We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing balcony view”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing balcony view”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stopped by fearing that this hotel would cost us a fortune but given its location the price was really reasonable (150 euro for a double room, and this was high season). Had spacious rooms with balcony from which you almost could dive into the Como lake. Sitting on a balcony so close to the lake was a dream-come-true moment.
The hotel has its own pool and restaurant but is also closely situated to the other cafes and restuarants in Menaggio.
Minus: Had a dinner in the hotel restaurant (picked the three course menu of the day - was not to reccommend).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    133
    63
    33
    29
See reviews for
42
206
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just returned from our holiday and whilst I am not going to run this hotel into the ground, the owners attitude especially the lady was very unwelcoming and poor. The young girl at reception along with the chambermaid & the young waitress were very nice and pleasant however I wish I did not have to say this but as for the rest, well again poor sums them up. The food was basic with small portions and little variety and be prepared to sit and wait whilst they pay more detailed attention to the off the street customers which were treated with far more respect than those of us who had paid up front. The hotel was dated but very clean and the views from the front overlooking the lake are stunning. Note that not all rooms have air conditioning fitted so up grade to one that has if it's going to be hot. Our room at the front was very nice and kept very clean and stocked at all times and the balcony was worth that bit extra as it gets the full sun until late afternoon. Location excellent & overall we paid for a 3 star hotel and this is what we got so no major complaints. Enjoy but don't expect too much from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel in August 2011. We were on the third floor with a lake view. The room had no air conditioning and no balcony. The furniture was very basic but the room was very clean. The sheets were changes regularly. We had a bath with a hand held shower with no shower curtain and overall I would describe this hotel as dated...1960s! The food was poor, the breakfast consisted of a bowl of fruit, uncovered cheese and ham with a couple of flies for seasoning, and bread and jams. It was adequate. We were asked to make our choice for dinner at breakfast time. The pasta was okay but the main course was poor. The veg were frozen and often still so. The potatoes were not fully cooked. Dessert was nearly fresh fruit salad or ice cream. The owners were very grumpy and agrued regularly with guests and their own staff.
However, the staff and particularly the head waiter were very nice and always polite and helpful. The only positive is the location of the hotel with amazing views and proximity to the ferry and village. If you still decide to book you can request a room with a lake view, air conditioning and a shower.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Menaggio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

starting with the positives. all the double/twin rooms face lake como and afford spectacular views, however unless you are on the top floor (4) the balconies have very little privacy from neighbouring rooms.
The rooms are not was well equipped as other places we've stayed in italy, but everything is very clean. I won't say comfortable as the bed and pillows were terrible.
Staying half board we had assumed the hotels menu found on the net would be available to guests, but no. Residents are given a sparce choice of 3 course evening meal, none of which was particularly good, downright poor on 5 of the 7 nights. We found ourselves making sure we had full lunches out as the food in the hotel was so sub standard.
The staff are helpful, if not friendly and the location for sightseeing by boat or bus is perfect.
I certainly wouldn't stay in this hotel again. it's only saving grace is the location and pool also overlooking the lake, though getting a sunbed poolside is hit and miss with 20 loungers serving the entire hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We spent a delightful week here. Our room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The lake view was breath-taking and more than compensated for the lack of air-con - a gentle breeze from the open window cooled us at night.
Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient especially when we tried out our newly acquired italian! There was waiter service for the evening meals which I liked as it was a refreshing change from the all to familiar buffet free-for-all. There was a better than expected choice of starter, main course and dessert and the quality whilst not exceptional was OK. The fish dishes tended to be overcooked but the meat dishes were lovely. The resident's lounge was in need of up-dating but was clean and perfectly adequate. I liked the book exchange library and the array of games that you could borrow. The swimming was smaller than we'd anticipated but seemed very clean and well maintained - in a stunning position overlooking the lake and well away from the main road.
The hotel was 3mins from the town centre and ferry quay. Menaggio is a great base for getting around using public transport. We used the buses and the car ferry/boats. We found plenty to do; visiting villas, small towns and villages, and a castle. We also went to Como on the bus - make sure you get there early as everything closes at noon for lunch. We also did a bit of walking. The tourist office has some booklets of walks based on Menaggio which we used. Menaggio is a small bustling town with several independent clothes shops, food shops, supermarkets, restaurants and bars - so everything you might need for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view(quieter) - not all have a balcony though. Rooms overlooking the road are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliotm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

other reviews are right. hotel is run very efficiently but with no friendliness.rooms are small but the views are out of this world.if you have the set menu, which we were on, you are made to feel like a second class person eg.you are not allowed to eat dinner on the terrace.! the same foods are offered for breakfast and for dessert. a little thought could go a long way with out breaking the bank eg different breads, fresh fruit salad ,fresh orange juice etc not everyday but just to break up the boredom!!!!!. for dessert again the same three were offerred each evening ..you get fed up in the end and you have paid good money!the cleaners were fantastic and took their jobs very seriously.there are better hotels.......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel certainly lives up to its name - the beautiful view. I was travelling with my husband who is registered blind and uses a long cane. The staff could not have been more kind and helpful, carrying our cases to our rooms when we arrived, helping us with bus times (the timetables are displayed in the foyer) and greeting us with smiles. Even the lady of the hotel who others found glum was pleasant. I think they are efficient and yes, they do appreciate it when you make an effort to speak Italian. At the end of our stay they allowed us to leave our cases and to remain in the hotel. One couple who were flying in the evening were even able to use their room and have a shower before they were collected at 5pm.
Our room was quite big enough with lots of drawers and wardrobe space, and plenty of hangers. It was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, which had a modern suite and good lighting. The air conditioning worked really well and had a remote control. We had a fair sized balcony over the pool and were up on the fouth floor. I found it very quiet especially when you closed the window and the shutters, even the one night when we slept with the window open to enjoy a spectacular thunderstorm was quiet enough to hear the waves lapping below.
The location is excellant - one minute from the ferry and bus stops, one minute fom the main square. The swimming pool is very cold and all one depth - 1.5m so not very suitable for children or non swimmers.
As others have said the breakfast selection is very good, and the coffee is delicious! I personally was a bit disappointed by the evening meal, but there was always something I could eat. There was nothing at all for vegetarians unless they ate fish. Having said that, the fish choice was always beautifully cooked. The view from the dining area is breathtaking, and we enjoyed watching the ferries come in and out while we ate.
Altogether, the Bellavista is a good choice for position, cleanliness and value for money - but do get that lake view - it's essential!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italiaphile_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
249 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Property: Hotel Bellavista
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Menaggio, directly on the lakeside, Hotel Bellavista enjoys a magnificent panorama across the heart of Lake Como. The view of Bellagio is amazing, unique, because we have the best position in the center of the lake.The spacious veranda of the "Ristorante del Porto", the solarium with swimming pool and the terrace enable guests to relax to the full in a wonderful setting. Just 150 m from the ferry boat and water bus landing stage and 50 m from the bus stop. The hotel offers comfortable rooms all with satellite TV and safe. Tea room, bar, free WIFI in the whole hotel, lift, garage, car park, private mooring for motorboats. 18-Hole golf course 2 km. Away (Menaggio & Cadenabbia Golf Club) with special arrangements for Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Menaggio
Hotel Bellavista Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing