We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and lovely breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Menaggio B&B and Inns
Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great view and lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this B&B after a friend in Milan recommended it but I also checked the reviews on Trip Advisor before I confirmed our booking. I completely agree with all the positive reviews about Balcone Fiorito and Eleanor, our very friendly hostess. We had a wonderful 3 night stay enjoying every moment of our time lounging in the garden, breakfasting on the beautiful terrace and chatting to Eleanor and her son David about what to see and do in Menaggio. Yes it is out of Menaggio, about a 30 minute walk down hill, mostly on a footpath but occasionally along a narrow road so a car might have been useful, but we managed with taxis and the local bus. The positives of being out of town were the views from our upstairs room, the cooler temperature and a very pretty walk to the restaurant at the local golf club which specialises in regional food. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Make this absolutely fabulous B&B your stop when you visit Menaggio and the greater Lake Como. We were so warmly welcomed by Eleanor and her family. The rooms with the views simply stunning. Everything you would want in accommodation when your away from home. The setting for Eleanor's delicious breakfast is perfect, again with the majestic views. We would have loved to have stayed longer but we will be back. Thanks David for all your assistance and tips. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannadanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second time at Balcone Fiorito and it was like returning for a family visit. So very welcoming and relaxing from the start. The accommodation was, as before, excellent with lovely crisp bed linen and the most wonderful view from the upper floor. The garden where breakfast is served (weather permitting) is beautifully kept. Should the weather be unkind there is a pretty little breakfast room overlooking the garden. Eleanor is a great character and able to give advice on anything you could possibly want. We spent four nights at each visit which gave us plenty of time to see the other villages and the main Villas around the Lake. All in all a place which we happily and thoroughly recommend. Thank you so much Eleanor for everything, and thanks, too, to David for his breakfast duties and Adriano for his welcome glass of wine.

Room Tip: We particularly like the upper floor accommodation which has its own balcony looking towards the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fabulous breakfast on a terrace with breathtaking views, tempting home baking, proper good Scottish tea and a wonderful owner who cannot do enough to please her guests. It's a great place if you like hiking or running. The owner gave me some routes which took me further up the mountain and to some spectacular view points. It's a quiet location, so coupled with the mountain air and comfortable beds you are guaranteed a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family and I stayed in one of Eleanor's beautiful apartments. From the first time I contacted her she was the perfect hostess, checking what time we would arrive to giving us directions and organising for a pizzeria to make us dinner as we would be arriving late. As we were celebrating a special occasion she even gave us a bottle of wine and silver almonds! We were extremely touched by her warmth and generosity.

The apartment itself was lovely and cosy, slightly on the small size but just about right for 5 of us. In the mornings Eleanor made us breakfast when we wanted, which consisted of homemade breads and jams, cake and Scotch pancakes coupled with English tea (you can't get this usually in Italy!) and juice.

To summarise, I cannot recommend Balcone Fiorito highly enough - we had never stayed in an apartment or B&B before but certainly will be open to this option in the future!

Lago di Como is also stunning and Milan is not far away, however do make sure you have a car and preferably a TomTom / good map to help you navigate!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

When my partner and I arrived, I think Eleanor the hostess, may have been a little tipsy (she is Scottish after all! :o) although to be fair, we arrived a lot later than planned. Consequently, the process of parking our motorbike and being checked into the room was slightly confused. However, I cannot fault Eleanor in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. She gave us all the information we needed, some great advice and generally went over-and-above what I would ever expect from a B&B owner.
The accommodation was a good size and extremely clean. The view from the balcony was immense. We had the good fortune of witnessing an electrical storm across the mountains, and the balcony offered us a terrific view of it. My only niggle is that in the height of summer, perhaps a ceiling fan would have offered a better nights sleep. We ended up sleeping with the huge panoramic windows open.
Personally I think it's a great location - the walk down to Menaggio was easy (ask Eleanor for the quickest off-road route through the hospital), and a taxi back after too many Aperol Spritzers was sub EUR15.
Menaggio itself is a great base, with a beautiful square and the craziest crazy golf course I've ever seen. We went to Bellagio for a couple of nights, but ended up taking a day trip back to Menaggio because it was so beautiful (and we wanted to hire a boat).
If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Lake Como, I would definitely stay here. We stopped by as part of a tour of Europe, and our time at Menaggio and Balcone Fiorito was by far the ultimate highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good sized rooms, nicely finished and hosts very accomodating. Breakfast is ok and was served on a terrace This location is best for those who have a car and dont mind driving to and from the larger lakeside towns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#5 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast

Property: Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Alfredo Wyatt 26, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcone Fiorito Hotel Menaggio
Balcone Fiorito Bed And Breakfast
Balcone Fiorito Bed & Breakfast Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing