We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unless You're An Incorrigible Romantic, Stay in Maestre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tritone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tritone
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unless You're An Incorrigible Romantic, Stay in Maestre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Couldn't agree more with the earlier reviewers. Unless you really like being ripped off, it is much much better to stay in Maestre and get the 10 minute train into Venice. First you'll pay a fraction of the price for a much better room. Secondly you won't have to lug your bags on and off a waterbus (or pay through the nose for a water taxi). Also the area around the hotel is full of nice eateries which are much more reasonable that the tourist rip-off joints in the city itself. Okay, you won't have a room that overlooks the lagoon or the Grand Canal, but you'll have lots of money left over to enjoy yourself.

I stayed in an executive room. Nice, big TV. But a lot of emply wasted space. They could easily put in a sofa and some easy chairs in the areas which is well, empty. Location is perfect, right next to the train station. Breakfast was okay with the worst coffee I have ever tasted. But it's free too, so mustn't grumble.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    577
    127
    20
    8
See reviews for
297
622
48
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for a one night stay as we were getting the train to Verona the following morning, and I didn’t see the point in paying Venice prices for one night.

The hotel is across the road from Mestre Station and a 2 minute walk from where the AVTO shuttle bus (Marco Polo airport) stops. You step of the bus and turn right and walk towards to train station.

The reception staff were very helpful with directing us to Venice and where to go. As we arrived earlier than check in time (I did notify the hotel), they offered us drinks and croissants whilst we waited for our room. We were happy to wait which only took about 10 minutes and were thankful that we could check in early.

The décor in the room is a little dated but spacious and clean. I was pleasantly surprised to have dressing gowns and slippers in the room. Breakfast was fine with the usual pasties, toast, bacon, eggs so we filled up.

We ate dinner in the bistro at the Best Western hotel which was nice and recommended.

As for getting into Venice, we were going to get the 24hr pass for 18e each but the machine wasn’t working. That was lucky for us as we ended up getting the train (10mins) which cost 2.40 each! As soon as you walk out of Santa Lucia (Venice station), walk over the main bridge and you get signs for the Rialto Bridge and then S. Marks square. It’s good walk if you don’t mind walking, and a good way to see all the little shops and streets.
I didn’t make this our main base for our Venice holiday as I wanted to stay on the island. However it is more affordable for those that are unable to stay on the island, easy to get into Venice and a clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_K_NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first stop in Europe after a red eye from Montreal. Quick and easy 1 euro shuttle from airport to Mestre train station (buy it from a kiosk machine at the baggage pick up) and the hotel is literally across the street from the Mestre station!! For such a central hotel it was classy and clean. Our favourite parts were the easy 2 euro train rides into Venice and the free wifi that actually stayed connected! (we had some difficulty with wifi throughout the rest of our trip!) Would definately stay there again if visiting Venice.

Room Tip: It was my husbands first trip to europe. Rooms are small, but typical for europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got off the night train from Vienna at 3am, walked across the road, and were at the hotel within 5 minutes, leaving our fellow travellers to Venice standing bewildered on the platform. At half the price of a hotel in Venice, with trains and buses running every 10 minutes just over the road, why wouldn't you stay here? There is even a self-service laundrette a short walk away.

Our room was a tiny bit cramped with twin beds, but fine, the air conditioning worked well (the fan was a little loud, but didn't stop us sleeping), we heard no sound from the other rooms, breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and professional. The hotel does look a little dated and worn around the edges but everything was spotlessly clean. The one real negative was the lack of power points - only one, at the small desk - is inadequate for modern travellers with camera, phones, tablets and laptops all needing to be recharged. And the power point doesn't work when you take out the card that operates the lights, meaning you leave something in to charge while you are out of the room, only to return to find it hasn't charged at all.

Room Tip: Our room was 4th floor at the side of the hotel and we had no noise from the train or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were a family of 5 adults and 1 teen, staying in 3 rooms for 3 nights in July. It was hot and aircon worked very well. Extremely convenient with the bus stop to Venice (10 minute ride) across the street as well as the train station to Venice or other cities (Verona, Vicenza, Padua etc), Rooms are clean, quiet, modern and a decent size. Excellent buffet breakfast. The staff were extremely helpful with directions, advice re restaurants and arranging taxi/van to join cruise ship. There are several reasonable and good restaurants nearby. Bus from the airport dropped us off across the street. Half the price of Venice and frankly, an escape from the summer crowds in venice proper. All of us would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very convenient location to use as a base for Venice sightseeing. We stayed here two nights post cruise. The bus to Piazelle Roma is right outside the door, and the train station is across the street. The hotel is perfectly fine..very nice helpful staff, clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast buffet that was included in our rate. This is a much less expensive area to stay in for Venice sightseeing, but obviously not as magical as staying in the historic area. However for us the price, excellent transportation options and ease of getting to the airport for our departing flights were a big draw. This hotel fit our needs perfectly. There are some businesses and restaurants within a walking distance, but it is not a very scenic or charming area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 kids pre cruise....the hotel staff are excellent,very friendly and helpful . The rooms are slightly dated but spotlessly clean.
Very easy and very cheap to jump on the train one stop into venice...
Ok you don't stay in the centre of venice but don't let that put you off.
A decent breakfast and one or two great local restaurants near by in case you don't want to go back into venice in the eve..., try " da beeping venesian"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#16 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#11 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tritone

Property: Hotel Tritone
Address: Viale Stazione 16 | Directly Across the Road From the Venice Mestre Railway Station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Mestre
#7 Business Hotel in Mestre
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#8 Family Hotel in Mestre
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mestre
Hotel Tritone Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing