We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus stop to Venice opposite the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Mestre
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bus stop to Venice opposite the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in one of the recently modernised rooms with a flat screen tv, nice bathroom and nice room. Quality of the room was excellent, not all the rooms have been modernised. You have to visit the pizza bar across the road, but it only opens in the evening. Venice is ten minutes on the bus from the bus stop across the road from the hotel. Beware on checkout the hotel will ask you to pay for a Venice tax of 5 euro per night per person, needless to say I was not happy.
Don't use the bar or the hotel restaurant, they really will rob you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    317
    225
    94
    88
See reviews for
164
414
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brinklow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were allocated this hotel as a free stay before our cruise,despite a nightmare journey to Venice,including rip off Italian taxi drivers.
The hotel was good,reception staff very helpfull,our room was of a good size and the aircon worked really well.
We slept soundly and in the morning we went to the breakfast room and were pleasantly surprised by the standard and selection.
Check out procedure was quick and painless despite having to pay TOURIST TAX????
All in all we found Italy a scam from start to finish!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrinklowSello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed with a tour group for one night in October 2012. The room was rather dark and small for two and the furnishings were old, dark and dated. The carpet and bedspreads need to be replaced and look very worn and dirty. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate. However, there was no hot water. I suppose when all rooms are occupied they run out of hot water. Our room and others on the floor experienced an electrical outage twice that night. When we called the front desk someone quickly came up to reset the breakers or replace a fuse. We did not use the restaurant or bar. Breakfast was good and served in a separate room for tour group guests. Would not recommend or use this hotel again if given a choice based on the room and lack of hot water. It was the worst hotel of all the ones used on this 18 day tour...at least our room was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citygirlHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

nice, comfortable quiet hotel. close to Venice. loved the bed. breakfast was very nice.
service was standard. You can use the bas to reach the Venice, it takes 20min from Mestre to Venice. Station is just accross the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel in early September. It is an easy 10 minute bus ride to Venice. But, this hotel is a relic which needs to be razed and rebuilt. Most likely, that is the plan because there have been no renovations or updates in years. The bathrooms are tiny, small shower with awkward glass doors that do not close allowing water to soak the floor. The bed spreads and draperies look decades old. This is a place to avoid if you are looking for a clean comfortable place to stay. We had breakfast and dinner here too; very average. Not good. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler32814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T, Direttore at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
our Hotel Ambasciatori is one of the best product of Venice mainland, appreciated by national and international clients that choose it for service and quality. We use to improve permanently renovations and updating technology like you can read from the other comments in this page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After driving through torrent of rain arriving near Venice, we loked for an overnight stay. After travelling round and round for a while we came across this hotel. Only 1 room left which was a junior suite, breakfast included. What a room, you could hold a reception in it, fabulous. From the huge bed, tele, shower and lounge. Very luxurious. Breakfast was very good and all this for a reasonable cost. Only fault no atmosphere in bar but we put this down to the fact that most peeps were on their way to somewhere else just like us. Also Italy shuts early...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BritishJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I reserved a double room of 19 m with Bathtube. On arrival I was given a 13sqm room, micro Shower in not really good condition (old furniture, shower with mold, dirty carpet).
The explanation of the front office is that the rooms offered in www.booking.com do not always reflect the rooms of the hotel. Thanks for the info but now give me the room I paid for as the Room they gave me was sold in Booking as Single Room!
Unfriendly staff at the desk. do not ever say good morning/ afternoon even if you're the only customer in the lobby. They prefer to ignore you and send text messages with the cell phone ( Female Staff, Afternoon Shift).
East European staff ( day and Night Shift)in general never say a word or greets.Guests are totally ignored.
Services ( bar & Restaurant) Time schedule exposed at the Front desk and inside the elevators did not match with those displayed in the rooms.
At 10 pm I had to ask 3 times to the front desk to call a waiter for service at the bar. In the end I was served by the restaurant waiter who was passing them by accident. The lobby bar was suppose to close at 11 pm but it closed at 9:45 pm. Any reason as few Guest were still seating there?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 57 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bologna Hotel - Mestre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apogia Sirio Venice
Apogia Sirio Venice
#25 of 57 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#16 of 57 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 57 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Corso del Popolo 221, 30172, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Mestre
Ambasciatori Hotel Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing