We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Costanza
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel has a stellar location! Mestre is much less expensive than DT Venice. It is near both the train & bus stations into Venice. The location is much quieter, which I liked.
Upon booking, we emailed the hotel with a few questions, they responded both quickly & appropriately.
The room was extremely clean & quite comfortable. The air conditioning & free wi-fi were quite the bonus. I found the value to be excellent! The only drawback others may post about are the small showers, they are a bit tiny. I think they had a TV, but I am not one to tune in when there are so many great activities. A small fridge with complimentary bottled water was also provided.
Sitting on the lovely back patio for breakfast & evening cocktails was a highlight! Demetri, one of the staff, was especially kind & taught us some Greek before our departure.
Two thumbs up & a glowing recommendation for Hotel Villa Costanza!

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but a fantastic patio. Nice continental breakfast & awesome espresso!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxsonlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    221
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
167
411
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel is close to mestre train station so a good starting point for visiting Venezia, the hotel has a parking lot, so is reccomended also for people that are travelling by car. he building has been recentely renovated. the room are large and confortable, with flat screen and a large and nice bathroom. The internet is free. The breackfast has an extra charge, but I reccomend it has a lot of choice ang a good quality. I gave a very good rate in consideration also of the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Firstly, let me say that the review is for the hotel itself. However, I do think that the local surroundings of a hotel should also be taken into account. We stayed in Villa Costanza for 6 nights in June 2012 largely because the price of the hotel was about a third for accommodation of a similar star rating in Venice. I don't regret the decision because quite simply, had we not chosen this option, we simply wouldn't have had the money to travel to Venice at all. The hotel is a small boutique hotel that is located on a quiet side street. You can take a bus from the airport to the hotel which is cheap and convenient and is an advantage over Venice where we often saw people dragging suitcases around various side streets from their hotel. The hotel had very friendly and helpful staff, the rooms were small without being claustrophobic but contemporary and spotlessly clean and the breakfast arrangements on the patio outside were nice. The hotel based on what you get for your money gets 5 stars from me.

Now, the area of Mestre. The hotel is an easy five minute walk straight to the train station and bus station where you can get to Venice. The train takes about 10 minutes, they are cheap and they are frequent. The walk to the train station from the hotel however, isn't particularly pleasant. There is a grassy area that runs along the street which on the opposite side had a congregation of homeless gypsies every day that we were there. They were loud and rowdy. The side of the street that we walked along is jam packed with cheap chicken and chips style takeaways which are tacky and in the evening, there are often call girls working the street as prostitution in Mestre is legal.

I should state that at no time did I ever feel in danger or threatened. In fact, the working girls were a source of a few cheeky witticisms from me to my partner. However, having said that, Venice itself is so packed with charm and oozing with quaint romance, that staying in Mestre did spoil the overall experience to a degree. It is a little like beauty (Venice) and the beast (Mestre).

If you really want to go to Venice and you're on a budget and the sight of some noisy homeless people and some tacky takeaways and some working girls doesn't concern you, then I'd say stay in Mestre and if you're going to do that, certainly ensure that you stay at the wonderful Villa Costanza. However, if this trip is to mark a special occasion like a honeymoon or a couple's first holiday or money is no object, then I'd advise people to stay in Venice itself. If it was me and I was returning, I'd still go back to Villa Costanza because the money you save gives you so much more flexibility to do so much more like enjoy a trip to the Dolomites or enjoy a gondola ride.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Rapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed here for a week,loved every minute of it,rooms very clean and modern,breakfast was great they catered for everyone.nothing too much trouble for the staff.very close to the bus stop and train station,nice supermarket 2mins walk away.buses and trains had a regular service.nice local area,was almost put off before we arrived after reading some comments on here about local drunks on the way back to the hotel.yes we seen a few people drinking on the other side of the road,but they never bothered anyone in the slightest,just kept themselves to them selves.monica and demeiterie (the hotel staff) were very friendly they felt like old friends by the time we left,they had time for everyone.will definately stay here again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely hotel and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. We arrived before official check-in time and our room wasn't yet ready. This was no problem for us but the staff were so apologetic and went out of their way to entertain us while our room was prepared.
Room was delightful.
Location is excellent if you're happy to stay outside of Venice itself. Walk to train station isn't too far and trains run every few minutes.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DStorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the room has a good size, modern and well furnished with safe, free drinks in fridge, efficient AC. It is a bit difficult to go to Venice with train, vending machines don't sell ticket to Santa Lucia station and the queue at the ticket office is huge, prefer the bus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gedeon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A nice clean place to stay just outside of Venice. We stopped here for one night before traveling onwards. The hotel was clean, had free wifi and breakfast. The coffee was not so great but everything else was.

We arrived late and very much appreciated the friendly staff recommending a pleasant local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Barbarich
Villa Barbarich
#1 of 58 in Mestre
430 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Costanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Costanza

Property: Hotel Villa Costanza
Address: Via Monte Nero 25, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#1 Family Hotel in Mestre
#10 Business Hotel in Mestre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Costanza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Costanza is a boutique hotel, one of the few hotels classed as a superior three-star. It stands 250 metres from the railway station of Venezia-Mestre,creating a welcoming, relaxing ambiance in a valuable nineteenth-century building,restored with ancient materials with a wide car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Costanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Costanza Province Of Venice/Mestre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing