We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first time traveling to venice! After doing much research and seeing when we got there, staying anywhere along the water was just too expensive for us! They send out laundry, cleaning etc. making the prices of those hotels unbelievably high! On our way from the airport, I was a little apprehensive of the area! I didn't realize exactly where our hotel was positioned, so as we arrived from the airport all I could think was this isn't venice!!!! However one stop away on the train from mestre station put us exactly where we needed to be! It was nice to come back and avoid all the crowds in the high touristy areas! The hotel itself was clean- they even checked us in early after a very long flight! They were so helpful and gave us directions for everything we needed to do! The hotel was truly such an amazing find! Breakfast was perfect, room was perfect and I would go back again in a heart beat!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura128000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have to say that I have never liked Venice's Marco Polo Airport. Transferring to the city is either horrendously expensive (water taxi at about $150) or mind-numbingly boring, lengthy and inconvenient. I keep promising myself to fly to Verona and take the train or find some other way to avoid that transit to / from Marco Polo.

Travelling back from further south for my return flight from Marco Polo, I decided to try leaving my train one stop short of Venice's main station (Santa Lucia) and stay the night near Mestre station: then board the direct bus (€6) from Mestre to Marco Polo next morning. We picked the Hotel Bologna and would gladly do the same again.

It's a little funky (in a nice way). The rooms are small and pretty basic but comfortable. The bathrooms are almost as big as the bedrooms and are really quite magnificent. We had dinner and were very glad that we did.

The Hotel Bologna matches and beats many larger, more expensive hotels in every category but the bedrooms. The bedrooms get a 'B'. You can sleep there fine but it's a little disappointing (until you see your huge marble bathroom). Do try the food.

Room Tip: I don't think that there are any particularly good rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived, slightly rattled, from Rome. There had been an unpleasant incident with gypsies, and a scary theft in our first-class train car, and we were glad to get off the train. The hotel is literally just across the street from the train station. This hotel is misleading - a very ordinary entrance and design. BUT everything changes when you meet the staff. A lovely young woman named Jessica checked us in, and answered all our questions very patiently. (How do we get to Venice? How often are the trains? What about getting to the airport tomorrow? etc.). She assisted us with everything, sold us train and bus tickets, and smiled throughout , as if it really was a pleasure. We headed to our room and every staff member we met greeted us warmly. We went into Venice to say good-bye to the city, and returned later in the evening. We had a bottle of white wine to enjoy, but remembered too late that we had misplaced our corkscrew in our travels. We asked at the desk and they referred us to the bar. The bartender was wonderful - he not only opened our wine, but placed it in an ice-bucket with water and ice (and a white towel) and provided two beautiful wine glasses as well. We had a very comfortable room, very quiet, very clean. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Check-out was smooth and efficient. We left our luggage and went for a walk, returning to have an excellent simple lunch (and again, very pleasant service) at the bistro before heading to the airport. This hotel was excellent for us - the staff made it shine!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a great hotel and a perfect choice near Venice. The hotel itself was very clean and modern. The location suited us fine. We took the train into Venice daily and it took only 8-10 minutes to get to Venice SL station. From Venice SL station you can catch a vaporetto or even walk to the sights - super convenient and easy. There were plenty of trains and we never had to wait long for a train. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Venice but not wanting to pay the ridiculous prices to stay in Venice proper. This hotel is a great alternative and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The location is great. Directly across from the train station means you can be from the hotel to the heart fo Venice in less than 20 minutes for just a few dollars. The hotel was clean and had all the basics with a somewhat unique, fun, modern decor. Our room was very smoky though. Be sure to request non-smoking if you don't want that.

Area around the hotel is nothing special, but does have a few decent meals. Perfectly friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BlueTraveller711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location across from the train station. We arrived at 3AM and were easily able to walk across the street to the hotel. We only stayed one night *(less than 12 hours actually) before heading into Venice. The room was comfortable and the bathroom huge (large shower but no tub). The room included the buffet breakfast which was decent. For our purposes this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A simple hotel, clean, very good breakfast and a great location just in front of train station. In 20 minutes you are inside Venice in the Great Canal. Tip: have dinner in Venice as the options in Mestre are few and not so good. The hotel sells the train tickets to Venice at same price, so you don´t need to take the line in the station. Good value for money option if you don´t want to spend in the expensive hotels in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RodrigoRibeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,338 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#11 of 58 in Mestre
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $104 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing