We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well situated but noisy”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is well situated. It is few steps from Mestre train station and buss stops for all main lines and is linked to airport with busses and shuttles. Therefore it is very convenient to stay in Mestre and to do business/conferences in Venice. The hotel staff is polite and highly professional. Price is affordable. Rooms are clean and simple.

What is bad: first it is very noise place, as main city transport lines are passing by, the hotel/rooms and furniture starts tremble after each buss, early morning. The breakfast is far away from standards for 4 star hotel - no any vegetables, very limited choice of fruits.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room not facing main streets, especially "via Piave". All city transpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterS3592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    911
    160
    31
    22
See reviews for
453
1,070
70
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice an simple hotel very well located just in front of the railway station and the Bus Station. Quite razonable value for money.Very nice staff. The "public" areas are quite small. The rooms are very simple and funcional. The floor of the badroom were worm what was great. for this time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge_Guedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is situated on the mainland opposite the train station, which is a 10 minute train ride to Venice. The hotels decor was very modern, clean and pleasant. Check in was swift and the staff were polite ans spoke English. The room was a good size and cleaned well. Breakfast was buffet style consisting of meats, cheese, cereal toast, pastries, scrammbled/boiled eggs and bacon, with a choice of orange or pineapple juice. Hot drinks needs to be ordered. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it always appeared to be busy with travellers and locals.
My only downside was that we were sleeping above the kitchen and it was very noisy. We were usually woken up by the maids moving the beds and walking around in rooms above us. Apart from this I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpacker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The area is a bit run down and the drive to the hotel I was thinking "What have I done??!!" I stayed on business and thought, I just should have gotten a better hotel (since I wasn't paying for it myself).

The inside of the hotel (room, decor, staff, food and bar) was a pleasant surprise. I must advise, if you don't request a non-smoking room you won't get one. There is a special wing dedicated to non-smoking rooms. Most hotels I stay in are non-smoking. After quickly realizing my error, I called down to the front desk and the immediately remedied the situation.

The mini-bar is expensive...just go down the the Bistro bar...alcohol is very reasonable. You must have some Proseco or a Spritz. Also, eating in the restaurant was amazing. The wait staff is AMAZING....very service oriented and the food out of this world. I stayed 2 nights and had both tasting menus.

The internet speed was okay for Skyping, but there was a 30 second delay in video and voice, but it still worked.

The front desk staff was also very friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. If you have never been to Venice, get advice from them and buy your tickets here. You can charge the cost to your room, pay cash or credit card. You can either take the train, shuttle or cab to the airport. Shuttle is only 6 Euro, train less than that, and cab is 35 Euro (or 45...I don't remember...I took the shuttle).

The little cafe across the street is very affordable (if you are on a budget) and has GREAT Italian food.

The breakfast at the restaurant was okay. It had a lot of choices. The bread and pastries were not as good as the other Italian hotels that I stayed in during my two weeks on business, however the espresso was great and it was included in the price of the room.

There are also two laptops in the lobby...for anyone to use....30 min at a time.

I will definitely go back and stay when I come back this year to Venice on Holiday.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room if you do not smoke!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was a Godsent, and if we ever have a chance to visit Venice again, this is where we are staying, 100% guaranteed. This was actually the best Best Western we stayed at during our entire trip through 5 cities in Europe.

We arrived in Mestre at 3a.m. with absolutely no gameplan. The first thing we saw off the train was this Best Western. When we came in, a friendly concierge greeted us and checked us into an available room at a discounted rate, since half the night was already over. They also offered a late checkout. The room was spectacular -- everything is new and sparkling clean. The atmosphere was awesome, the shower felt so luxurious after an 8 hour trip on a wabbly old train! The bed was very comfortable, and we actually ended up having a good nights sleep even though we went to bed so late.

In the morning we went down to a yummy yummy breakfast (included in the room rate!) with LOTS of tasty options. The hotel is literally accross the street from the train station. A ten minute ride on the train will get you to Venice every half an hour. The hotel let us keep our bag in one of their lockers for the day so we won't have to lug it around with us, and off we went to explore Venice. After that we got our bags and caught a train to Milan (leaves every 2 hours from Mestre).

This is the best option if you are going to Venice. Sucks that it won't show up in Venice reviews, but I'm super happy that we found it because we hope to return to Venice for a longer stay one day and now we know about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasiya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Since we didn't want to carry our luggage over the bridges in Venice and on crowded vaporettos, we decided to stay in Mestre. I recommend that to everyone who arrives by car, too since the hotel has its own parking for a fee.

Hotel is conveniently located just in front of the train station and bus stop, which takes you to Venice (bus nr. 2, price 1.3 € one way) in 10 minutes. Food store is a few meters down the road and so are several restaurants and pharmacies.

Staff was very friendly, particularly Mr. Federico. Breakfast was various and delicious, rooms are spacious and modern and so were bathrooms. There’s another TV speaker in the bathroom with a very good sound quality.

Mattress was firm which I really liked. Even though the room was warm enough, there were extra blankets in the wardrobe just in case. A water heater and a selection of teas and instant coffee were provided. An idea for the future - free bottle of water would be a nice touch.

Wi-fi was free and working all right but it could be faster.

The only downside was that room door were not sound proof and the "crack" between the door and the floor (see picture) made you hear all the noises from the corridor, especially because the floor at the corridor is covered with non-soft material that would suppress the noise. Nevertheless, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pepca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partaloa, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I arrived late in the evening to receive a warm welcome from the staff. The rooms are excellent, being modern, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Cable TV with International news channels. Wi-Fi available throughout, and 2 independant laptops for guests in the lobby. Good services are offered. Breakfast was typical fare suitable for most tastes. Whilst Mestre itself maybe looking a little tired around the main station area, this hotel is a gem. The staff are very helfpul and friendly. The history of this hotel goes back to 1911. Rebuilt twice, it now offers all the 4-star comforts for the tourist or business visitor. go to www.hotelbolgna.com for more information and photos. Well recommended. Unfortunately I was unable to take advantage of the renowned cuisine at Da Tura restaurant. Hotel is in a great location. Bistro and bar are well patronised by the local community, always a good sign.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing