We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Impressed”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was worried about staying here since it is right across from the Railway station (there is a McDonald's in the station). But, what an unexpected delight. Our room was just like the picture shows- it looks newly refurbished- laminate floors- big TV with CNN, CNBC, BBC (they show three stations with English shows- they were originally in English, but dubbed in Italian). The bathroom was huge- nice clean tub, a hot towel rack (you could dry your underwear really quickly). Nice grocery just down the street toward town. Breakfast buffet MUCH different than I was expecting - many kinds of pastries and croissants, many juices, scrambled eggs, salads, yogurt, cereals and of course, lots of coffee and milk.
Easy to get a bus 2 across the street to take you to Venice- and we were doubly glad we stayed in Maestre- the tides were high and the tourists there were wading to their knees with luggage. It is a very confusing city- we would have never located our hotel there.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot- 136- nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    911
    160
    31
    22
See reviews for
453
1,070
70
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at best western because we found that hotel price in Venezia is not making sense. So we decided to stay in Mestre right across the train station.
Only 10 mins away from Venezia by train which is very good. We bought the train ticket (vaporetto ticket is also available) at the reception which means you dont have to queue. Train cost fr mestre to venezia inly eur 2.
Very spacious bedroom and bathroom, almost 3x the size of our hotel in amsterdam n paris. The room os newly renovated and ac/heater worked perfectly.
Price at eur 170, the room worth every cent we pay. Definitely going back again someday.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mizzkepik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We needed a hotel close to Venice and the Mestre railroad station after our cruise. This hotel worked well and the price was reasonable. After leaving our ship, we took the bus from the Piazzale Roma (the main Venice transportation hub) to Mestre RR station and found the hotel right across the street. The room was clean and large enough, with a nice bathroom. Free internet and substantial breakfast included. Very helpful front desk staff. We were able to leave some of our luggage while picking up a rental car at the RR station for several days driving in Italy. On our return, we stayed an extra night at the Bologna and then took a taxi to the airport for about 20 Euros.

Room Tip: If you don't like the first room they show you, ask to see another one. Our second one was much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We opted to stay out of Venice itself after staying there on a previous occassion and finding it not only to be expensive but poor quality for what you paid. After coming off a cruise we were also thinking about the best way we could get to the airport when we were due to leave. So we decided to stay on the mainland at the Best Western Bologna which we thought would be easier to get to from where the cruise ship docked and close to the Mestre Train Station to get to the ariport. We weren't sure if this was the right decsion to stay there but we were very glad we did. The hotel was right next to the bus stop which brought us in from the ship and we consequently found out that it was easier to get to the airport with another bus which left in the same place.

Location wise the hotel was great for getting in and out of Venice itself. A ten miniute bus ride brought us into Venice and from there we were able to catch the Vaporetto all round the place.

As far as the hotel itslef was concerned we stayed in room 456 which was on the tp floor. The room was spacious and clean and everything we needed or wanted. Our airconditioning was a bit noisy while sleeping but not bad enough to keep us awake. The breakfast was only okay but our expectations are pretty high coming from Australia. Compared with what we would have had to have paid in Venice itself the room represented good value.

Unless you've got money to burn stay here and not in Venice itself.

Room Tip: Possibily would ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iaraks@gmail.com
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It´s second time we stay in this hotel,, returning from a cruise in the
Mediterranean.
This time, a good surprise - I´ve got a renewed room.
Large, modern, great bathroom and bed, it worthed every cent.
It is located in front of railstation, turning it very easy to get to Venice
station Santa Luccia.
Breakfast included, great quality.
Besides it has a restaurant and a bistro.
And we got very easily to Marco Polo airport.
I would return to this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a renewed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in the BW in Mestre in October based on TA reviews and was not disappointed. The convenience, the price, the quality of the rooms the food in the Datura restaurant and bistro, made it an excellent choice. We ate a huge breakfast every morning (included) and walked 1 minute to the train station, hopped a train for the 10 minute ride and were in Venice before the crowds. On return we ate in the Datura bistro which happened to be our best meals during our 3 week Italian vacation! The hotel sells train tickets and vaporetto tickets and 12, 24 and 36 hour vaporetto passes at the front desk - so convenient. The vaporetto passes included the busses into Venice so we decided to bus in one day - big mistake; crowded like I have never seen before. Train is much easier.

The front desk crew were so helpful in advice about getting into Venice, getting around Venice and other sights to see. The room we stayed in was a suite so it was like 1 and a half rooms (large bedroom and a sitting/work area). A small mini bar/fridge was in the room so we could store some food we bought at the grocery store around the corner. Bathroom was huge. Free WiFi was a great bonus. Very clean, modern looking, wood floors. We felt very safe in Mestre even when returning at night from Venice.

Very easy to get to the hotel from Marco Polo airport; 6 euros (bought at the ACTV desk in the airport), hop on the bus and it stops about 100 m from the hotel just past the train station and a 3 minute walk to the front door.

When we return to Venice, would stay here again no questions asked.

Room Tip: ask for a suite facing the courtyard as it is a little bit quieter than the rooms facing the strett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

9/29/12 - The BW Bologna/Mestre meets it's high rating for a reasonably priced hotel serving Venice. Across the street from the Venice/Mestre rail station (Venice has 2 stations, the first being in the town of Mestre on the mainland side of the bridge), it is much cheaper than hotels in Venice itself and allows arguably easier access the cruise port. Don't be put off by the initial appearance. The hotel is small, clean, comfortable, and has great service/friendly helpful receptionists. (We are not 'budget' travellers). It's in house restaurant is rated one of the highest in Mestre.
Access to Venice itself is a 2 Euro 5 minute train ride that seems to run every 15 to 20 minutes, ending at the Venice "Santa Lucia" terminal (the second Venice station), a short walk from the Piazza Roma (only square in venice accessible by road) and close to the cruise boat terminal.

I would readily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice, for whatever reason. Hotels in venice itself look a little seedy in general, and other than walking, the only way to move about is by water 'buses' (1 hour or 18 hour tickets - might have a 2 day or such pass - can't remember).

Note to cruise ship pax: the hotel will arrange a limo ride to the ship terminal for 35 Euro's. Unless you're on a budget, taking the train with large suitcases would be a challenge as it requires another 'port shuttle tram' from Piazza Roma to the ship terminal area, then a fairly hefty walk to the ship/check-in building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mogarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing