We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Plaza in May 2013. Reaching the hotel from the airport was a easy ride of about 20 min. As mentioned in the other reviews the hotel is bang opposite to the mestre train station and a few minutes from the bus stop. Going to the venice main island takes less than 10 minutes. The check in was seamless . Overall the hotel is wonderful in terms of location. The room is spacious and clean. Toilets are very clean too. The beds were extremely comfortable. For the breakfast, although the options are a bit limited I found it good enough. The service and front staff are very attentive and accommodating. When i called up the reception to ask them where i could buy an adapter (forgot to bring our adapter) they promptly send one to my room!
I am happy with my stay in hotel plaza. The only down side is the fact that its not on the mainland of Venice itself. This is the only factor you will need to weight before deciding to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RemyaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our room was a good size and plenty of room for cloths and two large suitcases. Bathroom and room look recently refurbished. Lovely towels and very clean. It was in a good location for the train to Venice 1.20euro single. Or the number 2 bus. cheapest way is to buy a 2 or 3 day pass, which you can use on Vaporetti and buses as many times as you like. The hotel was near the shuttle bus to the airport 6euros. Breakfast everything that you need, bacon and scrambled eggs could have been hotter. The hotel has no bar, the Great Western reasonably priced and the nearest to the Plaza. Soul café serves good lunches or evening meals in the hotel. Remember to save some money for tax on stays of 2.8 euros per day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a very good standard of hotel. It was clean and modern. Rooms were smallish but everything you could reasonably want - a/c, safe, comfortable, firm bed, mini bar. Breakfast buffet had a wide selection and was available for a wide range of time.
Travel to Venice - I would recommend the train, only 1.20 Euro and it takes 10 minutes from the station opposite. Times are faster and more reliable than the buses - but they were OK too.
The ideal would be a hotel in Venice itself but with the money saved and the short time/distance we were able to afford to do a lot in Venice - which is not a cheap city.
Food - I recommend 'Brek Restorante' - Cannaregio, 124, 30121, Its just about 2 minutes walk along from the station. You can eat in or take away really fresh food at a very affordable price. It is cafeteria style restaurant towards the back of the shop, it also has a nice, small quiet courtyard.
I would also recommend Ristorante Vittoria, just over the canal form the station. Very fresh, large mozzarella especially good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186338MichaelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found most hotel accomodations in venice way too expensive, so we opted for this hotel although it is not very cheap as well. Though it was outside venice, it was very conveniently located just right opposite the venice mestre train station and we did not have a hard time finding the hotel. In fact, it is just one road across to our much pleasant surprise which made carrying our luggage much easier as we did not have to walk too far. From the hotel, you would only need to take a train (one way cost 1.20 euros) from venice mestre to venice SL station. very convenient! However, just as some reviewers noted, the town of mestre has nothing much to do, so basically we tour venice in the day and just come back to hotel for sleep and relax.

Now to the rooms: Rooms look a bit outdated and old, probably needs some refurbishing. The bed is a little hard, and bathrooms looks a little worn. Toiletries are provided but i dont think they are anywhere near good according to my standards but usable. Small CRT tv (who uses CRT nowadays!) but seldom watch as most channels are non-english. Wooden cabinet smells a little musty...but bearable.

The main pull of this hotel is the great location outside venice at probably 3/4 price of what you get for hotels of the same standard in venice. I dont recommend staying in venice anyway as they are pretty expensive and you have a hard time finding your way around in venice and can get easily lost if you are a tourist. I have seen several tourist pulling luggages looking lost in venice..and the rates are much more expensive!

Overall im satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_geek8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was unable to stay in Venice due to everything being sold out for a reason so I opted for this hotel.

I was very pleased with the size of the room - it was spacious and had a great bathroom with a nice shower. The wifi was weak in the room, but great down in the lobby.

It was located directly across the street from the train station and it's only one stop. Super Easy! I actually ended up enjoying the ride.

The town of Mestre is a total dump though - so play and eat in Venice and just come back to the hotel to sleep and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaronessEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent two nights at the Plaza in June and found the hotel to be clean, nice, business level/stay type hotel. Location-wise for someone staying in Mestre its absolutely perfect, 100 metres from the door the train station but not too noisey, a bus stop right outsidr for the airports and on the "right" side of the Mestre station. Hotels on this side of the tracks are definitely in a better location with many cafes and little supermarkets. Metre is a bit grim but the cafe in this hotel and the hotel Bologna next door are great and it doesnt feel as abondoned as the other side of the tracks. Breakfast was plentiful and broad in range but not really 4 star standard in truth. Service was good and the beds were super. At about 100 a night its a little more expensive than the lower end of Mestre prices but you wont have to worry about what you will find when you come here.

Room Tip: Try to get the back of the hotel or high floors as the train station could possibly bother very ligh...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Modern hotel with good service, good bar, large quiet and clean rooms, soft but supportive bed, modern plumbing, good temperature, etc. Boils down to one of the best choices we made during our vacation. Great price. Neighborhood seems a little run down but was safe for us and we walked around a bit trying to find the recommended restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spill_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#15 of 58 in Mestre
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#13 of 58 in Mestre
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $96 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing