We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”
Review of Hotel Tritone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having visited Venice many times over the years and having stayed in a great variety of accommodation, I was looking for a good-value comfortable base in the aqua alta season while introducing a friend to the delights of the city. People can be scathing about Mestre, but it has a great deal to offer - excellent communications, good honest restaurants serving delicious food at reasonable places, a surprising medieval core well worth a visit. And, of course, you won't get your feet wet if the tides are high. The hotel is functional, scrupulously clean and the pleasant staff are most helpful. Bedrooms are comfortable, linen can be changed every day if you wish (but of course that would be a wasteful indulgence), bathrooms are well appointed with good-quality toiletries. Breakfast is plentiful. The views are dismal, wi-fi coverage can be eccentric and sound-proofing could be improved, but it would be unreasonable to dwell on these minor points. Instead, take ear-plugs and avoid rooms ending with 11 above the 3rd floor if wi-fi is essential. We tried the three types of rooms on offer, the standard ones are perfectly adequate and it is not necessary to book a superior room, indeed the former are cosier and warmer. We were lucky enough to end up in suites and these were very good. Do take advantage of the airport transfers offered by the hotel €5 per person each way. Far better than using the crowded buses.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice rooms-you can believe in photos. Just accros the Mestre train station and public bus stop to Venice. Instead of staying in Venice down town, dark old hotel rooms and pay double price, I would definitely advice you to stay in this very nice hotel, you won't regret for sure. Breakfast is also very good. Hotel personnel is very polite and helpful. Reserve your room without any concern :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely superior room, free wifi either use desktops in lobby or your own equipment in your room, breakfast sets you up for the day. Quick easy travel to/from airport and in/out of Venice itself.
Nearby Chinese and italian restaurants good value and very nice meals.
Hotels room clean and well stocked with toiletries etc
Would happily go back again Very good value and fab staff especially Marika
Very convenient to both bus and rail services

Room Tip: Fifth floor and/or a superior room good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Priscilla1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you don't mind staying in Mestre instead of Venice itself, I recommend the Tritone. I spent 5 nights here in November 2012. I had an upgraded "Executive Room" which was quite large and had all the amenities I needed and more. I paid about $115 per night which included breakfast and WiFi. No way could I get a room like this in Venice for $115. WiFi worked fine and the breakfast was more than adequate. The bed was great. Also, the hotel was very quiet, although I don't think it was very full at this time of the year.

Transportation into Venice is a snap. I rode both the train and bus. The bus (the #2) is probably a little faster, but they are all crowded, standing room, and not much fun. The train takes a few minutes longer, and you have to navigate the train station, but the ride is much more pleasant. Plus you can take any train that is headed into Venice, including IC and EC express trains coming from different points in Europe. You buy the train tickets at a small snack bar in the train station, NOT from the TrenItalia ticket machines or from the train station counters. The fare is about 1,20 Euro each way. The bus is also OK, but I liked riding the trains more.

There are a few restaurants near the hotel that are decent, but remember that dinner doesn't start until 7 PM. If you are on a cheap-tastic vacation, you can buy sandwiches at a deli next door to the hotel, or at a store in the train station which also has other food. Also there is McDonald's in the train station.

There's another reason you may wish to consider Mestre other than just saving money. This time of the year (November), Venice could flood (Acqua Alta). If that happens, and you are staying on the island, it could be quite unpleasant. But if you stay in Mestre (which is always dry) you would have an easier time of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

You stay in Mestre because its cheaper than Venice. So you want easy access to Venice and the Tritone is ideal. Buses from the airports stop outside as do the buses too/from Venice, and you buy the tickets in a bar under the hotel (info in the folder in your room). Note they cram people on the buses at busy times with no maximum standing number. You are also opposite the railway station if arriving/leaving by rail.
Our room on the 5th floor was large, clean and the bed was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good quality and regularly refreshed.
We were happy with our choice.

Room Tip: It is quiet on the highere floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inner-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it to live up to the good reviews we read before we booked. The hotel is right next to the bus stop and the train station to get into Venice. We used the bus as it is included in the Boat travel pass. It takes about twenty minutes to get into the Venice bus station and then it is easy to get anywhere from there on the boats. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything you need. The breakfast was much better than we expected and even had warm food. The staff were friendly and as helpful as possible with information about the buses and hotel problems.
The hotel runs a shuttle to the airport that is cheaper than the airport bus. The airport bus was 6 and the hotel 5 Euros. It is very conveinient, as you can pick the time you want. We nearly got a return when we bought our ticket at the airport but was glad we didn't when we found out about the shuttle.
I would recommend this as an option rather than staying in Venice itself. We saw many people lost in the lanes in Venice with the suitcases.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for three days October 7 through 9, 2012. Train station is across the street for a 10 to 12 min. ride into Venice. I had what they called a single room on the 7th floor. Very clean. Bathroom appeared to have been recently updated. Very quiet room I thought was great for being across the street from the Train Station. Went for a walk each evening around Mestre and was surprised how quiet the streets were. Found a little Chinese restaurant around the corner for one night and it had great food, very reasonable priced. A very small Italian restaurant on second evening (only about 4 tables) Good food and very reasonable. Third evening another Italian restaurant which was right beside the BW Hotel about 1 block from the Tritone and had a great seafood meal. local beer and it was moderately priced but meal was great. All in all the Tritone is a great location, very pleasant front desk people and absolutely outstanding breakfast which is included in your room stay. Coffee could not be any fresher as it is made on the spot for each customer when they arrive. A little on the strong side but sure wakes you up in a hurry.
Well done to all those connected with the Tritone in making this a great stay.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room when I booked the hotel and I had no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pstcrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#15 of 58 in Mestre
443 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tritone

Address: Viale Stazione 16 | Directly Across the Road From the Venice Mestre Railway Station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Mestre
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#7 Business Hotel in Mestre
#8 Family Hotel in Mestre
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mestre
Hotel Tritone Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing