We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one misses the mark”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As a travel pro at DM Vacations I rate hotels based on their quality (star) level and what the advertise. This one misses the mark. The rooms and the quality are fine and meet a reasonable standard. The fall short in about every other way. There staff training if they even have any is so poor that a two star hotel would be concerned. The front desk staff are some of the most unhelpful people you will find. On many occasions there would be a line up of clients and one of the two staff would be talking to other staff members, filing and other things, not engaging or looking at the li e up of clients. It is I portent to p,an extra time if you need to I tract with the front decks staff to buy train tickets etc. the staff in the breakfast room on each morning left table after table dirty and I had to clean it up myself. I did occasional see one staff member working to clean the tables, but at a pace that would assure them work the rest of the day. The buffet was poor with cold eggs and when they finally replaced nearly empty cold eggs they dumped what remind right on top of the latest batch. It made me long for my dorm food.

Their restaurant (very few choices are nearby) the same horrible staff service continued. The staff was overall rude and talked about you in Italian thinking that you would not understand. At times it was so blatant that even if you did not understand the language it was clear what were saying. While there was one vert nice person he just started the week prior and I am sure that if he stays he will follow get I to the bad service way.

I asked for a room near the lift to get better Internet as reported by others here. I received the exact opposed and I paid for an upgraded room. I complained as the Internet was horrible in that room and the promise on their website that enjoy your walk in rain shower was actually in the bathtub. The new room did have it as promised but note you either get a tub/shower or a shower. This is not clear on their website.

It is easy to get to Venice on the train as it is just across the street. Be warned though that the area looks like an old train station and has zero charm and the closest ATM is at least five min walk. Limited restaurant choices unless you count McDonalds.

Te Triton next door would be a better choice in my view for the quality to value situation and having spent a bit of time there they seemed friendly.

Room Tip: By the lift. Internet is horrible any distance from it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel during a short stay, very easy to locate from the airport. Once at the hotel getting into Venice Central was easy on the bus or train from opposite the hotel. The hotel was clean and the room was nice with satalite TV and free wifi (although it was really slow in the rooms) There is a computer in the reception area which you can use free with a printer which was handy for printing off boarding passes! Beds and pillows were very hard, I asked for soft pillows and they were delivered immediately. We only ate breakfast which was adequate although exactly the same each day. We didn't eat in the restaurants as we thought they were too expensive. Staff were generally very polite but my husband did find one receptionist quite rude which ruined the experience slightly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a three night break here. rooms large and clean with nice linen and warm room and bathroom. Excellent help from the front desk but stay marred by very poor service in the restaurant, the Soul Kitchen. Avoid it. the guy running it was rude and the food poorly cooked. Meals did not arrive simultaneously.And I have only just realised on my return and studying the hotel invoice we were overcharged. Breakfast on the first morning was a shambles - no cups, plates, knives and food depleted but the subsequent 2 breakfasts were fine

Room Tip: go for one high up as road busy
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank passthewordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As I was on a business trip and required to travel between Mestre and Vicenza, the hotel was the best option as the accommodation was reasonably priced inclusive of breakfast and conveniently located opposite the Mestre train station not to forget to mention the AVTO bus from the airport stops just a few meters from the hotel so travelling to and fro from the airport was a breeze.
The rooms were clean and big enough to accommodate 2 people ( I was a with a colleague) and we never had any complains regarding the room or the bathroom for that matter.
Breakfast was good but lacked variation during my four day stay and wifi were slow in the rooms.
The only down side was a lady at the front desk, she was rude while we were checking in, else most of the staff were helpful and friendly.
Leaving that one incident aside I would still recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the back of the hotel as its very quite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IQBAL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very poor quality for a 4 stars hotel. It deserves 3 stars maximum.
The rooms need some work, especialy the bathroom. You will not find a bathrobe anywhere.
Breakfast is spartan and without variations from day to day... staff is sometimes rude
It is close to the train station to Venice and has free wi-fi. These are the only advantages

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel was very modern and the room was quiet, spotless and comfortable. The restaurant was a fun experience being able to watch your meal being prepared. We also found the food and service to be excellent. The proximity to transportation to Venice by bus or train was a huge plus. The hotel also sells tickets for the actv (bus and vaporetto) and train tickets to the islands. This makes it very convenient when travelling. The parking facility is a short 100 meter walk. Their is monitored surface and garage parking for those with a car.During our stay there was construction to the onsite parking area. This made check in slightly difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plazavenice, General Manager at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hello Ddhouston1, just thank you for all your positive comments on the Plaza & sorry for the inconvenience you had upon your check-in. We are sure next time you'll stay with us you'll enjoy the results of our current works in the house. Take care dear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Evaluation of Plaza Hotel Venice, Viale Stazione, 36 Mestre, Venice, 30171 Italy

June 2012

This is a 4-star hotel and we were very pleased with the room accommodations, location, and services.

The Front Desk has tickets for the Train to Venice, Vaporetto-Canal Water Bus which includes the local bus to Venice, Airport Bus, Limo service to and from the Venice Cruise Ship Port, and can arrange local tours.

The buffet breakfast included in our price was a welcome start to our day. Nice variety of food and it was good.

The location of the hotel is just across from the train station, and very convenient to transportation. It is about a 10-12 minute train ride to Venice or about a 15 minute bus ride. Venice is very congested and, of course, very old with limited space. So an updated hotel was very welcome.

Being in Mestre versus central Venice, we considered the price was a very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#14 of 58 in Mestre
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#12 of 58 in Mestre
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $97 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing