We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but!!!”
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location but!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good location, 10 minutes walk from the train station max, bus stop directly outside across the road which takes you into Venice (5/10 minute journey on 4L bus), same bus stops literally in front of the hotel on the way back. Room was clean and quiet, drinks at the bar reasonable, 5euros for a beer. If you want to get a bus to the airport then the stop is a fair walk (10 mins) straight down the road on the same side again as the hotel, so still convenient.
Down side, as mentioned the hotel reception staff can be a bit abrupt, which is fine but they do seem to provide a minimum of information. The hotel has free WiFi but only if you log on with a Facebook account and add a like every hour!!! If you don't have a facebook account then you can not even log on to set up an account. No way around this other than to pay or find free wifi elsewhere etc. Breakfast was a mess, came down at 8am, lots of tables free but none had been cleared, food was ok but needed stocking up, just poor management. So great location but let down by a few irritating things.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    391
    303
    115
    121
See reviews for
216
540
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Travel Zoo deal booked from the UK. As other reviewers have written, the hotel is in a good location to zip into central Venice by bus. Rooms are a good size and were clean. There were a good choice of foods for breakfast.
However, our trip to Venice was somewhat spoiled by the dismissive and unhelpful Reception staff. We had travelled in from Rome, the staff at the hotel we stayed at in Rome could not be more helpful in terms of explaining maps, local public transport, places to eat, etc. However, the Reception staff at the Ambasciatori gave us the distinct impression that they did not particularly want to help tourists find their way about their city; any questions were answered with the scantest of detail and with no thought as to what other information we may find helpful. This was very surprising given that the hotel is a large hotel in a main World-heritage city that must receive thousands of visitors a year, many of whom do not speak Italian. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwigletandPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here two nights. Good location if you are travelling on your own. We were part of a tour group.We were happy with the room, though the air condition is lowered so it was quite warm. There is lot of choice in the buffet breakfast. We had Wifi, not great but to update email was fine. The room was clean and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

WiFi is not free as advertised at the hotel or on any website! Parking is not free either, it costs 10€. The rooms however are good European size and clean.

It is also easy to get to from the highway and a short drive to the port.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Unable to review this hotel as we were bumped into their sister hotel next door.However across the road was a bus which takes 10 mins to whizz you into tourist part of Venice. Bus drops off right by the terminal for the water buses and you can get anywhere from there.

Room Tip: Dont get bumped into next door hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were a party of 4 going on a cruise and fancy staying a night in Venice before our cruise, our travel agent recommended this hotel. I will admit I was a bit wary of staying here after reading the previous reviews, but I have to say all 4 of us agreed that it was a lovely hotel to stay in, very handy for Venice and we would stay again.
Our room wasn't ready as we arrived in on an early flight from Ireland, we had coffee at the bar area and found reception staff and bar staff very friendly and helpful. They advised us that we could buy tickets for the bus into Venice and the water taxis. Unfortunately we didn't buy the tickets there and then and by the time we decided that we wanted same they were sold out. We were able to buy our tickets down the street about 10 mins away and got a chance to walk around Mestre and found a nice place to have lunch and a drink at very reasonable prices.
Our rooms in the hotel were on the 6th floor and were very clean & tidy with a good sized bathroom.
Breakfast next morning was what you would expect - plenty of bread rolls, cheese, cold meats, yogurts. There was also eggs and rashers if you wanted same. Again no complaints.
Our travel agent had pre-arranged a car to pick us up and bring us to the port for our cruise but they let us down, but the receptionist was very helpful and tried to contact them and with no success arranged for a local taxi to pick us up.
All in all we found this hotel great and if we were to visit Venice again we would stay here especially for its location. We didn't use the train station but the bus and water taxis were great and easy to find your way around.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on 6th floor and couldn't fault them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Excellent hotel at a great price, the best value on our entire trip.
Excellent breakfast and the staff is the best. You take a bus crossing the street and you will be in Venice in 10 minutes !! Ask for newer rooms !!

Room Tip: Buy your bus tickets to Venice, at the front desk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeamiell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,097 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Corso del Popolo 221, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambasciatori Mestre is a stroll from Mestre train station and few minutes drive to Venice Piazzale Roma. It is a perfect place for both a city break or a longer stay. Hotel Restaurant's speciality is local cuisine, international cuisine on demand. Bar has a full list of cocktails, served in the elegant lounge. Conference hall and meeting room are equipped with up-to-date communications facilities. Fitness center is equipped with gym's modern cardio-fitness equipment. The hotel provides a private parking on payment (limited car spaces, not-bookable) or a conventioned garage. The hotel is served by lifts (elevators), shared spaces and rooms have air conditioning and heating. Rooms are Non-smoking and soundproof. All the rooms are equipped with minibar, TV with satellite channels, telephone, safety deposit box. WiFi broadband connection is available. Room service and buffet breakfast are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Mestre
Hotel Ambasciatori Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing