We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room but Some of the Staff Need to Go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Costanza
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The room itself was amazing but the staff seemed to not care about the guests. We arrived at 9:00am and they held our luggage since the room was not ready, we expected this and had made plans to spend the day in Venice with a guide.

Upon arriving back at the hotel that night the front desk person handed us the room key and told us where it was located. Normally this would be fine but when we got to the room we could not figure out how to turn the lights on. We go back to the front desk and the employee is annoyed that we are bothering him but comes back with us and shows us what has to be done to make the lights work (the key card must stay in the card reader on the inside of the room). Next as we are unpacking the room is a little warm so we close the windows and turn on the AC but the AC does not come on. We call the front desk but no answer, so we go down there. It turns out that they have to activate the AC from there and the person at the desk is annoyed that we have interrupted him a second time. We go back to the room and try to get on the internet, we call the front desk and he says we have to come down to get a password and login. We get it and I log in to my laptop first then my partner tries to log on to his but it won't work. We call the front desk and are told only one device per login and and one login per room. The guy hangs up after saying this. A few hours later he calls the room to say that he has another login for us so that both laptops can be used. That's the first helpful thing that he has done since we checked in.

The hotel was lovely but if the front desk person had just taken a little time to explain that about the lights, AC, and wi-fi we wouldn't have spent so much time having to take him away from his book. If you are going to have state of the art features in the rooms then please explain how to use them to your guests!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is located on the ground floor behind the front desk, you can hear lobby noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gryffindorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 774 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went to this hotel in Mestre to visit Venice. This hotel is nice, and it is very close to a bus stop that take you directly to Venice. At rush hour, it is sometime more complicated to take the bus but in general, it was fast and easy. A good place to be to save a couple of dollard vs staying in venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great rooms, great breakfast, very friendly and helpful personnel, quiet, next to bus stop and easy connection to Venice. Nice restaurants and tratorias in the area, proposed by the reception. What else to ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SOSO_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked a Superior room at this hotel and upon arrival were shown to a dingy/dark, small very basic room next to the reception area, our arrival time was not late (around 6pm) and yet the hotel was full and the room we had booked clearly had been allocated to somebody else.
Although the receptionist was apologetic; offering us a free breakfast and the opportunity to move rooms the next day, when we did move rooms the second room was barely of a better standard that the first.

The rooms in general are very basic, while modern in design and furnishings they lacked any real character or home comforts. I agree with reviews that the fridge filled with water and soft drinks is a nice touch but this certainly doesn't jusity the cost of the room when compared to hotel rooms in other cities. Also, although we didn't use it the tiny TV monitor would have been impossible to watch, having been positioned at such a high angel and so close to the bed (in each room).

The breakfast on the Saturday morning was more than adequate with a good selection of fresh fruit, cakes, pastries, yogurts, eggs and meats/cheeses (we ate around 8am ) however on the Sunday morning an hour later (around 9am) there was only half the amount of the same spread that was available to the previous day and no sign of any replenishment taking place so we opted for breakfast at the local bakery instead.

The position of the hotel in relation to the train station is a quick walk and the airport is easily reached on the 'airport bus' which stops to the left hand side of the train station. I have to agree with other reviews about the area of Mestre and the 'unsavoury' characters that hang around the park area but this is not a fault of the hotel and at no time did we feel threatened. The bus line # 2 is a cheap and quick route to Venice and is far easier to buy tickets for than the one stop train service from Mestre to St Lucia.

While I remain disappointed that the rooms we ended up with were not satisfactory inline with the amount we paid to stay at this hotel I was very impressed with the friendly attitude and service offered by all of the members of staff and their willingness to help with directions, travel plans and our overall Venice experience. Nothing was too much trouble for them from printing train times, to pointing out 'off the beaten track' areas of Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanzasco, Manager at Hotel Villa Costanza, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

The hotel's management considers its duty to respond at complaints from customers and take appropriate action to improve the service to its guests.
In this case actually the room allocated to customers is slightly smaller, however, it has a wider private bathroom and it has the same furniture standard and comfort than the other rooms, it is equipped with free wifi, free local and national calls, four pillows , hairdryer, free welcome drinks etc ... and it has a large window (which exclude the fact that it can be dark, unless the window shutter is closed).
Remains the fact that the room is on the ground floor (it is not the only one in the hotel), but in this case the window is overlooking the inner yard.
Probably the guests wanted to stay in a broader room, having perhaps confused the superior room with the junior suite, equipped with lounge area, Jacuzzi, etc ... this kind of room costs more (but once offered the guests were not willing to pay the difference to get it).
We kindly remind that the room is assigned to customers long before their arrival (the occupancy schemes are completed the day before) and it was the kind of room, which the guests had paid for, so it had not been assigned to others before their arrival as it had been wrongly emphasized. The TVs inside of the rooms are 18-21-24 inch LCD Relating to type of the room.
Nevertheless, in order to satisfy the customer, we offered them another room similar to the previous one, but at a higher floor and offering a rich breakfast buffet which was not included in the arrangement. Our Breakfast, as recognized by customers, is rich and well assorted, but it can happen that, when the hotel is fully booked, during the peak time, it can be not copious, and the guest can always ask the waitress and wait the necessary time for the replacement of it.
Please note that the customer booked the room on a web-site that buys the hotel rooms from a wholesaler, with which the hotel has signed a cooperation agreement just ignoring the amount of additional fee that the customer totally paid.

The room cost is proportioned to the hotel category and in line with similar structures, considering also the fact that, compared to other hotels, we offer a range of services free of charge (3 welcome drinks- bike rental -wifi- local and national telephone).
However, we take note of the customer’s considerations and, we will improve, where possible, our services and the relationship with the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel has a stellar location! Mestre is much less expensive than DT Venice. It is near both the train & bus stations into Venice. The location is much quieter, which I liked.
Upon booking, we emailed the hotel with a few questions, they responded both quickly & appropriately.
The room was extremely clean & quite comfortable. The air conditioning & free wi-fi were quite the bonus. I found the value to be excellent! The only drawback others may post about are the small showers, they are a bit tiny. I think they had a TV, but I am not one to tune in when there are so many great activities. A small fridge with complimentary bottled water was also provided.
Sitting on the lovely back patio for breakfast & evening cocktails was a highlight! Demetri, one of the staff, was especially kind & taught us some Greek before our departure.
Two thumbs up & a glowing recommendation for Hotel Villa Costanza!

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but a fantastic patio. Nice continental breakfast & awesome espresso!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paxsonlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel is close to mestre train station so a good starting point for visiting Venezia, the hotel has a parking lot, so is reccomended also for people that are travelling by car. he building has been recentely renovated. the room are large and confortable, with flat screen and a large and nice bathroom. The internet is free. The breackfast has an extra charge, but I reccomend it has a lot of choice ang a good quality. I gave a very good rate in consideration also of the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Firstly, let me say that the review is for the hotel itself. However, I do think that the local surroundings of a hotel should also be taken into account. We stayed in Villa Costanza for 6 nights in June 2012 largely because the price of the hotel was about a third for accommodation of a similar star rating in Venice. I don't regret the decision because quite simply, had we not chosen this option, we simply wouldn't have had the money to travel to Venice at all. The hotel is a small boutique hotel that is located on a quiet side street. You can take a bus from the airport to the hotel which is cheap and convenient and is an advantage over Venice where we often saw people dragging suitcases around various side streets from their hotel. The hotel had very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were small without being claustrophobic but contemporary and spotlessly clean and the breakfast arrangements on the patio outside were nice. The hotel based on what you get for your money gets 5 stars from me.

Now, the area of Mestre. The hotel is an easy five minute walk straight to the train station and bus station where you can get to Venice. The train takes about 10 minutes, they are cheap and they are frequent. The walk to the train station from the hotel however, isn't particularly pleasant. There is a grassy area that runs along the street which on the opposite side had a congregation of homeless gypsies every day that we were there. They were loud and rowdy. The side of the street that we walked along is jam packed with cheap chicken and chips style takeaways which are tacky and in the evening, there are often call girls working the street as prostitution in Mestre is legal.

I should state that at no time did I ever feel in danger or threatened. In fact, the working girls were a source of a few cheeky witticisms from me to my partner. However, having said that, Venice itself is so packed with charm and oozing with quaint romance, that staying in Mestre did spoil the overall experience to a degree. It is a little like beauty (Venice) and the beast (Mestre).

If you really want to go to Venice and you're on a budget and the sight of some noisy homeless people and some tacky takeaways and some working girls doesn't concern you, then I'd say stay in Mestre and if you're going to do that, certainly ensure that you stay at the wonderful Villa Costanza. However, if this trip is to mark a special occasion like a honeymoon or a couple's first holiday or money is no object, then I'd advise people to stay in Venice itself. If it was me and I was returning, I'd still go back to Villa Costanza because the money you save gives you so much more flexibility to do so much more like enjoy a trip to the Dolomites or enjoy a gondola ride.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank The-Rapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Venezia Marghera hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Costanza

Address: Via Monte Nero 25, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#1 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Best Value Hotel in Mestre
#10 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range: $67 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Costanza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Costanza is a boutique hotel, one of the few hotels classed as a superior three-star. It stands 250 metres from the railway station of Venezia-Mestre,creating a welcoming, relaxing ambiance in a valuable nineteenth-century building,restored with ancient materials with a wide car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Costanza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing