We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the normal italian fare”

Ristorante Hostaria Dante
Ranked #15 of 340 Restaurants in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portugal
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not the normal italian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurante, a recommendation from the girl at the hotel. Food was very good and service was excellent. It was the typical pasta and pizza I was expecting, but the quality was good. I would recommend it to someone who is looking for a moderate-priced restaurante.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    141
    35
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had pasta and my wife had the pork. Pasta with duck meat and tomato was ok but tasted a lot like beef mince. Qt he ordinary pasta was offset by my wife's pork. This came with potatoes and a white wine sauce. Very tasty and quite filling.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milkman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We liked this restaurant so much that we ate here for six evenings in a row.
Friendly helpful staff; excellent, reasonably-priced food.
Every meal could not be faulted.
My mother is coeliac so cannot eat gluten, the staff were fully aware of how to cope with this and offered her a wide variety of meals, from very good gluten-free pasta dishes to fish and meat meals. She had a much better choice than she has had anywhere else.
I have no dietary restrictions, and very much enjoyed all of my meals here too.
We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetallickRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Great Find in Mestre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a pleasure to find an authentic and well-priced place not far from the train station. An easy ten minute walk, this vintage Osteria still serves their family specialties with a smile. We enjoyed the steaming gnocchi gratinata, a fresh and flavorful fritto misto, and squid in ink with polenta... and topped it off with their absolutely fabulous sgroppino (best described as a creamy alcoholic slushy...). The lemon was super, but how amazing to make a LICORICE one!! Have never heard of that anywhere and it was the best for someone like me who loves licorice - a dessert I'll always remember. By the way, the house white was great with our seafood. And the portions are generous. We could have shared the gnocchi and one main and been satisfied (had to leave room for the sgroppinos!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
257 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Ristorante Dante is worth a visit. Great food, try their version of Pasta Vongole; excellent. And for desert do not miss their sgripponi - you can get it with either lemon or licorice. Very nice and quiet location, especilly sitting in outside in the front yard. Good service. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikael.bjerrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Hostaria Dante also viewed

Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Mestre, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Hostaria Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing