We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms across from the train station”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old rooms across from the train station”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The only redeeming quality about this hotel is that it is directly across from the train station. That puts Venice within a short, cheap train ride away. Also available in the train station is a McDonalds and a convenience store.

The room I was in was quite old and in need of refurbishment. The area below the window was showing water damage and the lights in the room (all on the wall) were very harsh and unpleasant. The plushness of the bed was only slightly removed from the feeling of sleeping on the floor.

The bathroom felt at least a decade newer than the bedroom. Unfortunately it had little shelf space and it made getting ready in the morning more difficult. The apparatus that controlled the height of the wand for taking a shower was worn out which meant the spray nozzle would slowly drift down to the bottom extremity. The floor drain (which inside looked rather nasty) constantly gurgled with use of the sink.

Free WiFi was available and worked fine, but make sure to get the current password from the desk since the one printed in the room literature is not correct. The hotel could provide better service to their customers and probably save a lot of calls to the front desk by putting some stickers on the key envelopes that specify the current password.

The public areas of the hotel were pleasant. I greatly appreciated the open, bright staircase that was directly across from the elevators.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was terrible. The 'food' ran right through me. Dirty dishes sat on tables for a half hour, which left nowhere for new guests to sit.

We ate dinner at the Soul Kitchen restaurant, off of the hotel lobby. The food was surprisingly good but the service was very poor with what looked like two waiters doing almost all of the servicing and busing for the entire place. We were charged for items that we ordered but never arrived. Tired after a full day in Venice, our patience had run out with the place, so we just paid and left.

The bottom line is that I would recommend skipping this place and instead pay the price to get a proper Venetian hotel out in the lagoon area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    1,029
    301
    79
    53
See reviews for
417
986
95
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Attractive location for low cost easy access to Venice (10-15min). Hotel going trough renovation process with older rooms in need of refreshment. Service and customer attention in dear need of improvement. Breakfast is a "discover at you own risk" adventure. The manager in charge on breakfast was devoting his energy to public relation chats with customers istead of managing his team to provide an efficient breakfast experience for guests. Tables not clean ultil last moment, dirty tableware pilling up, impossible to locate plates or silverware, in brief a non functioning breakfast room. Reception personal would also benefit of improved focus to guests needs and attention to communication.
Conclusion, a relatively cheep hotel near an expensive location where you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostcardSender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Plaza 10/3/2013 through 10/7/2013. After a 10 hours of flying we went to bed. The next day we requested clean sheets. Being an experienced traveler, I marked our bed sheets. Upon arrival to our room late the second night, our sheets had not been changed.
To late to request housekeeping. we kindly and respectfully asked the front desk for our bed sheet chang. Also, marking the sheets in a different spot, 3rd day the same. 4th day I was very upset. Long talk with the manger, asking to comp one night room. We got two bottles of water from the mini bar for free. I would never stay here again. It was recommended to us because it was near the ship docks to begin a cruise. One stop from Venice train station. There were 36 people in our group. We all ate at the restaurant called Soul Kitchen in the lobby. Needless to say, no one ate their again. Bad, terriible service, and mediocre food, and expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza for 1 night in September. The absolutely best part of this hotel is it's location. If you are travelling to Venice by train the Hotel Plaza is right across the street from the mestre train station so this was very convenient when travelling with luggage.
It was also very close to the port, we were getting on a cruise ship the next day and our taxi ride was about 5 mins.

The hotel was very clean & service was ok. There is not much to do in mestre and around the hotel so I would say that this hotel is really good for anyone who is "passing by" or wants a cheap option close to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel has friendly staff and is directly opposite the train station and shuttle bus stop for the airport. The beds were very comfy and the room was spacious and clean. If you want the room made up just put the sign on the door. The breakfast was fine, no rush and a good variety. There is an excellent pizzeria along via Piave where we went every night with our daughter. It is as near to a trattoria as you will find here. We walked on the side opposite the park. It was Ristorante Pizzeria San Marco, the pasta was wonderful. The train to Venice is only 1euro 20 and only takes 10 mins. A great hotel if you are visiting Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Plaza hotel is right across the Mestre train station where there is a Mac donalds and convenience store. An Ali supermarket is a 5 minute walk. There are also Chinese and Asian restaurants nearby for travelers looking for rice and asian food.

A good location for travelera.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#12 of 58 in Mestre
2,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#15 of 58 in Mestre
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing