We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the right spot...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel at the right spot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Best Western Bologna is ideal for those people that (for varius reasons) want to stay on the Mestre mainland and easily commute to Venice daily. Both the train station and the bus stop to and from Venice are just accross the street.

I totally recommend it for many reasons. The hotel's internal design has resulted into modern and functional common spaces as well as spacious and elegant guest-rooms. Such an eye-for-the-detail (yet not actually for luxury) is uncommon even in 5* hotels.

The surprisingly capacious guest room was thoroughly clean when we entered, but the daily house keeping was significantly less thorough. A quick bed making, a superficial swabbing of the bathroom floor and emptying out the carbage. This is the point where a bit more effort would really count...

The breakfast is simple (hot breakfast items are limited to fried bacon and scrambled eggs) but everything is so fresh. Do not miss the croisants, especially the one with the cream filling. The best French coffee I had in Venice is served at the table, for free.

The a-la-carte restaurant was closed (!!!!!!!!) for lunch or dinner, but we had twice our dinner at the hotel's Bistro. Food in Venice is more often bad than good, but the Bistro did serve good meals for fair prices. On the first night, we were served by Daniel who was very friendly, polite and professional. The service on our second visit was adequate but rather indifferent.

Reception staff are very helpfull and polite. Ready to give you advice on where to go and how to move around. Get a map and buy your tickets (train, bus or vaporetto) from the hotel reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    880
    157
    31
    21
See reviews for
430
1,032
69
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My daughter and I just spent a very enjoyable week staying at the Bologna Mestre. It's in a great location, close to the Treviso Airport bus stop (if flying via Ryanair), and opposite both the bus stops and railway station for Venice and beyond. Service in the hotel was first class, reception staff were very helpful and the rooms were spotless. Breakfast, which was included in the price, presented a wide choice of options. Beds were very comfortable and gave us some of the best nights' sleep we have ever had. Mind you it was a constant 34 degrees heat during our stay so I suppose we were whacked out! We were very grateful for the air con. We would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Venice or its surrounding area. It would have been nice to have had somewhere to sit and relax outside, other than the outside bar area, since it was so hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice hotel, modern, clean. Literally 2 min walk to train station into Venice proper. Much cheaper than Venice hotels and as trains are literally every 10 mins day and night it's worth saving some money for the 15 min journey.

Travelled with a 3 month old and the hotel staff were excellent in sorting a cot and making sure we could sterilise bottles etc..... Even got a teddy bear given!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloconnor0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, 2 rooms . We traveled by train in and out, so this was very convenient as just across from station. Rooms are good. Service good. Breakfast was good. The area was good to walk around. Free Wifi . A few English channels on TV. This is a good place to go to Venice for one day for budget travelers like us. Was a bit worried about noise as so close to station but no noise from that. Our room was next to side street so bus noise to midnight. That's the only problem we had but inside rooms might be ok. Overall we are very happy.

Room Tip: Away from side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandySydneyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraiburgo, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is clean, modern, well kept and surely doesn´t look it´s age (supposed to be a hundred years old). There is a parking (not free and uncovered) available, if you drive down the Via Pave road you must enter right about 30m before reaching the hotel. from there one can walk towards the reception without having to go back out to the road.
The room is very comfortable and well equipped. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Just cross the road to Mestre train station where one can buy a cheap ticket to Venice island (Sta Lucia station).

Room Tip: Summer is very hot, I guess the higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashokthadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

the hotel has been madeover and it is so much better for it. we had a huge family room, Breakfast is superb with a great range to choose from. Over the road from the station and only 10 mins on train from Grand Canal - whats not to like?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

By reading the trip advisor reviews, we decided to stay here instead of staying in the centre of Venice. The hotel was great. Very clean and modern. The breakfast was good. The hotel is located across the road from Mestre train station which is very convinient. Train to Venice goes every 10 minutes and it is a 10 minute ride. You can purchase the train tickets in the hotel. Some of the staff were a bit rude while others were very friendly. The streets around the hotel do get a bit busy, so it is not very quiet but the noise is ok. I would recomend staying here rother than in Venice, as it is much more convinient and cheaper.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
1.7 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing