We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We read the reviews for this hotel and went there with an open mind.
On arrival the receptionist upgraded us to a room with a balcony. Fantastic view and pleasant to sit out in the evening as the sun had moved over to the other side of the lake.
The breakfast was ok and after the cereals we had bacon and great scrambled eggs, then fresh crusty bread for toast, plenty to keep us going for the day.
We had a car and ther was plenty of space at the front of the hotel. We used the ferry a few times and as other reviewers said , keep an eye on the times for getting back. A bit confusing but the ticket office people are very helpful.
We went in the middle of Sept and in the evening a few restaurants started to close about 9.30pm if not many people were about. It also got a bit colder in the evening, but still ok for us as it was about 12 degrees back at home.
There were enough restaurants to visit for a week.
Back to the hotel, everything was clean and the staff were very nice.
Overall we enjoyed our visit and would recommend the hotel to all.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all different as we had a bath and a hand shower. Not ideal but we managed. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wandererengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    264
    101
    35
    18
See reviews for
67
365
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We would have rated this hotel excellent but for the staff on reception, who were unfriendly and quite rude at times not like the rest of the staff especially the dining room,house maids and porters who were most helpful and friendly. Great location , rooms varied from spacious to small but all were comfortable and clean, beds very comfy. Food was excellent with a varied choice.Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorcesterBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pleasant hotel - very faded grandeur!
Room was a nice size with a stunning view, bathroom clean and perfectly serviceable (although no bath and slightly pokey shower)
Staff all nice enough and service was good.
Pool / general setting all excellent (near to ferries, local restaurants etc).

Breakfast was a bit disappointing - tea / coffee was help yourselves out of an urn I've no issue with that in itself but it meant it was always lukewarm and barely drinkable and certainly not enjoyable (not good I need my morning caffeine fix!). Also very limited fresh fruit (mainly all tinned) and just some scrambled eggs and bacon on the hot front (eggs really not edible).
The bad breakfast experience on all of the 5 days we stayed put us off using the restaurant in the evening so I cannot comment on the food for lunch / dinner.

One other point to note is that the hotel does attract an older clientele. We are a couple in our forties and seemed to be by far the youngest there.
Not an issue at all, but different age groups tend to have different preferences and this hotel very much catered for / was targeted at the retired generation. This was reflected throughout (food, decor etc)

Room Tip: Go for a lake view - a total must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cll_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a week in Lake Como in the Grand in Menaggio. What a lovely hotel! Fabulous location right on the lake and next to the landing stage for the boats. Food in the hotel was first class. Nice breakfast and great 4 course evening meal. Staff were very good. Very attentive. The other villages are lovely. Get a central lake day pass costing 15 euros and this takes you to six locations. Be aware the boats do not go round in any order...you have to keep an eye on the time table to check where the boat goes next. Try to have a light lunch on the terrace of the Hotel du Lac in Varenna. Wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: We did not ask for a lake view room as we feel we are not in the room very much! We were pleased wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from a week on Como at the Grand Hotel Menaggio. When we arrived we were upgraded to a lake view hotel on the 4th floor. We had a family room which was on two floors so a little inconvenient for bathroom - air con also rather inadequate so was very warm at night. Great views of the lake though. Food in the restaurant was very good - especially the 4 course evening meals which were excellent. Drinks in the hotel were expensive but suppose you expect that given the location. Menaggio town itself was fine but a bit limited. Used the boats on the lake which are very efficient - Belaggio very pretty, Como also well worth a visit. Overall, we enjoyed our week here - hotel itself was very good but would probably not return to lake Come as prefer Maggiore and Garda.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bazzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from spending a week (22/8 to 29/8) at the Grand. Superb location with the hotel right on the lakeside. Lovely to see the sun coming over the mountains in the morning whilst having breakfast. Temperatures were high - usually in the 30's - and we were told that this was at least 10 degrees higher than normal for the time of year. As a result the hotel's air conditioning was struggling but in our room the hotel had made sure that the air-con was on 24/7. The gentle hum didn't bother us through the night, neither did we hear much traffic noise. (We had asked Inghams for a room on the top floor) Room 409 was a decent size with plenty of room to dump suitcases without tripping over them and ample space to move around the room. The bathroom with separate toilet were fine. We found the food to be very good and enjoyed our 4 course dinner each night, with breakfast being equally enjoyable. The dining room staff, under Roberto's watchful eye, were very pleasant with a welcoming buon giorno or buona sera. Equally pleasant were the housemaids who also greeted you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Menaggio (mind you having the gorgeous weather helped as well!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete-the-Heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from our first vist to Lake Como. Hotel in super location with wonderful views. We threw open our shutters each morning and lay in bed watching the lake come to life in the sunshine.It is worth paying extra for lake view room, very spacious and jacuzzi bath! Lovely restaurant with superb service and delicious food especailly the desserts. Also excellent pool which was kep scrupulously clean each day. The staff throughout made us feel relaxed and welcome.
Ferries are frequent and help you explore lake easily. Recommend Villa Carlotta and a vist to Varenna and Villa Balbienello.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room- it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feather57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
12.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Menaggio

Property: Grand Hotel Menaggio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Menaggio 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Menaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Grand Hotel
Menaggio Hotel Grand
Grand Hotel Menaggio Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing