We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I agree with previous comments. First of all the staff is unpleasant, you will hear no thank you, please or good morning from reception staff (maids and breakfast room ladies are down to earth). The only double about our room was the bed. The room itself was so small that the TV was mounted to the ceiling and there was no fridge (I suspect it was single room fitted with bigger bed to get more money). You could not also open the suitcase on the floor. The bathroom was like a box and you could hear the sound of other people flashing toilets and it would sound like a vomit.
The breakfast was ok although coffee was like an acid, I am not sure if it was worth the money. The internet is expensive (5EUR per hour) and apparently hotel gives you first 15 minutes... that didn't happen to us. The car park is so small that you must leave the key at the reception (no good if you have rented car) so someone can move it during the day. If you drive, watch out as hotel signage directs you into the one way street against the traffic!
The hotel markets itself as a stylish which is a total lie, or maybe it was in late 70s when they opened. This is definitely not a 3 star hotel. The neighbourhood is rather scary so do not wonder at night.
Some positives, let's be objective, but not many: definitely the location - only short walk to the train station and a quiet location. The room was clean and the water was hot. Fresh towels every day. Aircondition.
Would I stay there again? Not really. Would I recommend it? Not really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_T_K4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    157
    193
    98
    99
See reviews for
103
270
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The only think good about this hostel is close to metro station.The staff with bold head fat man really like sarcastic to the guest.He laughed at me when i wore winter hat and groves in such a cold weather compare to my country in Asia!Also we book a twin room which only gave us small double room.Yes,the shower room is the bathroom which I think is the smallest shower in the world.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mestre hotels

Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Let me tell you something, this place was BAD.

So first off, its in the shadiest area imaginable. Honestly, I was terrified at night being around there. Dear god. I haven't felt that unsafe since I visited Detroit last year.

Then, when we walked in, the jerk at the counter was rude as hell, and condescending to boot. Oh, and if you get there before check-in, their bag storage is literally just a common-room right in the front. So yeah, anyone can walk in and take your stuff. Its ridiculous.

Oh, and the room? Smelled like old furniture and had tiling like a kitchen instead of a proper floor. The curtains didn't even close fully so if you're going to take a shower you better cover up, because the bathroom door is RIGHT in front of that window. "Why not just change in the bathroom?" Well, because its freaking TINY.

Oh, right, I forgot to mention that you could shower, use the sink, the toilet, and the bidet all at once because the bathroom is that small.. And wait.. The bathroom IS the shower. Yep, if you want to take a shower you better move all the toilet paper and towels outside because the ENTIRE BATHROOM IS THE SHOWER. Really? I paid enough to have a decent bathroom.

The walls were thin so we had the pleasure of hearing other people's pleasure all night, as well as screaming children and cars skidding around the corner.

If you have a family, or a girlfriend, or any sense at all, do NOT go to this hotel. The only good part is that its close to the train station so you could get the HELL out of that area as fast as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel was clean and tidy and a good base for visiting Venice.Mestre itself does not have much in the way of bars and restaurants and there is a green that you have to pass to get to the train station that undisirables seem to congregate on, but we did not have any problems.If you want a cheap place to stay for one or two nights it,s o.k.one other thing if you get the train when you buy your ticket you have to get it validated in a machine.Nobody told me and I was fined €60 by a ticket inspector

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is close to the bus & railway station to get to Venice, it's very clean, although the walls are very thin, the rooms are quite small and a bit run-down and the furniture is really old, spreading a strange smell (the bathroom was surprisingly large). Also the shower cabin is very small, but hot water runs immediately. A/C is also available. The breakfast was well worth the money, it included croissants, butter, jams, honey, ham, cheeses, cereals, fruit salad, juices, white and wholemeal bread, biscuits, teas, milk, yoghurt, coffe/cappuccino machine... plenty of choice! They have internet available (first 15 minutes are free) and it is available 24 hours a day in their computer room. All in all, it's a decent, clean place to sleep whilst in Venice. Also, there's a Chinese restaurant nearby and the food was great and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was here on a trip to Venice with my best friend over New Year 2011/12 and i was disgusted. It was in a really horrible area that you didn't feel safe walking in after dark. When we arrived (about 10pm due to our flight) we were booked into the wrong type of room. The guy on reception didn't have a clue where to move us to, and just started giving me random keys and made me go to several different rooms because he didn't know what type of rooms they were. They the next morning, the actual receptionist had the nerve to tell us we couldn't keep that room becuase it was booked and we were forced into two singles, which we had to pay EXTRA for!!! It was the most god awful place i've ever stayed. Even if your doing a budget holiday like us, spend the little extra cash to get something with better service and a working shower thats bigger than a cupboard!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The negative reviews caused me to be apprehensive re. this hotel. However, on arrival all staff were friendly and helpful, our room was clean, modern and a good size and the breakfast was good value. We stayed in a superior suite (by chance) and it was great. Good to be staying slightly out of Venice during peak season (it is in the red light district but frankly, who cares!). Good value overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building behind (a little more modern I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex-on-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#24 of 58 in Mestre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#48 of 58 in Mestre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roberta
Hotel Roberta
#43 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regit
Hotel Regit
#32 of 58 in Mestre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Property: Hotel Piave
Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing