We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here When Visiting Venice”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stay Here When Visiting Venice”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is where you want to stay when visiting Venice. The hotel accomodations are excellent, moderately priced, and the location is perfect for easy movement in and out of Venice. We stayed three days prior to a cruise and found the room to be much larger than the reviews indicated. We had three large suitcases, a duffel, and two carry ons and had plenty of room in our standard room. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and accomadating. The hotel is fairly new and modern which for us provided a great deal of comfort. The breadfasts that were provided were excellent and it was evident the staff were well prepared to easily handle the numbers of people served each day. We found reasonably priced good food and wine at restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The Hotel is located accross the street from the Mestre Train Station and that provides you access to Venice for about 1.2 Euro each way per person. That's cheap transportation to and from Venice, and when you walk out of the Venice train station, the view of Venice is breathtaking. We used the trains without incident for numerous trips in and out of Venice. However, do buy all your tickets at once to avoid the delay from lines that develop for ticket purchases.
Also, from the airport, you can take the bus to the Mestre train station for about 6.0 Euro each. You will need to load and unload your own luggage, but these are large buses that easily accomadate luggage dragged around by cruise passengers. The bus stop for the Mestre Train Station is only about a block from the Plaza Hotel. We made it easily, even considering we were first time visitors.
We definitely will stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Venice.

Room Tip: We reserved a standard room and found it larger than expected and very comfortable. The walkin show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    999
    290
    76
    51
See reviews for
397
958
89
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Plaza is actually a stone's throw away from the station. We got off the train and could see it from the platform itself. A wonderful, organized hotel. It was a super option to stay in Venice Mestre and travel to and fro to Venice. Rather then paying for the very expensive rooms in Venice Island, this works well and is a 'smart' way of travelling. The rooms were large, immaculate and clean. The bathrooms were well maintained. Just a minor hitch that we faced...we stayed at The Plaza 10 days back and must say the day temperature was rather warm and we required the AC. The reception did explain us that the ACs were non functional at this time since the night temp drop rather sharply and it gets cold. It would have been nice if the ACs were functional atleast for day use.The breakfast was wholesome, nice and healthy. Had an amazing spread of breads, cereals and juices. The Soul Kitchen restaurant was a welcome change. I shall be staying at The Plaza again soon.

Room Tip: Do take rooms away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolates72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.I.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Plaza mid Sept before week cruise. Had a top floor room 8th floor which was very good. Breakfast also good. Location could not be better, across road and straight on train to Venice for 1euro 20 cents. Tops!!!!! Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Go to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel Plaza in Mestre just across the water from Venice and conveniently located literally across the street from the train station was a pleasant surprise. Must admit was a bit leary staying near the train station, which is usually not the place you want to be for any length of time. It was safe and comfortable, though actually hanging out in the train station in the wee hours can be a bit daunting. We had taken the bus shuttle from the airport which drops you off at the end of the train station, so it was an easy 1/2 block walk to the hotel.
The rooms were modern, spacious and comfortable, especially for a European hotel room. The bathroom was also quite large with a full shower that did not flood the bathroom when in use!
The buffet breakfast had several options, the coffee/cappuccino machine did not give the best coffee- super strong, and the cappuccinos done by hand were on the weak side, but certainly a minor complaint in comparison to the overall quality of the breakfast. The hotel restaurant, Soul, gave a nice selection of wines with decent quality food.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and did not hesitate to assist you with any questions or requests you had.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for visitors to Venice, where the hotel cost can be quite expensive. Though located just across the street, the actual ease of use of the trains was tricky. Helpful hint, buy your train tickets(round trip) at the hotel front desk. The ticket kiosks in the station were difficult to use and only offered certain trains and varying prices. We were unable to purchase tickets returning from Venice so got on the train without tickets, but not for lack of trying. Of course that was the one train where they actually checked for tickets we had to pay a 5 euro penalty for a 1.25 euro ticket, lesson learned. Once we mastered the train schedule and ticketing, traveling to and from Venice was simple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cucachella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enjoyed our stopover in Mestre at this hotel. The hotel is as noted across the street from the train station and centrally located. We had a superior room that was nicely sized and very quiet. The room was not immaculately cleaned but not terribly dirty, they could do a better job. The breakfast was as noted in other reviews a little on the sweet side but offered many dishes. Basically, if I were to do Venice again I would stay here
and take the train.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior facing the back if you wish a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBaba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at the Plaza Hotel for two nights, while visiting Venice.
Train service was efficient and straightforward, and it was a great solution to stay in Mestre, which is cheaper than Venice.
The breakfast buffet was varied, but with very much sweet food which is a minus, in addition noisy because of people.
The rooms were large and comfortable, the bathrooms too. The bathroom was a bit outdated.
We arrived early, and as a gesture; The hotel let us use one of our three rooms to place our luggage while we waited for the other two rooms to be ready. (The waiting took place in Venice, as you may have guessed)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room/bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saeboe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great way to do Venice. Located right across the street from the train station, for $1.20 euro it takes 10 minutes to get to venice. After watching people hump luggage up and down stairs and over bridges in Venice we were so happy with our choice. Clean room , great breakfast, comfy bed. the resturant Soul was quite good, smaller portions but after a long day was a good way to unwind. The train station was a great jumping off point to grab high speed trains to florence and rome. For $150 a night we could not find anything comparable

Room Tip: ask for one on the back side away from traffice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upnorth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#13 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing