We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in need of an upgrade.........”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel in need of an upgrade.........”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Bellavista and have to agree with several other reviews, that this is a hotel that is in need of some TLC. We had room on third floor with lake view, which is fabulous, but no balcony. The room was very small and the fittings are old fashioned - but not in a good way. The beds are small and VERY firm. No air-conditioning. On the positive side, the bathroom was large, with bath and over-bath shower, but again, although clean the bath was in need of being replaced.
The public areas are ok, but the staff, with a couple of exceptions, are not the friendliest. A request for an adaptor (my well-used and well-travelled European adaptor did not fit the plug points in the room) was somewhat grudgingly met.
The food is uninspired, with the same four boring desserts being offered every night. The hotel has a restaurant which is obviously very good and very popular, and there is a slight feeling that hotel guests are a bit of a second string.
The absolute selling point of the Bellavista is it's location - right on the lakefront. The pool, though small, is also right on the lake with stunning views.

Room Tip: Choose lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guest748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    129
    60
    32
    28
See reviews for
42
198
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We thoroughtly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Bellavista. We stayed in a room with a balcony and lake view. The room was perfectly adequate, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The view from the balcony was outstanding - a panoramic view across Lake Como, taking in views of nearby Bellaggio, and Varenna. We spent many an hour simply relaxing on the balcony, watching the ferry boats going back and forth. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the lake, as the ferry terminal is about 2 minutes walk away, and there is a very efficient (and cheap) bus service that stops near by. The hotel is fairly small & compact, but has a really nice, relaxed atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and helpful; the front desk staff speak good english and are more than happy to help with any problems or to advise on getting out and about. We stayed half board and the food was really good; continental breakfast and a 3 course evening meal, with typical Italian cuisine. The restaurant also overlooks the lake which ensures you have a stunning view to accompany your meal.
Menaggio itself is wonderful. There is a pretty main square with bars & restaurants, and a lovely lakeside promenade. There are also some nice walks around the town and to nearby villages. There is a very useful (english speaking) tourist information in the main square in Menaggio - about 5 minutes walk from the Bellavista). Overall, we loved Menaggio and could not fault the Hotel Bellavista. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We would certainly recommend the lakeside rooms! The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolCouple_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a Lakeview room with balcony on July 15th for 5 nights. We had Air-con, which was essential but it packed up on our last night which was unfortunate. As previous reviews have indicated the place is a little tired and the bed was fairly small. Apart from those minor grumbles we enjoyed our stay. The elderly couple who run the place are a tad unfriendly but we out it down to language barriers. The younger lady on reception was much friendly and very helpful when we were enquiring about the strike action affecting the public transport.

To summarise, the location is perfect and the facilities were adequate. The pool was a wonderful addition. WI-FI was annoying in terms of having a request a ticket and having to keep entering in user-name & password but this was a minor trouble and I'm sure the owners could improve this.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

There are two good things about this hotel: The location and the pool (although the first includes a heavy trafficated road and the later is run down and closes at 7 pm).

There are MANY not-so-good things:
First, the hotel is very worn down and although some rooms where rumored to be in slightly better shape, most of it has not been renovated since the 70's. The standard is very poor, many rooms lack aircondition and the noisy road makes it impossible to keep the windows open at night.
Second, the service is the worst I have ever experienced. When asking if we could change for a room with AC or at least get a fan, the discussion ended with the manager yelling at us and telling us to go somewhere else if we did not like the place. I am a very calm person and used to being met with reason and I had not been rude in anyway to the man before he started his rant. The same treatment was given to other guests we spoke to.
Third, bed bugs! We stayed in a couple of hotels around the beautiful Lake Como, and nowhere else did we get bitten by mosquitos or any other bug. However, although we kept the window closed at night we woke up with bites all over. Needless to say, we left the hotels quickly after that.

To sum up: Avoid this hotel, there are plenty of other great accomodations around the lake!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menaggio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

On arrival the main entrance, being on a fairly busy road, is a little disappointing but typically Italian. Inside the reception and dining rooms are cool and calm. We very strongly recommend the lakeside rooms with balcony - the views are outstanding and probably the best we have ever enjoyed. Bedrooms vary a little in terms of size and shape - balconies similarly, ours was fairly small but still enabled us to while away a happy restful hour or two a day taking in the view. As others have said rooms were simply but adequately furnished, probably recently decorated and kept very clean.
Meals were better than most other hotels we have visited in terms of variety and service, probably because they also have a very popular restaurant. Staff were generally very helpful- the management at times a little severe-I suspect they run a tight ship which ultimately benefits the customers! Finally, I must say I agree with the other reviewer - we finally concluded that Menaggio has the best overall features on offer and this the best hotel.

Room Tip: lakeside with balcony !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper13Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was a little bit nervous of the hotel, having read previous reviews...however...

This hotel contributed greatly to a special holiday in Menaggio. Our experience was that the plus points well out-weighed any very minor things. In fact the only thing which might have made it better would have been a slightly bigger room.

Compare that against the most wonderful view from our balcony and from the pool; the tasty food presented to us every night (and the view from our table which was not hindered by being set back a bit to accommodate a la carte diners); the staff who were so efficient and warm, speaking good English - and working with us as we tried to speak Italian!; the location of the hotel - sitting on the lake, close to both the ferry and the town centre and yet still peaceful...

If you're looking for a lakeside Hilton, with standards to suit this is not the hotel for you - indeed most Italian hotels are probably not for you. But if you are looking for the real Italian experience and are happy to adapt to the local culture as you relax in this lovely location - in our experience the Bellavista is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've just come back from a week of near wall to wall sunshine with superb views across Lake Como (you must have a lakeside view if you come to this hotel!!). The hotel is 3* so don't expect grand luxury, but is well maintained; has all the basic services you need and a good restaurant. Staff are friendly (I suspect the reception staff know more English than they let on) and the hotel has an Italian feel about it. We were on the third floor (travelled with Crystals) with a good size room and bathroom. Shower pressure was brilliant. The ferry is a short walk; the main square nearer. Overall we had a graet week amnd I would recommend this hotel (and Menaggio as a better resort than the others on this side of the lake).

Room Tip: Lake views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Property: Hotel Bellavista
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Menaggio, directly on the lakeside, Hotel Bellavista enjoys a magnificent panorama across the heart of Lake Como. The view of Bellagio is amazing, unique, because we have the best position in the center of the lake.The spacious veranda of the "Ristorante del Porto", the solarium with swimming pool and the terrace enable guests to relax to the full in a wonderful setting. Just 150 m from the ferry boat and water bus landing stage and 50 m from the bus stop. The hotel offers comfortable rooms all with satellite TV and safe. Tea room, bar, free WIFI in the whole hotel, lift, garage, car park, private mooring for motorboats. 18-Hole golf course 2 km. Away (Menaggio & Cadenabbia Golf Club) with special arrangements for Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Menaggio
Hotel Bellavista Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing