tines a day such as how to get to the airport... buying the tickets at the front desk was very convenient. The walls were very thick and we never heard any noise coming from the hallway, which is nice when you have a child that wakes up easily. I'm not sure what else I can say about this hotel that hasn't already been said, except that you won't be disappointed. This hotel would be a 4 star hotel by American standards, we stayed in a "4 star" hotel in Pompeii before this and it definitely wouldn't have been 4 stars in America, this hotel would.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appleseoul1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Parking offered at reasonable rate in secured car park (10 euro per 24 hours). Directly opposite train station but with no noise for ten min ride into Venice. Good quality rooms and friendly welcoming reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived by train to mestre and literally we just had to cross the street to arrive to the hotel. metro and bus station in front to the hotel you can buy tickets in the hotel 1,30 each way. Very comfortable and spacious room with a lovely bathroom. Modern looking hotel. Also great breakfast. Huge supermarket 2 blocks from hotel. And many dining options. If I went back to Venice I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizipanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having read reviews saying 'you have to stay in Venice', we were a bit apprehensive about having booked a hotel in Mestre. However, our concerns quickly disappeared when we realised a) how lovely the hotel is and b) how easy it is to get to Venice from the hotel! A 2 minute walk to the station. €1.20 each way to Venice on an 8 minute journey. We saw lots of tourists struggle with their suitcases around Venice but we had had such an easy journey from the airport to our hotel in Mestre, we were pleased with our choice!
Clean, large rooms.
Good continental breakfast.
Food in the bistro downstairs was also good.
Definitely would recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aimsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#15 of 57 in Mestre
2,229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#12 of 57 in Mestre
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 57 in Mestre
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 57 in Mestre
1,430 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#3 Family Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $101 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing