We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Hotels I stayed in by far!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed December 21, 2013

On our recent trip to Italy we stayed at Hotel Plaza, Mestre, which is about 10-15 mins train trip away from beautiful Venice.
The Hotel is conveniently situated across the road from the Train Station. Apart from being extremely comfortable, I must admit that the staff is extremely curteous, efficient and friendly.
There's also a nice restaurant which is part of the hotel. Full Continental Breakfast is served on the 1st Floor which is absolutely to die for.
We chose to stay in one of their Deluxe Suites and I must admit that all the luxury comforts were there.
It is 4 Star Hotel... but it's easily comparable to a 5 Star Hotel without the 5Star Hotels Price tag.
We definitely would love to return to Hotel Plaza, Mestre. Thank you Lorena for making our stay a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank silvia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are driving to Venice... This is the place to park your car. The train station is right across the road and the train comes every 10 to 15mins. Ample parking space next door at a very affordable rate as they are linked to the hotel. Service is efficient and staff very polite. Even the chamber maids were very courteous as well as the staff at the reception counter and at the breakfast room.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We did not get the sleek new rooms that they advertise, but rather a dumpy, moldy room with sewer smell that greeted us as soon as we walked into the room. So I suggest that you make sure that you get a decent room because our room was so depressing. The very worst hotel room in Italy.

There are three advantages of staying here:
#1. Its proximity to the train station gives you easy access to the airport and Venice.

#2. Soul Kitchen: good food and service that is affordable.

#3 Free Wi-Fi

Reason not to stay: misleading advertising- very smelly room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Plaza is right across from the railway station and from what I could see looked as good as any of the other places to stay in the area. My room was a double and immaculately clean but the air con did not work very well and as the window could not be opened it got rather warm even on a cool winter night. I didn't go on about it as I was only there the night and could survive. I had dinner at their Soul restaurant which was good value and convenient: breakfast was very busy, awful looking scrambled egg and a lot of tables needed clearing so that was a big downside that needs rectifying.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is well located in front of the bus and train station. You can take the bus or the train to Venice and it will take only 15 minutes to get to Roma or Ferrovia Stations where you will be able to board the Vaporetto. You can purchase your daily or multi-days pass at the Café right next door to the Hotel. The room was a classic room, not too big, but enough to be comfortable. Very clean, a bathroom with shower, an in-room safe and mini-bar. If you use it, you fill in the form, checking the items you have taken and give it back to reception at check out for billing. Don't forget to put the key card in the slot if you want light in the room. There is an excellent complimentary breakfast with a vast choice of cold and hot food. Hotel and Limo service were prepaid. Check in and check out went smoothly. The staff is very helpful and considerate. I used their limo service from the airport to hotel/ hotel to ship. The cost was 35 and 30 Euros for a total of 65 Euros which is a little cheaper than a taxi in a large and clean Mercedes car with very courteous drivers. When we exited, after picking up our luggage at the Airport carrousel, the driver was already there with a sign bearing our names. I believe that using this hotel service is the fastest and safest way to get to destination. The drivers did not expect a tip but were mostly thankful when I gave them a 5 dollar bill. I found the hotel area safe and I did not see anything abnormal. I would definitely stay there again as it is very well located, convenient at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right outside Venice Mestere train station. Wonderful rooms. Comfortable bed. You can catch a bus to Venice island from right outside the hotel(every 15 min or so). It takes 10-15 min to reach Venice by bus. Or you can take train. In house restaurant is very good. Yummy food. Free WiFi. Good locality. Not many restaurants around but as I said the in house option is good. We had a good time. Will definitely recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gaurav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

When you go to Venice, you have several choices: either stay in the lagoon in a luxury hotel if you can afford it, or stay in Mestre in a very good hotel for 30% money (of course for badly romantics there are cheap options in the lagoon with filthy hotels). You have to spend less time with the travel to the lagoon. In this case Plaza is what you need. Right in front of the railway station and bus station. If come from the airport you can take the shuttle (and earn 50 euro by not taking a cab) that will leave you 200 m from the hotel.
Venice is 20 min. by bus or train, and you can jump directly in the water bus. You can buy tickets or several day pass directly from the reception. and earn precious time.
Everybody traveling to Venice by car must think that you can't park your car elsewhere but in very expensive parkings, if you can find a free place.
I won't spend your time with room and food quality, other reviewers have done it. Also if you need some food and drinks by your own, there are excellent supermarkets and small restaurants (even Chinese!) around the corner.
I also strongly advise you (if you had time) to take a one day trip by train to Verona and Vicenza .

Room Tip: Take a back view room. It is more quiet and every morning you can have a spectacular view of the Dol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#7 of 58 in Mestre
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $70 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing